FLYING

• Thread starter Thread starter JoondalupJ

I don't have kids, good chance I never will. People are so precious on flights, the entitlement annoys me.

Can't get much more entitled than a modern parent. Once upon a time people tailored their activities based around having children. Now they expect everyone else to accommodate them. See: restaurants.

Business class flights are expensive. There's an expectation of privacy, quiet etc. Airlines shouldn't be selling business class tickets to people with crying babies.

Can't get much more entitled than a modern parent. Once upon a time people tailored their activities based around having children. Now they expect everyone else to accommodate them. See: restaurants.
I deal with entitled campaigner parents on a daily basis, I still think people on flights are massive princesses about everything.

I reckon flying with a young kid a long distance is pretty rough so splurge for the good seats, flying is the worst part of any trip anyway
This is the thing for me. A flight is getting me where I want to go, no more or less. The difference in cost between economy and business for a couple, is dinner in a Michelin star restaurant or two, depending on the country you're visiting. When I get home will I be telling friends about my amazing flight, or dinner in one of the best restaurants in the world?

Business class flights are expensive. There's an expectation of privacy, quiet etc. Airlines shouldn't be selling business class tickets to people with crying babies.
Ah no.

If someone wants to spend their hard earned on business for their young family, too bad, so sad if it affects the other precious petals in business. They have as much right and opportunity as everyone else to.

I once knew a travel agent (was dating a mate of mine)
She had a couple come in and book round the world first class airfares for them and their two kids, plus a bunch of top shelf hotel suites, dropped well over $100k all up

I once knew a travel agent (was dating a mate of mine)
She had a couple come in and book round the world first class airfares for them and their two kids, plus a bunch of top shelf hotel suites, dropped well over $100k all up
AFL certainly took care of James Hird

Generally fine with all of them.

Interstate travel is heaps cheaper than it used to be.

Remember booking flights with a mate to Tassie and there was the $1 Tiger option. We gave it a miss, figured if there was ever one they'd cancel it would be that, and you couldn't really complain too much.

Just got back from Bali flying Jetstar. Had no problems except not great service but I'm comparing that to QANTAS who I usually fly with.

Have flown with Tiger a handful or so times. In that small sample size I've had everything from a disputed loss of fare after I refused to leave 20hrs later than I'd booked right through to getting a promo flight I paid $20 for (Adel/Melb) get upgraded to the front & free booze.... Complete lottery.

Anyone scared of flying?

I used to love it. I still like airports, I still like the feel, the excitement of looking over a brand new city is like poetry. But I had a bad experience on a flight to Bali when the Northern Territory had its worst wet weather for a decade or so and Uluru was like a rainfall... the trip was... the cabin went a bit weird, lights on the wings went red, I said to the guy next to me 'do you feel weird?' and he said 'a bit yeah' and I honestly felt I was about to die... everything about it just felt like a last moment.

Since then have constantly shat myself. Once had a tiny flight from New York to Milwaukee and we kept circling and the air pockets were crazy, thought that was another one.

Like the Marr book says, you learn a fearing of flying from other people...

Yes im now terrified. Used to be all good until a terrible flight to Bali. Got food poisoning and was stuck in a toilet with diarrhea . Had a full blown panic attack and ended up on oxygen. Thought I'd be ok a year later to Europe. Nope on every leg i was terrified. Had to fly to Melbourne and back for family emergency last year. Had the worst turbulence as we landed. Never again. I will never fly again.

It's a pity it's so hard to get pissed on planes because you either drink too much and look a dick or else look to young they patronise you into waters.

I flew from Los Angeles to Brisbane in business class about a month ago. It was very comfortable but unfortunately was on the 747 rather than the A380 or 787.

Service on the night flight was minimal but would be a better experience on the flight to the US I would imagine.

Just on the A380, what are peoples experiences with it compared to other planes? Im flying return to Aus on the A380 in a few weeks and I really struggle on long flights, Im lucky to get 15 minute pockets of sleep. But apparently that plane has just a little bit more space in economy and inches to me can go a long way towards better comfort.

Haven't done the A380 but have heard good things about the space and smoothness of the flight.

The new Dreamliners are awesome. Faster, big windows, seats and wide aisles.

That's what Ive heard too. It's with Emirates who are usually one of the better. Cant say Im looking forward to the entering and exiting with so many people, but what will be...

Just on the A380, what are peoples experiences with it compared to other planes? Im flying return to Aus on the A380 in a few weeks and I really struggle on long flights, Im lucky to get 15 minute pockets of sleep. But apparently that plane has just a little bit more space in economy and inches to me can go a long way towards better comfort.
Have only travelled on a Qantas A380 so the configuration may differ, but I thought it was better than the 747 comfort wise.

I've been on a flight with two aborted landings, circling the airport for about half an hour and flying doesn't stress me at all.
Had an aborted landing into Sydney once. I am positive we were about 15 feet off the ground, aircraft was shaking like a leaf then we shot straight back up. Diverted to Canberra and took another 4 hours to get back into Sydney due to congestion lol shit of a day

OP confuses me. 4th Jan and 4th May aren't even the same day of the week. Did the booking change from Thursday 4/1/18 to Friday 4/5/18?

I've had no issues with Tiger, Virgin, Jetstar etc. flying domestically. Perth to Melbourne is 4 hours give or take, and I can amuse myself for that amount of time. Most of the domestic route planes are much of a muchness so the difference in comfort is minimal to me. If it's $400 for a return trip to Melbourne on a budget airline compared to $800 to fly Qantas and get a meal I'll rough it and pocket the $400 difference thanks. I'm more concerned about timing than choice of airline. **** taking a late taxi, flying the red eye and getting no sleep then needing a 6am taxi to save $50.

This...never had an issue in Australia

I do remember pre Sept 11th landing at a southern airport in India and being allowed to sit on the plane whilst it was cleaned...all doors opened, cleaners coming and going up and down everywhere...cockpit doors wide open.

The next week a major hijacking occurred in India.

The flight home I was pulled aside 4 times and checked with the 5th being on the boarding ramp..patted down and asked to empty back pack on the ground.

Did Australia to Uk a few years back in 2014.

Look...its better...more spacious...help yourself to Qantas snack bar...entertainment system excellent...but at the end of the day its like being confined to any space for a long period of time...you just want to get off.