- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- West Coast
- Other Teams
- Pelicans, Perf Wildcats

Typical. As soon as the Engineering students come in, this thread becomes mind numbingly self-indulgent and boring.
not even sure wtf you're talking about SA
Not even, Croweater.
i don't make shit up. I'm not that kind of person.
It's always the kids that pulled apart every toy they owned that grow up to be engineers.
Guilty. I always ripped clicky pens into their components then customise my own pen.It's always the kids that pulled apart every toy they owned that grow up to be engineers.
Did you get a job in consulting or banking/finance?Yes, it is. I found a job within 2-3 months of graduating and have my wage has gone up by roughly 50% over 3 years..
Banking/Finance - currently an authorised rep at a finanical planning firm.Did you get a job in consulting or banking/finance?
Typical. As soon as the Engineering students come in, this thread becomes mind numbingly self-indulgent and boring.
A lot of UWA engineering students in recent years have been doing meaningless research work as vacation work experience due to how shit the job market is. If it is tough for grads it is no doubt tough for students wanting to get that summer work experience between years.It's a tough job market for engineering students atm, civil students would be better off in the grad market for now. Your last sentence is a common outcome for many people I know from uni and high school - not just for engineering but also students who studied business/commerce, arts and science. Students don't take university seriously these days. Most students don't even plan ahead for future employment opportunities let alone think about their HECS debt! It's become a path that high school students are pushed into 'because that's just what you do now when you graduate from high school'...
I'm in my final semester of my commerce/engineering degree now, I've found that engineering students in particular don't prepare themselves for employment from their early years at uni. They only start to look at graduate jobs and perhaps internships in their final year when it's too late. Whereas the culture for graduate and internship opportunities is ingrained in you from day 1 in commerce - particularly in GO8 universities.
Here we go, all the smug kids defending engineers. Some things never change.
Why do I care about engineering? I don't drive so I don't need to use freeways and roads?
That would never happen in a discussion full of Arts students......
I've worked with engineers, trades, accountants etc. and it's amazing the number that fit the stereotype in each category.
There's a reason stereotypes exist.
Sorry I fare evade and post about it on the PTV M8s facebook page. Umm and yeah I cycle heaps.Don't suppose you cycle on roads? Or use public transport?
Nice, well done! Are you enjoying what you do?Banking/Finance - currently an authorised rep at a finanical planning firm.
Hello, Mr DimensionlessA lot of UWA engineering students in recent years have been doing meaningless research work as vacation work experience due to how shit the job market is. If it is tough for grads it is no doubt tough for students wanting to get that summer work experience between years.
Generally for many engineering students many companies do specify that they only want penultimate year students which makes it difficult to get that experience early even though it should be encouraged.
I think I've heard some of the guys in my cohort do that with their professors. It's free labour for the department but I mean some of these guys are interested in academia as a career so fair game. Although, I reckon a better experience would be to take up an international research opportunity with a partner institution. A lot of these have been popping up at Unimelb in the past year, it would be an unreal experience!I'm a fortnight away from finishing uni myself, and have found myself between a bit of a rock and a hard place.
Originally I am from country Victoria, and have always maintained that once my course finishes, I would love to move back to a rural area out of Melbourne and work as a journalist for a small leader publication, covering local sports and issues etc.
However this year I was lucky enough to land a job with Fox Footy during the football season, where the pay is very generous. I also have another well-paying job which, while it can be tedious and not very enjoyable at times, I like how it challenges me and I enjoy the people I work with.
So while I thought the goal posts had shifted somewhat, my best mate from the country, who is a journalist for a newspaper in a small town near where I used to live, put in a good word for me to his editor, who requested my resume, and then rang me two minutes after I sent it. He booked me in for a job interview this Friday, and basically said the job is mine if I can show that I can write a good yarn, which I can.
I'm really unsure what to do. Do I walk away from the job at Fox Footy with the amazing money, despite it not being a very glamorous role? Or do I relocate out of Melbourne, a place that I have actually grown to love, to move back to where I used to call home, and do what I have always wanted to do, probably for a considerably less amount of crust?
I would stick fat with fox footy for a few years (3-5), as the experience for your resume will be invaluable.
Im assume you're young since finishing uni in two weeks. If the money is as good as you say, it'll set you up for the future to buy/build something you want when you move back home if that's still your desire in 3-5 years time.