Swanny36

Premium Platinum
VFL Collingwood
Not over reacting but there is only five players who can hold their heads up after todays game.

Thomas: He really needs to start getting the recognition for what he actually does, today show's he doesn't need 35+ touches to influence a game, he was fantastic today.

Wellingham: One of/if not the cleanest guy on out list, never takes him two grabs to get the footy, puts his head over it and never squibs (Didak take note).

Beams: Class, his third quarter was absolutely outstanding, the older more experienced blokes can thank him for the win, cause had we have lost it would have been on them.

Steele: How good is he in close, and how many times today did he win a 2 on 1 in Melbournes favor, he was great today.

Pendlebury: Solid game except for the last quarter, laid 9 tackles which was fantastic, and he along with Wellingham are so clean with the footy and so composed. Good game from Pendles.

Special mention to Davis, was shit the whole day but can't really knock a bloke who dislocated his finger and then came back on and won us the game.

It seems I'm alone in thinking Thomas wasn't overly impressive. Got plenty of it and ran/tried hard but spoiled it constantly by making skill errors. Not just today, but he gets in to good positions only to lack the polish to make a real impact.

One of our better players, but that isn't hard on a day like today.

Mate, were you watching the game? and I didn't say that he did it with his disposals, it was his work off the ball or when the ball was in dispute, he laid 6 tackles today, which I think he laid more but meh.

He was great today him and the other four guys I mentioned were the only one's all day to put there head over the ball and were willing to take a hit.

That's what I like about him, not his hair, or his big marks or whatever the hard yards he puts in, they are unlike almost any other player on our list.

It seems I'm alone in thinking Thomas wasn't overly impressive. Got plenty of it and ran/tried hard but spoiled it constantly by making skill errors. Not just today, but he gets in to good positions only to lack the polish to make a real impact.

One of our better players, but that isn't hard on a day like today.

You aren't he got the footy but had no impact on the contest, prefer he do the special things and genuinely influence a game. MM has beaten the special out of him to make him a "rounded player".

What?! WTF is up with this Dale Thomas bashing? He was easily one of our best.

He tried hard all day, equaled his career high amount of possessions and tackled hard. The skill errors weren't his fault. The Demons had a stack of loose men that made it a 2 on 1 situation no matter who it was kicked to.

I was at the match and even Melbourne supporters were acknowledging that Dale was having a good game!:eek:

Lay off him, he was great!:thumbsu:

Thomas' pressure is great but he needs to do more we seem to have a team full fo pressure players who can't kick.

*ahem*

The skill errors weren't his fault. The Demons had a stack of loose men that made it a 2 on 1 situation no matter who it was kicked to.

Trust me. I was sitting in the top deck, so I had a clear view of the ground. Our players just wouldn't man up, it was so frustrating!

Our team was flat, but Dale wasn't.

I love Thomas but he is not developing into the player he could be.

I have been extremely happy with how he has played the past two weeks. He looks like he has improved heaps since last year and has taken a huge leap towards reaching his full potential.

I think Nathan Buckley says something along the lines of "players reach their best when they are 26-28 years old" in his book All I Can Be, Dale is 22. Wait until he reaches 26-28, or at the very least the end of the year before you say things like this.

I thought Daisy was just about our BOG today. He made 2 or 3 errors, but he was probably our only player who put in a full 4 quarter effort. Didn't shirk a contest, didn't stop running, chasing or tackling and was there at end of the game for us when we needed him.

Mate, were you watching the game? and I didn't say that he did it with his disposals, it was his work off the ball or when the ball was in dispute, he laid 6 tackles today, which I think he laid more but meh.

He was great today him and the other four guys I mentioned were the only one's all day to put there head over the ball and were willing to take a hit.

That's what I like about him, not his hair, or his big marks or whatever the hard yards he puts in, they are unlike almost any other player on our list.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: I fully agree Dale Thomas as far as I am concerned just about kills himself to make a contest most times, I love his guts although I worry about injury...but c'mon people daisy goes more than just ok!!!

Daisy works his arse off every time he runs out on the oval, do you all want him to just do the flashy shit like Didak or the hard courageous stuff the Didak gets rubbished for not doing. If davis had the work ethic and committment of Daisy he wouldn't be considered a finals flop.
BTW for those people that think Didak could be as good or potentially as good as Daicos, let me just tell you Daisy has more in common with Daicos because Daics never shirked anything whereas Didak would pull up if he saw his own shadow.

Agreed with the five players. I like Thomas, and he was one of our best, however Thomas' disposal was very poor today, and he did make a number of poor kicks under little or no pressure that resulted in direct turnovers. He was good without being great, but the rest of the team were horrible.

Yep agree with those 5. Daisy definitely in our best. I think sometimes our supporters are swayed by oppo supporters who just don't like him.

The kid busted his backside today to get to contests and never shirks it. Yep missed a few kicks but he wasn't robinson crusoe.

Leon wasn't great but 13 possies, 12 contested from very limited opportunities and the match winning goal was solid output.