Kickett Punches Read

Dec 29, 2008
dullsville
South Mandurah Football Club
well, i sat down last night to watch the first game of the year, it is so good to have it back, even if it was an eagles game, the eagles were pretty ordinary, they had a few missing but its good to see some things never change.... quentin lynch is a horrible footballer, it got me thinking about what someone said on another thread about him making the wide open spaces into a 50/50 contest lol classic comedy :) , and if i ever hear an eagles supporter bag out palmer for his ball use, i will just tell them to go straight back to last nights game and watch masten... his skills were shocking, he got a lot of the ball but couldnt hit the side of a bar... i think west coast found another priddis there, not that that is a bad thing i suppose..... anyway my question is, what do people in all honesty think of our chances against richmond in a weeks time? does anyone have a serious case for us going deep into the series? i know it is just the nab cup, but at this point i think winning anything would be a good thing

another question i have and this is in regards to last nights game, did anyone see maxwells shirtfront on mcginnity? patty has a broken jaw which hopefully he can recover from quickly and without hassle but what is everyones thoughts on the incident? i really hope the tribunal lets maxwell off, because maxwell had his arm tucked in and the ball was within 5 meters... i ask because if maxwell goes for that then the afl is setting the bar for the season. maxwell should get off, that is unless we want this game to turn into soccer

anyway my question is, what do people in all honesty think of our chances against richmond in a weeks time? does anyone have a serious case for us going deep into the series?

I am starting to wonder how seriously some clubs take this comp? Last nights game was like a picnic day at Lilac Hill.

I actually thought Maxwell should get suspended. He definately caught him head high, learn to get lower if your going to shirt front.

If Palmer got his jaw broken because someone shirt fronted him at head height we would be spewing.

well, i sat down last night to watch the first game of the year, it is so good to have it back, even if it was an eagles game, the eagles were pretty ordinary, they had a few missing but its good to see some things never change.... quentin lynch is a horrible footballer, it got me thinking about what someone said on another thread about him making the wide open spaces into a 50/50 contest lol classic comedy :) , and if i ever hear an eagles supporter bag out palmer for his ball use, i will just tell them to go straight back to last nights game and watch masten... his skills were shocking, he got a lot of the ball but couldnt hit the side of a bar... i think west coast found another priddis there, not that that is a bad thing i suppose..... anyway my question is, what do people in all honesty think of our chances against richmond in a weeks time? does anyone have a serious case for us going deep into the series? i know it is just the nab cup, but at this point i think winning anything would be a good thing

another question i have and this is in regards to last nights game, did anyone see maxwells shirtfront on mcginnity? patty has a broken jaw which hopefully he can recover from quickly and without hassle but what is everyones thoughts on the incident? i really hope the tribunal lets maxwell off, because maxwell had his arm tucked in and the ball was within 5 meters... i ask because if maxwell goes for that then the afl is setting the bar for the season. maxwell should get off, that is unless we want this game to turn into soccer

Masten was not worth the pick he was drafted with - his skills are not what you would want for a top 3 pick. He is not a dud, but he just doesn't have the "danger" factor. Mind you I also reckon they got better value for Ebert that the pick he was taken with, so I suppose it all evens out. And after last night game, I reckon Tom Swift is going to be an absolute steal if he can stay on the park. A really balanced, smart player who will win heaps of the ball and do stuff with it. If only we could have talked Melbourne out of their priority pick *Sigh*.

Can't really comment on Collingwoods team - they look much the same as last year. I didn't think there was much wrong with Maxwells shirtfront, McGinnity was just really unlucky.

Anyway - I reckon we should win against Richmond if it is going to be another Noah's Ark game like last night. Hopefully with Hill, Suban and Mundy showing off their goal kicking ability from 50+.

I actually thought Maxwell should get suspended. He definately caught him head high, learn to get lower if your going to shirt front.

