Pittsburgh Penguins
what was the first ever job everyone got?
did you have to apply for a few jobs before getting one or did you get it straight off without any fuss?

my first job was with my dad,installing wool insulation in the roofs of houses,used to do that during school holidays when i was 15-16.
but my first job with wasnt with my family was cleaning the meat deptartment at our local safeway.
not the most glamourous of jobs as it was pretty disgusting when having to clean it up.

LOL a summer job under a drunken tempermental chef in a Provincetown Massachussettes (just wanted to see if I could still spell Mass...nope doesn't look right) seafood restaurant.

It was hotter than hell & we used to have to run & get the chef huge pitchers of beer which he would skull down & go on cooking. Sometimes he would just keel over & we all (dishwashers everyone) would have to finish his gourmet meals the best we could. LOL we had plenty of laughs.

There was a hole in the deck outside near the best tables which was covered with a "bus station" (a stand to put the dirty dishs) in a rush somebody moved the station & a customer fell thru the hole into the ocean. We had to jump in & get them LOL. Also peoples' tips used to blow out to sea occasionally. tragic!

The pay is lousy but the only good thing about restaurant work in the states for a poor student is a) you can eat anything you can get your hands on & b) you just rock up tell them where you've worked they take you on & if you get narked with it ..you just piss off.

"Kitchen Confidential" - a great read - brought it alll back :D

I worked at KFC the whole of 2000. Worst job you could possibly get.

We used flour to prepare all our chicken, and by the end of the day the whole kitchen would be covered with flour and the floor was covered in oil. We had to clean it all up. Ever tried getting oil out from in-between tiles? Even worse, do you know what happens when you mix flour with water? Water and scrubbing is the only method we had of cleaning :eek:

At $7 an hour its just not worth it. But i must of taken $50 worth of chicken home every shift ;)

Ummm, haven't got one yet...unless you count working for my dad on his various building jobs for mates and such.

I wish I could say that I wanted to concentrate on school and get it out of the way first before getting a job, but I'm really just lazy.:cool:

I worked in a newsagency for three years. It was a one minute walk from my house, and an absolute bludge. Did it from year 7 to year 10, and I loved it.

The Hitman

My first job was working at the Melbourne Footy Club store at the Melbourne Show. It was all volunteer work but still its the closest thing I've had to a job so far! :D

I still scored myself a NFL starter hat and couple of boxes of NFL cards from Dwayne Armstrong who was holding target competitions out the front of the store. 5/5 shots in the target from 15 metres away...I couldnt believe it! He couldnt either!

Originally posted by The Hitman
I worked in a newsagency for three years. It was a one minute walk from my house, and an absolute bludge. Did it from year 7 to year 10, and I loved it.

The Hitman

Following in your Unc's footsteps eh 'bunter'?

I worked from the time i was 9 as a 'paperboy' selling the 'Herald'. Then moved on to morning and afternoon delivery. Then became a general assitant to the owener in the shop organising morning opening, paper boys etc.

Hell, i used to be motivated!!.... wonder what happened to change all that.... :(

Worked at Coles in the apparel department. Started when I was 14, quit when I was 17. Then went into advertising, real estate, local government and now at Toyworld head office.

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
Only ever worked for the one company, started off there as a storeman at the tender age of just-turned-17; nearly 16 years ago now.

Does that bother you that you've been there so long? Just curious because I've worked for the same company for over 10 years now and I find I'm ashamed to tell people.

Years ago it seemed to be an acomplishment to stay somewhere, but now it's like you should be moving on after 3 or 4 years. And if you don't people will think you lack ambition.

Although I've moved up and been promoted over the years, I'm thinking I should move on now.

I'm sure spidergirls would be fitting and highly paid position. After all, she does like the Head Job.

Originally posted by mandy5

Does that bother you that you've been there so long? Just curious because I've worked for the same company for over 10 years now and I find I'm ashamed to tell people.

Years ago it seemed to be an acomplishment to stay somewhere, but now it's like you should be moving on after 3 or 4 years. And if you don't people will think you lack ambition.

Although I've moved up and been promoted over the years, I'm thinking I should move on now.
I only started working in my chosen profession (computing) just over a year ago now, and everyone ive spoken to tells me to stay for 2-3 years and then try somewhere else....
I always thought that as long as you were happy you should stay in your current company but that doesnt seem to be the case anymore? :confused:

No, Mandy, it's something I'm quite proud of; particularly in an industry where there's a massive turnover of staff.

Well, in my case...they'd be right! :o

My first job was relief milking for our neighbor. I earn't about $30 for 2 hours work. I milked with my bro because he cant do it himself. I get my work through him.;)

My first job straight out of uni was teaching!
I lasted at it for two years until I became so frustrated with the education system I walked away from it and went back to uni and finished a BA in Media and Communications.
That led me to a job with an advertising agency. Which was basically helping to bull$hit the public.

Now I work with pollies. Still bull$hitting the public, I guess!
:D