Crazy Tails

Is there any other teams?
Well trade week is done and dusted.

Rapt to get Jolly, disappointed to miss on Ball. At the end of the week we still retained our 2nd roundner (30). Although that is our only pick in the top 60 so we have to hope that Hine can find us another hidden gem in the last uncompromised draft.

With six weeks till the draft I thought I'd create this thread for people to throw up names for discussion that may be available at our pick and suit a need. I know that we may still be an outside chance to get Luke Ball but for the purpose of this exercise I thought we would focus on what young talent may still be around at this mark.

In these forums people have linked us to a few names;Troy Taylor (from the NT), Josh Thomas (from the GC) and Ryan Bastanic. Can anyone post details of these guys and what are the chances that they may still be around at our first pick?

Not seeing any of the U18s I will be relying on the draft watchers to give us more insight and to throw a few more names up with descriptions.

Hine pulled out John McCarthy at 31 (who looks like being a beauty) in a weak draft two years back. Who will it be this time?

* Mods feel free to move this somewhere else if you see fit.

Wont get much at 30, more than likely a "potential" player who needs a few years in the system to develop. I would rather take a mature age player from the WAFL/ SANFL who has already played senior footy, or of course Luke Ball if we can get him in the National Draft.

i have also heard josh thomas' name. what is he like, can someone post details. i think we also might be a chance to pick up clay beams with a late pick (4th round). he is a chance of not getting picked up at all, so if mick decides he is a good selection, we could use our 4th round to get him.

Myles Sewell would be my pick at 30.

He will be gone by the 4th round, and we went very young in last years draft, and have enough good young KPP's coming through or playing seniors already.

If he turned into 1/2 the player his brother is, he would be well worth pick 30 in the National Draft.

Myles Sewell would be my pick at 30.

He will be gone by the 4th round, and we went very young in last years draft, and have enough good young KPP's coming through or playing seniors already.

If he turned into 1/2 the player his brother is, he would be well worth pick 30 in the National Draft.

Agree with this. Plays a similar 'Luke Ball' type game as well.

I'm finally back :D
What's the chances of taking Clay with pick 30 or could he be a later pick if available. Has anyone got footage of Josh Thomas i've been hearing heaps of positive stuff about him but haven't seen him in action :D Good to be back guys a bit disappointed I couldn't comment during trade week :D

Wont get much at 30, more than likely a "potential" player who needs a few years in the system to develop. I would rather take a mature age player from the WAFL/ SANFL who has already played senior footy, or of course Luke Ball if we can get him in the National Draft.

We have also been linked to Liston Trophy runner up Michael Barlow who would also be a handy pick up

Well trade week is done and dusted.

Rapt to get Jolly, disappointed to miss on Ball. At the end of the week we still retained our 2nd roundner (30). Although that is our only pick in the top 60 so we have to hope that Hine can find us another hidden gem in the last uncompromised draft.

With six weeks till the draft I thought I'd create this thread for people to throw up names for discussion that may be available at our pick and suit a need. I know that we may still be an outside chance to get Luke Ball but for the purpose of this exercise I thought we would focus on what young talent may still be around at this mark.

In these forums people have linked us to a few names;Troy Taylor (from the NT), Josh Thomas (from the GC) and Ryan Bastanic. Can anyone post details of these guys and what are the chances that they may still be around at our first pick?

Not seeing any of the U18s I will be relying on the draft watchers to give us more insight and to throw a few more names up with descriptions.

Hine pulled out John McCarthy at 31 (who looks like being a beauty) in a weak draft two years back. Who will it be this time?

* Mods feel free to move this somewhere else if you see fit.

This draft drops off a bit after the top 20-25 so i would convince Ball to go into the national draft and we take him with that pick. my two cents!

Don't bother with any young players with pick 30. Go for a 21-22 year old from the SANFL, WAFL or VF: (Sewell/Barlow etc.) or even take a punt on Ball or Smith

It would be nice if Claye Beams is still around at our 2nd selection, and the likelihood is that we'll get to take it earlier than pick #62. Lots of teams won't use all their later picks.

Mind you, with Dyas and Bennell delisted we'll need to add someone to our rookie list too (other than McNamara who is outside the list), so we might get lucky and Beams Mk. II might slip through to our first rookie pick.