If Palmer got his jaw broken because someone shirt fronted him at head height we would be spewing.

see, i thought any contact made witht he head must have been due to a slight head clash.... it was unlucky for mcginnity and again i hope he recovers ok, but if we start taking bumps like that out of the game then i think the game will become too sanatised... i think it was a good clean shirtfront :thumbsu:

Masten was not worth the pick he was drafted with - his skills are not what you would want for a top 3 pick. He is not a dud, but he just doesn't have the "danger" factor. Mind you I also reckon they got better value for Ebert that the pick he was taken with, so I suppose it all evens out. And after last night game, I reckon Tom Swift is going to be an absolute steal if he can stay on the park. A really balanced, smart player who will win heaps of the ball and do stuff with it. If only we could have talked Melbourne out of their priority pick *Sigh*.

Can't really comment on Collingwoods team - they look much the same as last year. I didn't think there was much wrong with Maxwells shirtfront, McGinnity was just really unlucky.

Anyway - I reckon we should win against Richmond if it is going to be another Noah's Ark game like last night. Hopefully with Hill, Suban and Mundy showing off their goal kicking ability from 50+.

have to agree, masten i think will be a solid contributor but that will be about all.... ebert will be a bloody good plater, better than masten.... either way it doesnt effect us a great deal... im sure everyone on our board is happy with the way that the 08 draft went :thumbsu::)

Tipping an NAB cup match is impossible really, we can win but who knows what mind set the coaching staff have

on Masten, I wouldn't be writing him off just yet. He is playing a role which requires another 10 kg of muscle for him to be truly effective

Masten - will be a solid mid but its to hard to say how good he will be, he could be just about average or if he works his butt off and learns from Kerr then there is no reason why he can't be above avg.

WCE - Will be interesting to see, if that game is anything to go by then i see them down the bottom with worsfold getting the boot, but then they did have a lot of senior players out so its hard to judge.

Coll - meh? who cares probably make the eight and then fail again.

The Hit - i thought the hit was great and he shouldn't be suspended for that. But should be dropped because he is a hack and can't play football! why oh why would you make him captain........

Our Game - i think it depends on who richmond play as to whether we will win or not, if they play a near full strength team (like coll did) then they should win but if they bring a 50/50 or more kids we will win. IMO but i'm going for Freo 112 - 74 Rich w/ Pav 5 goals and Hase, Palmer and Ibbo 30+ possies :D

Tipping an NAB cup match is impossible really, we can win but who knows what mind set the coaching staff have

on Masten, I wouldn't be writing him off just yet. He is playing a role which requires another 10 kg of muscle for him to be truly effective

I don't think its his play around the stoppages that is the problem - its his other skills. His kicking is not good. It doesn't have much depth and apart from set shots he is "goal-shy" on the run. I am not saying he won't be a solid player in the vein of say Chad Fletcher or Byron Schammer.

Cockie looked good ... a bit too good for my liking ... will take to AFL like a duck to water when he gets his chance. I'd already stick him in WCE starting midfield already ... was much more effective than Fletch, Masten and Priddis last night ... **** I wish he was on our list.

Masten - will be a solid mid but its to hard to say how good he will be, he could be just about average or if he works his butt off and learns from Kerr then there is no reason why he can't be above avg.

WCE - Will be interesting to see, if that game is anything to go by then i see them down the bottom with worsfold getting the boot, but then they did have a lot of senior players out so its hard to judge.

Coll - meh? who cares probably make the eight and then fail again.

The Hit - i thought the hit was great and he shouldn't be suspended for that. But should be dropped because he is a hack and can't play football! why oh why would you make him captain........

Our Game - i think it depends on who richmond play as to whether we will win or not, if they play a near full strength team (like coll did) then they should win but if they bring a 50/50 or more kids we will win. IMO but i'm going for Freo 112 - 74 Rich w/ Pav 5 goals and Hase, Palmer and Ibbo 30+ possies :D

i'm pretty sure harves said that pav wont be playing in the first game. I think we'll win, we the last few years we usually win one or two nab cup games...in saying that thought, we were playing the eagles for most of those

Good luck next week fellas, I couldn't care less about the result. Just try not to injure any tigers......

