- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Richmond
- Other Teams
- THIRTEEN AND CLOSING
Doesn't Conca have one of the highest head high free kick counts in the league too?

PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Haven't written any of them off RT, not sure what your reading RT ?Gutsy making a call about guys like Batchelor Browne Conca Astbury & Nason when they are yet to play 2 full seasons at this level. Surely these guys are deserving a a bit more time to develop their games before we right them off completely.
So you suggesting that guys like Conca Browne & Batchelor won't have long successful careers isn't writing them off. What exactly is it then?Haven't written any of them off RT, not sure what your reading RT ?
As I stated Astbury , Nason haven't IMO cemented their spot and are playing at Coburg ??
Whilst I don't think Browne, Conca or Batchellor have shown enough to convince me they'll have long succesfull careers, a fair difference to writting someone off.
I can assure you that you are quite wrong on this. I have a family friend who has been watched by TAC coaches since he was 14, the AIS(selected in the AIS squad this year) and AFL recruiters(including our own Francis Jackson) since he was 16(now in his second year of U/18's). But yeah you're right we don't need to see kids for a couple of years. We only need to see them for as little as 10 games in come cases and can make a call on whether they will have long term careers or not.Also , why is there a need for players to be seen for around 50 games( 2 seasons or more ) before basing a decision on their ability ?
The selection of state squads , TAC squads and the like, all generally start from the opinion of the people/selectors , and at times are based upon one trial match ???
Oh and certainly without stats !!
beat WC today
We didn't even play against them and, we didn't play today![]()
jumpin j=jumpin jack riewoldt
So you suggesting that guys like Conca Browne & Batchelor won't have long successful careers isn't writing them off. What exactly is it then?
I can assure you that you are quite wrong on this. I have a family friend who has been watched by TAC coaches since he was 14, the AIS(selected in the AIS squad this year) and AFL recruiters(including our own Francis Jackson) since he was 16(now in his second year of U/18's). But yeah you're right we don't need to see kids for a couple of years. We only need to see them for as little as 10 games in come cases and can make a call on whether they will have long term careers or not.

Rather than take this topic any further off track lets just agree to disagree. For mine you need to give your kids a good run before you can even start to make a call on them. AS I said you're entitled to your opinion on these kids, me I'm going to sit back and wait until at least the end of next year before I start worrying about our youngsters.RT , they haven't convinced me that they are going to have long term successfull careers, doesn't mean I'm convinced they aint going to have long term successfull careers.
RT, I'd suspect I have a little knowledge on how players are selected for TAC or state squads.
Yes some kids are identified through the VPSSA sides and the like, however there is a large number who make, or get the chop from State , Schoolboy and TAC selection, based on 1 trial match , some are excluded from the trial process due to previous knowledge.
Keep in mind also RT that the percentage of kids who make under 12( approx. ) state squads and make AFL list is in some years 80 odd percent.
I'd suggest also RT, that your family friend , most likely intially come under the notice of the AIS, TAC side, State and AFL recruiters, after being intially indentified within a trail game of some sort ?
There are also a number of players who make it from playing well in 1 trial game , make it onto a TAC cup list and perform well, without any previous elite squad respresentation , likewise they're are heaps who don't make TAC or state squads due to playing poorly in trial matches .
I would have taken our first 10 weeks in a heart beat at the beginning of the season..
I will be first to admit I was very very disappointed, even gutted last night. Part of our problem is with some of our supporters is our expectations go through the roof with a couple of wins..
Sure what we dished out last night was unacceptable but young sides will do that to you.
To completely write the season off and to call for players heads like Conca,Batchelor etc is just plain ludicrous..
Take a chill pill guys and lets see how the next 3 games pan out..![]()
RT , I think someone should be able to point out that they have concerns , and mention those points , on a developing player , without people insinuating that they have formed a negative opinion and written that player off ?Rather than take this topic any further off track lets just agree to disagree. For mine you need to give your kids a good run before you can even start to make a call on them. AS I said you're entitled to your opinion on these kids, me I'm going to sit back and wait until at least the end of next year before I start worrying about our youngsters.
I think Batch and Conca have shown plenty to suggest they will have long successfull careers.
I don't really think you could do much more in your first 10 games. Martin and Judd probably did a bit more. But not much.
Spot on. I have huge wraps on Batchelor from what I have seen from him in his first 10 games. Looks like a 100 game player, and his footskills are great. Composed also.
quote]
Batchelor is a composed player, and seems have the time to make good decisions. Good defender that has the necessary attributes (just a bit more weight required). The only thing that gets me, is that he seems to have quite a high ball drop when kicking. i hadn't really taken much notice of it before, but i've seen it a bit of it recently. When you're under alot more pressure, its better to guide it down.
I too are happy with how they are going just not convinced they will be long term successful players , IMO it takes an extraordinary player to convince me of such within half a season of Footy .Spot on. I have huge wraps on Batchelor from what I have seen from him in his first 10 games. Looks like a 100 game player, and his footskills are great. Composed also.
Conca I like for almost the exact same reasons. I find it very, very weird that anybody would be questioning their futures considering they've been excellent in their first 10 games of their first year.
Maybe my expectations are low. Should they be All Australian material already?
EDIT: Came late to the whole RT vs. pace to freeze thing...but if I could weigh in on the 'lets not wait 50 games to judge how good players are going to be'...Gary Ablett? Jack Riewoldt? Probably 20 other A-graders in the game right now had very slow starts?
I find it very, very weird that anybody would be questioning their futures considering they've been excellent in their first 10 games of their first year.
I too are happy with how they are going just not convinced they will be long term successful players , IMO it takes an extraordinary player to convince me of such within half a season of Footy .
As for early player identification , players don't have to dominate to show they have a future , some just show clear signs of having a wonderfull understanding of the game and the ability to make oponents 2nd rate and therefore the potential to be a very good player, and I'm ensure how someone couldn't identify that GA had substantial potential ?
FYI , the one outside of Cotchin, upon our list , IMO who has always shown the ability to be a very good player is Troy Taylor .
So what will they be then?
Even Francis Jackson came out and said that he thinks they will be 200 game players for us but ptf doesn't think they will be long term players for us.
to me the only real positive is the fact we are playing kids and we need to keep doing it because i can see another 20 being turned over in the next 2 or 3 seasons.
we are 4 5 and 1 out of ten it could just as easily have been 1 and 9.
20 more delistings over the next 2 or 3 years?
Name the 20 then, or havnt some of those been recruited yet
We could also have been 6-4 or 7-3 or 2-8 or 5-5 or even 10-0.
yep 20 more than happy to nam,e the names but that will just take over the topic if people insist i reckon 23.