Five years on ...

MaddAdam

10k Posts Bay 13: Vintage Bay Podcaster North Melbourne - North 2012 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2011 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2010 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2009 Player Sponsor
Jun 8, 2011
In the not so distant future
This time five years ago, the debate over North moving to the Gold Coast was in full voice. As we know, in November, North said no.

It would be fair to say that the consensus of many at BigFooty and in the wider footy community was: "they'll fold in three years".

Yet now we see North having a growing membership base (not the smallest in Melbourne anymore and mid table overall) and growing crowds with a talented young list that copped a flogging in Perth, but still made finals.

At the same time, we see Brisbane recording another massive loss and while not bereft of talent, unlikely to be winning flags any time soon.

In South Australia, Port are in massive strife on and off field.

And the era of free agency shows us that freedom of player movement could well condemn clubs like Melbourne to "feeder" status in perpetuity unless they can engineer drastic changes in culture and image.

So, five years on, what have we learned about the footy economy ...

Tasmanian Demons has a nice ring to it.

On what grounds? We're suggesting poor onfield peformance is grounds for merger or relocation?

In the vein of the thread one thing we have learned in the past five years is that Tassie are unlikely to ever get a standalone team (either "organic" or relocated). Certainly not in this generation.

The AFL knows the market there is rusted on footy and will watch games anyway. If anything, the AFL now uses Tassie as a means to provide financial support to Melbourne clubs on the sly - Hawthorn and North (to a greater extent).

Reckon it was the “fork in the road” moment for North, can’t see them going anywhere now. Get a decent stadium deal and they’ll be pretty healthy I reckon.

Ultimately, good on them for standing up and staying put. Dare I say it but... good for footy. Gimme another proper footy club ahead of a plastic Queensland franchise any time.

Now I’m off to take a shower, all that praise has made me feel dirty.

These are always great threads as North supporters are well known for their open minds and even handed approach to discussing their clubs financial situtation. :):thumbsu:

Actually, the point of the thread is for others to show an open mind.

Would it be fair to say that in 2007 you called the North decision to stay in Melbourne badly?

Made the wrong decision, should have moved.

The evidence being?

Should be added this thread is for wider footy economics discussion.

I think the AFL would be very troubled that while the oldest expansion club is doing fine onfield (having won a flag a week ago ..) it isn;t a financial powerhouse.

Of the others, the WA clubs are fine.

But Brisbane are in serious trouble. It is too early to tell on Gold Coast but the AFL would want them to be winning about 7 - 8 games next year.

And in South Australia, the situation is very grim. Even mighty Adelaide seem to be falling behind West Coast and Collingwood as the huge power clubs.

The evidence being?

Should be added this thread is for wider footy economics discussion.

I think the AFL would be very troubled that while the oldest expansion club is doing fine onfield (having won a flag a week ago ..) it isn;t a financial powerhouse.

Of the others, the WA clubs are fine.

But Brisbane are in serious trouble. It is too early to tell on Gold Coast but the AFL would want them to be winning about 7 - 8 games next year.

And in South Australia, the situation is very grim. Even mighty Adelaide seem to be falling behind West Coast and Collingwood as the huge power clubs.

The AFL would only have to prop up one small struggling club, not two.

Should have moved.

Explain in detail using the publicly available references how the AFL "props" North up as compared to assistance given to interstate clubs like Port or Brisbane.

Should have moved.

Prop up because you get Pies and Blues twice each year? Little travel and more premier TV time slots even though you have an inferior side and play an inferior brand of football?

Give us Blues, Pies, Hawks, Rich, Ess and Cats home games each year, Anzac game, 5 Friday nights, 5 foxtel max games and we won't put our hand out.

That 2% of the profit that the AFL use to as equalisation payments must really be hurting them.:rolleyes:

The football economy is all about swings and roundabouts and tbh DAWS your not going to get the recognition or discussion you want - this is bigfooty. Like the Hawks back in the late 90's, north have started to make small inroads into what did seem insurmountable issues and as long as they continue down that path then growth and success will continue but your always going to cop criticism on these boards like other clubs who have clawed their way back regardless of how far you go.

Maybe it's time the very same spotlight was placed firmly into the bulldogs backyard as they do seem to glide by without being put under too much scrutiny. Maybe this then would result in the same turnaround for them as it has done for other clubs.

Prop up because you get Pies and Blues twice each year? Little travel and more premier TV time slots even though you have an inferior side and play an inferior brand of football?

Give us Blues, Pies, Hawks, Rich, Ess and Cats home games each year, Anzac game, 5 Friday nights, 5 foxtel max games and we won't put our hand out.

That 2% of the profit that the AFL use to as equalisation payments must really be hurting them.:rolleyes:

This is one thing we have learned in the last five years.

That the AFL will rig the fixture to maximise returns. Gillon McLachlan is very open about this.

The football economy is all about swings and roundabouts and tbh DAWS your not going to get the recognition or discussion you want - this is bigfooty. Like the Hawks back in the late 90's, north have started to make small inroads into what did seem insurmountable issues and as long as they continue down that path then growth and success will continue but your always going to cop criticism on these boards like other clubs who have clawed their way back regardless of how far you go.

Maybe it's time the very same spotlight was placed firmly into the bulldogs backyard as they do seem to glide by without being put under too much scrutiny. Maybe this then would result in the same turnaround for them as it has done for other clubs.
sounds like a job for GoGriff!! ;)

Explain in detail using the publicly available references how the AFL "props" North up as compared to assistance given to interstate clubs like Port or Brisbane.
So they prop up Brisbane more? Big deal.

No North means instead of propping up North and the Gold Coast we'd only be propping up Gold Coast Kangaroo's.

Should've moved.

This is one thing we have learned in the last five years.

That the AFL will rig the fixture to maximise returns. Gillon McLachlan is very open about this.

Of course they will - it is good business sense - but this is big reason the AFL support teams.

I rattled tins for the Tigers in the early 90's to "Save our Skins" also gave 5 rupee's to the Essendon tin rattlers this year for their "flight plan". Swings and roundabouts.

Good post. I'm not wanting any praise for North and we are a long, long way from being out of the woods.

I'm saying that the footy economy/world has changed hugely since this time five years ago yet so many of the views expressed by so many people just do not reflect this in any way.

So they prop up Brisbane more? Big deal.

No North means instead of propping up North and the Gold Coast we'd only be propping up Gold Coast Kangaroo's.

Should've moved.

Explain how the AFL "props" up North or any other Melbourne club.

Using sourced figures.

Of course they will - it is good business sense - but this is big reason the AFL support teams.

I rattled tins for the Tigers in the early 90's to "Save our Skins" also gave 5 rupee's to the Essendon tin rattlers this year for their "flight plan". Swings and roundabouts.

This another thing we have learned over the last five years.

All clubs, including the likes of Essendon, expect (quite rightly), the AFL to contribute to infrastructure development like new facilities etc.

Five years on ...