Preview First Pick Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Who Would You Like FIrst PIck

48 goals though from Garlett in the wafl in 19 games as an 18 year old small forward. You would really have to look at him.
Dunstan reminds me of Simon Black in the way he moves and kicks and looks class. Salem i see as a better version of Grigg the way he goes about it.
Lennon looked the most complete mid imo but i would still be leaning towards Garlett, but hey what do i know lol.

I think we've ruled him out but gee the boys got talent.

Can't wait to see Gartlett play, gun or bust I won't care I just want to see what we missed out.

Those who are talking about taking Garlett do you not remember Daniel Connors and Troy Taylor. The risk is not worth it in the slightest. Not just wasting a pick but the club culture and the media scrutiny. Just not worth it. Additionally there are massive question marks on his ability and desire to apply defensive pressure. This is the last thing our side needs. Please no more. It's just ridiculous all these Pro Garlett posts.

Yeah Taylor and Connors were huge risks at picks 51 and 58 respectively... How dare the club waste such valuable picks :rolleyes:

Acres for me as well. He is a 192cm midfielder. Enough said
Acres looks good and if we go a midfielder like everyone seems to thinks, it would be him unless Lennon was available of which I think there is no chance. However, I would go the key forward and Cameron McCarthy looks an absolute natural. Will take two years to develop but I think will be a very good forward. Take the punt he'll be ready just as we are peaking.

Any thoughts on Luke dunstan. Strong leadership qualitys, AA, joint SA MVP. From the footage I've seen he looks like he has a lethal left foot, gets back and helps his defenders and wins alot of contested footy. I think he suits the richmond recruiting 'stratedgy' of late..

I like he is is a left footer, which we lack in the guts, seems to have smarts, comes across as tough, track record. Wouldn't be against his selection but their are other handy selections at pick 12 hopefully to. I like he was team Captain to, for leadership and earn't respect of the stakeholders usually for solid reasons

Yep, gets the ball, big bodied, looks assured, strong leadership qualities, would be almost picked first round at a lower club. But he just looks a bit slow and one-paced. If midfielder it is at first pick, it pretty much comes down to preference - inside grunt or outside run, with the added proviso of reasonable height. Must admit i'm for the latter, because White showed the value of that type, and we need to replace that. Talk suggests we could be left with the choice of Dunstan or Acres, unless Salem is still available, in which we would have a bit of both.

Acres has shown that he can play inside, those dodgy shoulders permitting he could be an inside/outside type.

Black and Mitchell are two stars of the comp and they're not quick. I think if Dunston is available we will go for him. We picked Conca ahead of Atley and Vlaustin ahead of Menzel. I really think speed won't be much of a factor with who we pick... But I don't want Salem

Those who are talking about taking Garlett do you not remember Daniel Connors and Troy Taylor. The risk is not worth it in the slightest. Not just wasting a pick but the club culture and the media scrutiny. Just not worth it. Additionally there are massive question marks on his ability and desire to apply defensive pressure. This is the last thing our side needs. Please no more. It's just ridiculous all these Pro Garlett posts.

Garlett wont b there for our 3rd rounder anyway but Liam Jurrah will b ;)

Black and Mitchell are two stars of the comp and they're not quick. I think if Dunston is available we will go for him. We picked Conca ahead of Atley and Vlaustin ahead of Menzel. I really think speed won't be much of a factor with who we pick... But I don't want Salem

Any particular reason why? I love the kid, think he'll be a star

I'm liking the look of dunstan aswell! Just screams FJ/Dimma type! Solid body, composed, good kick, good mark and doesn't shirk a contest!

Wouldn't be upset to see him off a HBF for the Tiges next year!

"Insert something Inspirational here"

Acres has shown that he can play inside, those dodgy shoulders permitting he could be an inside/outside type.

You are right, but initially we could use him as that outside runner/link-up type, who hopefully can develop a game similar to Pendlebury in years to come. Big call hey!

Yes, and they are pretty much exceptions to the rule so to speak. Lack of pace gets found out more often than not, so the recruiters would have to be convinced his other attributes (initial speed off the mark, spacial awareness, decision-making etc) are top notch before choosing him. Indications are that Dunstan seems to have those attributes, and would be able to develop them to AFL level, but who really knows? If he doesn't, we are left with a plodder. Also your comparison of player recruitment types would suggest we have made a good fist of getting the reliable inside-focussed guys, and can now look at players with a bit more x-factor. That's why i'd be tempted to get a guy like Acres who has potential to be exceptional with a point of difference to the majority of mids on our list. More risky than Dunstan, but could pay off.

Yep, I agree with you about Acres but I think he will be gone by our pick. Dunston is that type of player we seem to be going after and my feeling is it will be him if his available. Either way I'm happy we mentioned we'll be going after the best available midfielder.

Any particular reason why? I love the kid, think he'll be a star
You'd know more then me about him so don't get me wrong. I just have a feeling he won't live up to being an AFL player.. seems like he might be a Danny Myer's type of hyped player but never succeeds

Funny because I feel he's one of the safest bets in the draft. Just a silky, pure footballer and has a very strong defensive side for an outside runner. Averaged something like 6 tackles in the TAC cup. I'd be far more worried about taking someone like Bontempelli, Acres or Freeman who appear more high risk high reward types. Don't think we're in a position to gamble on it

so I'll meet ya half way and lets hope its Acres then

Yep, I agree with you about Acres but I think he will be gone by our pick. Dunston is that type of player we seem to be going after and my feeling is it will be him if his available. Either way I'm happy we mentioned we'll be going after the best available midfielder.

No worries, to be honest i'm not too concerned - I reckon we'll get a good prospect at our pick. Just feel that Dunstan is the 'safe' option but still with some risk due to lack of pace, especially as we are lacking another quality player with speed-endurance combo. If we get him, the lad will probably become a Richmond vice-captain, premiership player and Dyer medallist just to make me eat my words! :D

Not a half bad player ;)

Think of it this way

Carlton next Captain - .... Duigan cannot even get a game and maybe Nick Graham a first year player late draft pick

Richmond next captain - Any of Conca, Grimes, Ellis, Vlastuin and if selected Dunstan. Cotchin will give it up at 28 as there will be no pressure to keep it