swannies

10k Posts Armchair Endzone Minor Comp Winner Armchair Endzone Participant
Swan Districts, Everton
Firstly, well done to the WAFL and all you loyal supporters, that's most of us here, that made this the most visited WAFL season since 1997. :thumbsu::thumbsu:
Can't help but think a lot of that is due to the large number of very talented young footballers in the WAFL this year. Guys like Naita, Rich, Yarran, Cockie, Ballantyne, Richardson, Anthony, Young x 2, et al.

We are down to the final 4 teams, but no one expects Subi to pass this grand final over, can anyone beat them?

Second Semi - Subi v WP

The dream match up because the Falcons love nothing more than spoiling the Lions parties, have a history of defeating them when others can't. Coupled with the fact that Campbell and Seaby are back for the Falcons, this should be very interesting. To me, though, the most salivating thought is will Rich take his game up another notch like last years finals?

WP's forward line is massive, with Longmuir, Campbell and Duckworth all listed on the FF line:eek:, that should strech Subi? Although you have to get it out of the middle and Newick v Seaby looks a pretty good contest, while Rich, Read and Haynes v Clarke, Pearce and Lasscock will be critical to the contest. WP will have to apply pressure all day to have a chance, but that is what they did well against Swans and probably the last couple of weeks, and they have the class to challenge. Should be a ripper match.

First Semi - Souths v Swans

O'Keefe and Hall are out for the Doggies, as it would appear are Murphy and Thornton, sent to have ops by the Dockers, if the "banter" on footygoss is anything to go by. You would think this would tip the scales in Swans favour but don't get aead of yourselves. Swans haven't beaten Souths for what seems like a millenium. Murphy and O'Keefe are the biggest outs because they carve swans up every time I see them, although Reece Adams wasn't bad at that in a couple of games either. To balance that out though Swans still have Smith in, instead of Garlett:eek: (...refrain myself from here on in). Davis and Hinkley back in for the black ducks with Davis providing a hard edge to the backline. Naita named on a wing interestingly. I'd like to see him in the centre with Wolfenden put on the wing (he's named in the followers).

All up, this should be a cracking match, with great conditions forecast for Saturday, but nothing more than a couple of goals between these teams. Hopefully Swans come out on the positive side of the ledger.:D:thumbsu:

Don't forget Yarren back this week too with a chance to make a name for himself leading up to the draft.

So glad the ABC are sowing this game as I'll be out of Perth! Last time the Swans made the finals I was in hospital with pneumonia and septicemia so I should enjoy it a bit more this time

Carn you Black Ducks

Firstly, well done to the WAFL and all you loyal supporters, that's most of us here, that made this the most visited WAFL season since 1997. :thumbsu::thumbsu:
Can't help but think a lot of that is due to the large number of very talented young footballers in the WAFL this year. Guys like Naita, Rich, Yarran, Cockie, Ballantyne, Richardson, Anthony, Young x 2, et al.

We are down to the final 4 teams, but no one expects Subi to pass this grand final over, can anyone beat them?

Second Semi - Subi v WP

The dream match up because the Falcons love nothing more than spoiling the Lions parties, have a history of defeating them when others can't. Coupled with the fact that Campbell and Seaby are back for the Falcons, this should be very interesting. To me, though, the most salivating thought is will Rich take his game up another notch like last years finals?

WP's forward line is massive, with Longmuir, Campbell and Duckworth all listed on the FF line:eek:, that should strech Subi? Although you have to get it out of the middle and Newick v Seaby looks a pretty good contest, while Rich, Read and Haynes v Clarke, Pearce and Lasscock will be critical to the contest. WP will have to apply pressure all day to have a chance, but that is what they did well against Swans and probably the last couple of weeks, and they have the class to challenge. Should be a ripper match.

First Semi - Souths v Swans

O'Keefe and Hall are out for the Doggies, as it would appear are Murphy and Thornton, sent to have ops by the Dockers, if the "banter" on footygoss is anything to go by. You would think this would tip the scales in Swans favour but don't get aead of yourselves. Swans haven't beaten Souths for what seems like a millenium. Murphy and O'Keefe are the biggest outs because they carve swans up every time I see them, although Reece Adams wasn't bad at that in a couple of games either. To balance that out though Swans still have Smith in, instead of Garlett:eek: (...refrain myself from here on in). Davis and Hinkley back in for the black ducks with Davis providing a hard edge to the backline. Naita named on a wing interestingly. I'd like to see him in the centre with Wolfenden put on the wing (he's named in the followers).

All up, this should be a cracking match, with great conditions forecast for Saturday, but nothing more than a couple of goals between these teams. Hopefully Swans come out on the positive side of the ledger.:D:thumbsu:

Sam Hunt has been ruled out. Hammy.

West Perth to cause a boilover and defeat Subiaco

Swan Districts to defeat Sowfs for the simple reason i dont like South Freo....ROFL.....Plus i think Swans have the stronger side for this match.

I may be making an appearance at Freo Oval tomorrow.....Should catch up Chrisco if i do show up...Mind you i have no idea who the hell you are in the looks department!

West Perth to cause a boilover and defeat Subiaco

Swan Districts to defeat Sowfs for the simple reason i dont like South Freo....ROFL.....Plus i think Swans have the stronger side for this match.

I may be making an appearance at Freo Oval tomorrow.....Should catch up Chrisco if i do show up...Mind you i have no idea who the hell you are in the looks department!

No worries. I'll be over on the terraces near the trees in the outer because my boys will be playing under the trees. May only have one boy and I may be a little late but Ill have my worn suede Swans cap with a black collared T-shirt (and a little more weight than I need :D).

What a weird game the Souths vs Swans game was. So many turnovers, 80+ is massive!

Some really good solo efforts from both sides. Cant remember the blokes name from Swans, Richardson? Bagged 5 in the second half. Yarren also booted 3.5. I dont think Ken Judge rates the way he presents himself. Very laconic, but very, very good. Tony Notte had a terrific 1st half, but faded as the game wore on, needs another couple of pre-seasons at least IMO. NickNat was dissappointing in the 1st half, but I thought he improved in the second, did some nice things and kicked a good goal. Hinkley and SMith were impressive.

But for mine, the two that impressed the most were Banfield and Pearce, both have played less than 10 games of WAFL footy but handled themselves really well.

For Souths the Hams brothers were good as usual. Graham tried hard and kicked 3. I thought Hadrill gave his all, Nathan Phillips could have bagged 10. Instead he finished with 4.4 and two out on the full. Played pretty much as Souths main forward and did a great job in the absence of Murphy. Gave himself the opportunity to kick a bag, but his finishing let him down a touch.

Mcgrath played with vigour, and Duffield showed his class in patches.

But in the end, in the absence of a few key players and the inability to finish cost Souths a birth next week. But credit where credit is due, the Swans in all honesty probably looked the better team all day, lead at each term and had the legs to go on with it. Well done and good luck next week.

Par4, great write up. Very strange game but we haven't won at Freo in ages so I am stoked for the win. We can take the Falcons next week and then the Lions the week after.:D No, I'm not drunk!

Clancee Pearce will be a superstar, been saying it for weeks and Todd Banfield should get a rookie list somewhere, but probably won't. Naita's tap down to set up a goal was beautiful, as was his mark on the half back line in the third.

It was the old dog MJ (Michael Johnson) that kicked 5, roved a couple of nice ones but he competes all day.:thumbsu: Thought Notte was good when moved into the back half in the second half as well, reads the play beautifully, kicks the ball well with both feet. I actually almost prefer him there because he does something useful with the ball when he has it and needs to be kept in the game more to take advantage of this.