Trebor57

East Perth Arsenal
I know it is highly improbable, but someone at work today pointed out that we could still make the 8.:D
If we won our last 3 and neither Port or Essendon won another game, with the Hawks and Sydney only winning 1 each more at best, and if the percentages shifted up enough for us with a couple of big wins and down for Hawthorn and Sydney then it is still possible to play finals. Only Hawthorn and Essendon play each other among those 4 in the last round.

Using the AFL's ladder predictor and having all the above 4 lose their games by the 12pt margin it offers, and us winning the North Melbourne and Richmond games by 30 points and by 12pts against Adelaide, it shows us being in 8th with a percentage of 94.7 just ahead of Hawthorn on 92%.
It would mean things like North beating Port in Adelaide, Freo beating Essendon and Richmond beating Hawthorn, so as I say, highly improbable but interesting that it is still possible despite the way the season has gone.

Don't get me wrong. I'm not expecting it, but it was just surprising that so late in the season with only 6 wins to our credit, it was still a possibility. And they thought we were tanking. ;)

Yep - as discussed elsewhere...

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=613150

Oh and by the way - 1 round on from onyacoxy's prediction - its still panning out... and we dont even need any crazy crap to go our way like Melbourne to beat St Kilda... just these results to ALL go our way and need a higher percentage than Hawks and Port who we will finish level with (using AFL predictor with all winning margins left at 12 points)...

Rnd 20:
Adelaide def Hawks at MCG
WCE def Roos at Subi
Geelong def Syd at ANZ
Carlton def Port at AAMI
Saints def Ess at Etihad

Rnd 21:
WCE def Adel AAMI
Lions def Port at Gabba
Rich def Hawks at MCG
Coll def Swans at MCG
Freo def Ess at Subi

Rnd 22:
WCE def Rich at Subi
Hawks def Ess at MCG
Lions def Swan at MCG
North def Port at AAMI

No other results influence us

None of these are tipping suicide, but the bolded ones seem most unlikely.... BUT if it plays out as I did it in the predictor (all favourites apart from these above) then it would put us into 8th, playing the Doggies (our biatches) in 5th in an elimination final :thumbsu:

2009ladderpredict.jpg

Ah, missed that. I was wondering how to paste the ladder into a thread.

Even better, I like the last bit with us playing St Kilda in the final.

We'll beat the Lions at the Gabba no worries, Collingwood will crumble and the Saints will go in with too much pressure on them in the GF.

Premiers 2009!

Hey, Greece won Euro 2004 remember?

It is odd that on 6 wins, with 3 rounds remaining we are a chance.
Playing the bulldogs first round is funny.

If we won the grand final i am pretty sure the AFL would implode. 9wins to make finals would be a record...

Makes you really wonder about those losses to Fremantle, Richmond, Brisbane and Sydney doesnt it... Win over Sydney and Fremantle would of had us 10th with a game out of the 8 and a chance to make it 10 wins for this year.

10 Wins this year is a very strong chance to make it and would of totally mirrored our previous up cycle in 2002 where we just scraped into finals as well.

If we won the grand final i am pretty sure the AFL would implode. 9wins to make finals would be a record...

We would be the first team in the final 8 system to come from out of the top 4 and win. We would be the first team to make the final 8 with 9 wins.

However, if you go back and look at the old records. In one year, Fitzroy won the spoon and the premiership. Due to the war there was only 4 teams, so every team made finals. One of the many reasons the old VFL records mean very little.

I don't for second think we'll make the 8, but I wouldn't be hugely surprised if we win our last 3 games.

Adelaide is obviously going to be the most difficult one, but I reckon Neil Craig would have watched us play the Bulldogs with a bit of trepidation. It was precisely that kind of running through the corridor and handball movement that turned his last very good team from unbackable premiership favourites into vulnerable contenders.

This time, we won't have the same level of class in the midfield, but we'll have forwards better equipped to capitalise on our i50's and plenty of key position defenders to nuetralise their multiple forward options. It's going to be interesting.

We will make the 8 and we will win the flag!

And Lady Gaga has a penis.. oh wait, SHE DOES!

It just goes to show anything is possible.

We drop one game and we have no chance.

Sorry I'll stop being a negative nancy :(

we should win against north and richmond at home. Adelaide away is another kettle of fish entirely however, and I really don't think the other results will go our way.

would be amazing tho....

I rekon we can beat Adelaide. As long as our backmen are on the ball (not literally lol) and we can stop them taking marks in there 50 we should be right, our midfield (on song) will break even with the contested footy, tackles and clearances.

They do have allot of inside 50's but we also rebound well.

Brown, McKenzie and Glass in the backline with Butler/Wirra as a sweeper and another lock down small defender (Scooter, Davis etc...) should be able to handle anything.

The season could have panned out very differently if we had won a few more games against sides that are currently below us on the ladder.

Still the fact that we have beaten some goods sides this year and have only been blown away by the Saints is very encouraging after what occurred last year

My tips for the next three rounds

Round 20
Adelaide v Hawthorn (MCG)
West Coast v North (SUBI)
Sydney v Geelong (ANZ)
Port v Carlton (AAMI)
Essendon v StKilda (D)

Round 21
Adelaide v West Coast (AAMI)
Lions v Port Adelaide (GABBA)
Richmond v Hawthorn (MCG)
Collingwood v Swans (MCG)
Fremantle v Essendon (SUBI)

Round 22
West Coast v Richmond (SUBI)
Hawthorn v Essendon (MCG)
Swans v Lions (SCG)
Port v North (AMMI)

Everyone else I couldnt give a toss about...