Thanks, not that important for either team really. Just be nice to see the new guys in action in Freo colours.

Gotta be happy with your new recruit, looks like he'll slot straight back in, but more importantly, keep the memberships climbing.

Agreed, the Tigers look like a very exciting team this year. A lot of young talent (Just like the Dockers) just looking forward to seeing the boys have a good run with no injuries.
Great chance to see rookies and other teams have a run. Very important to see the future of teams and to select your Dream team.

Cant wait to next week.

Go Boys! Time to get out the Purple Overalls!!!:D:D:D

I hope you watched lasts nights game I.P and had a change of heart about the comments you made about one Q Lynch? he was once again awful and showed everyone why he is considered the monkey he is

both he and adam hunter are my two mosted hated players in the league, and for the life of me i dont know how either have gotten the reputations that they have :confused: lynch is big, dumb and cant take a mark... all he has is a long kick and even then its 50/50 on where it is going to go

and hunter, is the biggest blouse in western australian football history, wouldnt suprise me if he was dropped last night rather than "rested"

I thought Masten was pretty handy. Swift looked the business too. He (Swift) will be a very good player if he can stay on the park.
Yeah, thought both looked pretty good. Swift's certainly not a player we could take a risk on with his knees, but if he holds up he'll be great. Masten looked more sure in this game than he did at any time last year.

Collingwood were far more keen this year, which is odd considering Mick is a grumpy old ****.

see, i thought any contact made witht he head must have been due to a slight head clash.... it was unlucky for mcginnity and again i hope he recovers ok, but if we start taking bumps like that out of the game then i think the game will become too sanatised... i think it was a good clean shirtfront :thumbsu:

The AFL said last year that the player making the bump (Maxwell) is responsible for any contact made to the head. This included if it was accidental. The AFL need to be more consistant with their finding on this sort of stuff. It's a joke. I personally think those bumps are fine but if there is a rule which outlaws them, then surly they have to follow it. Next time it happens it'll be a Freo player and he'll get 4 weeks for it.

I've tried to find the answer. No luck.
So guys.......
If we win next week are we guaranteed the next game against Darth's mob at Subi ?.
Or is the location based around points kicked in round 1 by the winning team ?

I smell a conspiracy theory hatching. Round 21 2005. ;)

I don't think its his play around the stoppages that is the problem - its his other skills. His kicking is not good. It doesn't have much depth and apart from set shots he is "goal-shy" on the run. I am not saying he won't be a solid player in the vein of say Chad Fletcher or Byron Schammer.
I didn't see much of yesterdays game so can't comment but last year his kicking looked allright to me

meh, who cares anyway

No matter how many people the Cheats had out, the biggest reason why they lost and will continue to lose is the melon headed hypocrite fraud in the coaches box.

Structure, matchups, reactions to game flow, these are all things that can be tweaked if the coach has enough nouse to do more than just put his pants on the right way round. Woossa still has his wife dress him. In coaching you can't wait til someones not looking and hit them to make a contribution. Without that tool available to him he's lost.

I too thought Swift looked OK and those of us who wanted Cockie at Freo were reminded of why. McGinnity looked up to it as well before getting smashed. I'm in the camp that hopes the youngun is OK but that the bump goes unpunished.

If possible, Shannon Hurn, whose only demonstrable skill is kicking long and is otherwise fat, slow and dumb looks to have gotten fatter, slower and dumber

However, the biggest problem for Wet Coke is the list they're building. They have a large number of mid-sized players with no definable position or role. They lack KPP prospects even more than the Western Bulldogs do. Outside Glass they have 0 people capable of holding down a backline KP for a season and the same number (0) who project to be able to do so in any amount of time.

Up front Qlog Lynch is still able to turn the ball over with either hand and either foot and will continue to lead the league in losing 1 on 0 contests. Hansen is more fragile than Lil Johnnies ego. McKinley? He's a 1-dimensional clone of a badly out of form version of Paul Medhurst with none of the athletic skills, upside or potential improvement.

Then again, pinkus maybe right, should I/we care?

footy is back!!