F. Betts Irish garlett
R. 206 Murphy robo
B. Hampson Lucas tuohy Waite (sub)
E. Aj army bower ellard

army showed tonight he is still the best shut down man we have
lucas showed poise and skill
carlos showed plenty
definately missed the meat and potato work of ellard

It's amazing how a player's rep just can't be shaken once it's built. There were plenty worse by foot tonite than Armfield. Mitch, Judd and someone else I can't remember (actually, I think it might have been Lachie) all let go of absolute howlers that led directly to St Kilda goals. Scotland put one out on the full and then another very close to it. But I don't remember groaning once at an Armfield disposal.

I agree with you completely. Armfield is still prone to ordinary decision making (And this could be delusion talking) but it seems as if he has put a hell of a lot of effort into it. He seemed to pause prior to handballing to ensure that he made the right decision. Seemed to be very effective by hand

What separated Davies from Armfield?

You said the former doesn't improve us.

Does Armfield if he's turning it over?

Any VFL player can try, but they have to execute and not burn the ball to stay in the side.

See how many good kicks Hawthorn have in their side.

Mclean isn't in the side because he can't spread, not because he can't kick and find the ball.

Armfield's faults are just as costly.

Holds up play because he lacks the instinct to find the first option and then hit the target.

Joseph does this too.

Grigga would be more useful than Armfield.

Any VFL player can try, but they have to execute and not burn the ball to stay in the side.

Mclean isn't in the side because he can't spread, not because he can't kick and find the ball.

Holds up play because he lacks the instinct to find the first option and then hit the target.

Joseph does this too.

there were plenty of players who "held up the play"
there was not a great deal presenting often thru the midfield anf half fwd line esp with the saints game plan
army's main job was a shut down man tonight. Others were expected to win the ball and transfer play.Others were expected to kick goals. You talk of errors. Some players were not "in the game" to make any errors
saying that I agree Ellard should not have been dropped

lucas showed poise and skill
carlos showed plenty
definately missed the meat and potato work of ellard

You definitely love your WA boys, even when they are ordinary at best.

Army was awful, nothing to add to that...

Lucas played 1 qtr and then went walk about and created zero run/rebound...

Ellard will have to have the game of his life tomorrow just to get a look in, as Carrazzo will definitely come in and Ellard was terrible the week before the bye...

Carlos did show plenty!

Joseph does this too.

I love coming on here just to read your posts mate. Just admit that you have an absolute hatred for Dennis and get over it. He did his job tonight which was to shut down Dal santo.

You can stop saying that he MUST be dropped for next week because it won't happen. He will be playing next week as he should be.

We already have one "to instinctive" player in the team and thats Robbo. Blokes like him and Army can cost you a final as army did last year when he look on dennis-lane in the final last year. I just reackon that he goes a bit "rabbit in the headlights" when the heat is on and thats not good when there is no next week.

Ellard needs to be in the team as JUDD is getting smashed with the tags and the ball isn't coming out. Carrots can do armys run with job and still go in the middle and get the footy. And your reading this from a bloke who cringes when carrots kicks the ball.

B. Russell Jamo Laidler
HB. Duigan Henderson Yarran
C. Simpson Robinson Scotland
HF. Gibbs Walker Garlett
F. Betts O'halpin Walker
Foll. Warnock Judd Murphy
Int. Carrazzo Thornton Ellard/lucas
SUB : Thuohy

In Carrots, Thornton, Jamo,(Ellard)

Out Davies, Army, joseph (lucas)

We already have one "to instinctive" player in the team and thats Robbo. Blokes like him and Army can cost you a final as army did last year when he look on dennis-lane in the final last year. I just reackon that he goes a bit "rabbit in the headlights" when the heat is on and thats not good when there is no next week.

Ellard needs to be in the team as JUDD is getting smashed with the tags and the ball isn't coming out. Carrots can do armys run with job and still go in the middle and get the footy. And your reading this from a bloke who cringes when carrots kicks the ball.

B. Russell Jamo Laidler
HB. Duigan Henderson Yarran
C. Simpson Robinson Scotland
HF. Gibbs Walker Garlett
F. Betts O'halpin Walker
Foll. Warnock Judd Murphy
Int. Carrazzo Thornton Ellard/lucas
SUB : Thuohy

In Carrots, Thornton, Jamo,(Ellard)

Out Davies, Army, joseph (lucas)

I reckon 2 Walkers would go alright too :rolleyes:

Can understand why some want Army out. However at this stage he would be in my starting 22 even if everyone was avaialble. He has an ingredient that Carlton are severly lacking in and that is the ability to keep trying and pressuring no matter what. He is an honest player in a side where we have many who are talented but lack the ability to be at their best regularly.This is not to say that Army is without talent. His pace is exceptional and aside from his inconsistency in kicking is very capable. Good ball handling skills and for his heaight not bad overhead. Also as others have mentioned Army is not the only one in the side who has inconsistent disposal. Overall we are poor in this area and I think much of it is mental when you consider that players like Judd, Yarran and Garlett are also prone to clangers in certain situations.Carlton are a very talented/skillful side. However we are very poor in mental toughness which equates to physical toughness/consistency. Army is badly needed for this reason.

I think Garlett has to go. I love the guy and the excitement he brings to the game but at the moment his confidence is so low his goal kicking is going to cost us a match. He is putting set shots he would have bagged in round three out on the full and missing gimmes from the goal square. There was no real pressure on Saturday night and yet he still fluffed everything, but this Sunday with sudden death and a full house at the MCG I am really worried he will do a Leon Davis on us.

Put Ellard in as a defensive forward in his place. We lose a bit of speed but add a lot of toughness and discipline.

Outs: Kreuzer, Armfield, Tuohy, Davies

Ins: Jamison, Thornton, Ellard, Carrazzo

B: Joseph Jamison Laidler
HB: Yarran Henderson Duigan
C: Simpson Robinson Scotland
HF: Walker Thornton Gibbs
F: Betts Setanta Garlett

R: Warnock Judd Murphy

Int: Carrazzo Ellard Russell

Sub: Lucas

last chance Garlett, if we win & he plays poor Kerr can take his spot week after.