If Luke Ball wasn't available possibly this guy. Stole it off Snoop Dog in the Phantom draft thread, his profile not mine. (Thanks Snoop). Snoop did have him going at 30 but out of the players from 25 to 35 he was the one I liked the sound of best. I've never seen the guy, so I'm not expressing that I know anything about him. Also fills a need although by the time he's ready, Beams will be tearing it up as our In and Under guy with Pendles, Swan, Sidey and hoepfully J-Mac.

Pick 30 Collingwood - Alex Carey (Glenelg / 181cm / 77)

In the end it came down to one reason as to why I went with Carey - he is Scott Burns love child. Having seen him on a few occassions I am drawn to the similarities. Both are hard in and under clearance types who arent all that quick but lead by example on the field. Carey, AIS/AFL graduate, is also a very promising cricketer and has excelled at junior levels.

He is a strong lad who I think has to be bigger than the 77kg he is listed at and is a real physical presence on the field. Incredibly courageous, loves the clearance work, powerful tackler. Having seen him a few times now I think his handball is very creative and he is not afraid to back himself and run fwd. Footskills ok but not in the exceptional catergory.

The knock on him would be aerobic capacity but its come a long way in the last 12 months and his pace. Collingwood fans would be thinking Scott Burns and thats how I see it.

It would be nice if Claye Beams is still around at our 2nd selection, and the likelihood is that we'll get to take it earlier than pick #62. Lots of teams won't use all their later picks.

Mind you, with Dyas and Bennell delisted we'll need to add someone to our rookie list too (other than McNamara who is outside the list), so we might get lucky and Beams Mk. II might slip through to our first rookie pick.

TRS I have already posted this question on another thread where you also alluded to this but..... WTF when was it announced that Bennell was delisted I read recently that the club held him in high esteem and was including him in future planning.

There seems to be a bit of love for the mature aged recruit at Pick 30. Saw a bit of Sewell in the VFL finals and he looked good. His brother was a late bloomer too so he could be an option. Although would he be a walk up start in our first 22?

Outside of Luke Ball I would only consider a mature ager if they would walk into our starting 22. We have great depth right now across most lines now and there is a lot of competition for spots. Just think that we are better of looking for a youngster that we can develop and who may be ready to go in 1-2 years.

I like the sound of Alex Carey as suggested by Bay Pie via Snoop. Anyone being touted as Scott Burns Mark II has got to be looked at. Although if he is rated in his home state I doubt he would get through as Port and the Crows between them have 5 picks before we get a look in. Either way he sounds good. Any vision of him?

Anyone think Troy Taylor could slide to us? Looks to have a lot to work with and would need 2 or so years before making his mark.

Also sounds like Claye Beams and Josh Thomas could still be there at 62 (which may actually be pick 50) which would be good.

I was just reading a phantom draft by someone and they had us getting Josh Thomas with pick 30 because apparently one club promised him he would be picked up and this guy seemed to think it was Collingwood who made him that promise. Was just wondering if it came down to Luke Ball or Josh Thomas what will the recruiting people do if they promised this young kid and didn't draft him.By the sound of it he sounds like a decent player :D

They take Ball with their first pick, and try for Thomas with their second.

The three names thrown around here all sound OK. One of those at pick #30 would fill a need in our list. In order of preference Ball, Sewell, Thomas.

I like the sound of Alex Carey as suggested by Bay Pie via Snoop. Anyone being touted as Scott Burns Mark II has got to be looked at. Although if he is rated in his home state I doubt he would get through as Port and the Crows between them have 5 picks before we get a look in. Either way he sounds good. Any vision of him?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8JoaTsFNruI

Actually, scratch that, it's next to no chance of happening. GC17 have massive access to this year's rookie draft before other clubs get a look-in.

As much as you can take out of these clips he looks alright doesn't he? As someone else has mentioned he has plenty to work with.

Only listed at 181cm which is surprising as he looks taller than that in the clip. Seemed very rangy for a midfielder in the Pendles mould IMO. In the clip he reminded me more of a link type mid like Vince or McKay from the Crows. Some good clearance work but a few errant kicks and handballs.

Reading a few posts in other threads my gut tells me that we are going to go Beamsy's mate Josh Thomas at 30 (if he is still there). All indications are that we are the club that told him to knock back GC and enter the draft. This may be why Ed was allegedly quoted as saying on his radio show that he thought Ball would either end up at the Saints or Essendon. We would have to take Ball at 30 which wont happen due to the Thomas promise. From reports I have read (I haven't seen any vision) he is being written up as a mid in the mould of Ball anyway. So win/win. Take Ball if he's there or go for Thomas and hope you can mould your own version.