Forward Line

• Thread starter Thread starter nahnah

Changes need to be made big time. There is no structure.

For me our ideal forward line would be having cloke deep to try and get the best out of his marking and poor kicking. Then have kraks, blair, Kenned and sidey rotating as small crumbing types at his feet. Elliot as the lead up mid size, Paine needs to play CHF and and have Lynch play like Leroy did as a mobile ruck/forward.

Its been a mess so far this year. Aside from the Richmond game, we have been kicking long to absolutely no one. I mean the talent is there but the structure is awful.

On a side note: I believe the best type of pressure is score board pressure not whatever it is that sinclair does.

FORWARD LINE CHANGES:

IN: PAINE, KENNEDY, KRAKOUER

OUT: MACAFFER, SINCLAIR, FASOLO

ps - Elliot is smaller than kennedy and sidey so he cant be our mid size forward. I was thinking turn Thomas into a Stevey J like player? Mid sized forward that rotates in the midfield? Daisy isnt doing much in the midfield anywaysssss

I absolutely agree with this. Way too much emphasises is put on blokes who can apply defensive pressure rather than blokes who can kick goals.
Krak, Dids & Kennedy (one will be sub) to come in for Caff, Fasolo & Sinclair.
Blair, Sidey & Thomas need to play 50% of the game FWD and 35% of the game MID (assuming 15% on pine). This may not be possible though until Ball/Beams come back.
Goldsack being the sub was one of the worst decisions the coaching staff have made this year. If he plays defence then we play Paine otherwise he plays FWD.

The structure is on the improve. I like the way they have worked to create space to allow Cloke to be isolated.

I'm not down on Lappin at all and I'm liking both the individual and team improvement of that group.

I'm just not such a fan of some of the guys we've been putting through there. Dale Thomas is not a forward at all. Ben Sinclair is a tackler only.

I'd like some better rounded forwards in there. Your Elliott's, Goldsack's, Fasolo's. Krakouer possibly if his pressure game is up to scratch or Paine if he can get that confidence back in his goalkicking. It's all about having those guys who can not only play together but also mark, tackle and kick goals. Do only one of the three (Sinclair - tackling) and you probably shouldn't be in there. If you have those guys with complete games

FORWARD LINE CHANGES:

IN: PAINE, KENNEDY, KRAKOUER

OUT: MACAFFER, SINCLAIR, FASOLO

ps - Elliot is smaller than kennedy and sidey so he cant be our mid size forward. I was thinking turn Thomas into a Stevey J like player? Mid sized forward that rotates in the midfield? Daisy isnt doing much in the midfield anywaysssss

I think it is actually Goldsack out (as in, out to the backline). I would keep Fasolo in. I would also bring in Didak. I don't think Kennedy is in best 22 just yet.

We never replaced Brown, so it would be good see another mobile tall come in. Paine could be a good option, but I reckon Jolly/Witts combination could be the ticket. Jolly was very good up forward in 2010/2011. Moving a ruck into the forward line rater than benching would also allow the mids to use the bench to rotate more.

Shame Dawes cracked it and asked to be traded, he probably would have really benefitted from Lynch this year.

Ummm Macaffer played in defence last week.

Someone tell me why.

Just don't understand when we clearly lack pace in defence and put caff on the half back line who might be one of the slowest players on the team.

I would have to say that pace is still the biggest problem we have all over the ground. Now that Tooves is out for the season we have not one defender i would say has breakaway pace in the backline. Our midfield does not have outstanding pace - above average would be daisy and harry but that is about it. Swan, Pendles, Beams, Ball, Blair, Sidebottom etc are all one pace players. Forward line has zero pace. Above average would be sinclair.

We need players that can break lines but also who can defend pacey opponents. we get exposed by pacey mid-fwds and small fwds every week and its getting old.

I didn't think Caff was too bad, he started pretty well in DEFENCE mind you...

As for the forward line.

I think Krak and Kennedy may come in, Paine might be a smoky, and don't dismiss Witts getting an opportunity.

I would like this forward line.

Kennedy Q-Stick Thomas

Elliott Cloke Paine

Maybe a little slow.. but... maybe a little small, but **** it it's better than having guys like Sinclair.

I'd give Fasolo another chance, a proven up and comer. Krak the sub... Now this might seem a bit strange considering i've never seen Kennedy play, and you may say who am I to judge him as a potantial but i'm dying to see what the hype is all about!

I didn't think Caff was too bad, he started pretty well in DEFENCE mind you...

As for the forward line.

I think Krak and Kennedy may come in, Paine might be a smoky, and don't dismiss Witts getting an opportunity.

I would like this forward line.

Kennedy Q-Stick Thomas

Elliott Cloke Paine

Maybe a little slow.. but... maybe a little small, but **** it it's better than having guys like Sinclair.

I'd give Fasolo another chance, a proven up and comer. Krak the sub... Now this might seem a bit strange considering i've never seen Kennedy play, and you may say who am I to judge him as a potantial but i'm dying to see what the hype is all about!

I don't think that forward line is slow at all. Elliot, Thomas and Kennedy all have tremendous pace and will provide super pressure. I reckon Krakouer rather than Paine would be a good set-up if he's fit enough.

We'd then have four good aerial targets in Cloke, Elliot, Thomas and Q-Stik, three quick harassers in Thomas, Elliot and Kennedy, one excellent crumber in Krakouer and a great opportunist in Thomas. Kennedy is an unknown quantity, but I smell quality, one touch finish.

It's not the forward line that is the problem. It is simply a lack of defensive pressure from the mids, lack of scoring pressure from the mids and a very poorly functioning back 6.This is why we are getting blown away.

Thankfully Ball and Beams are the quick fix for our mids. Hopefully Maxwell and Young can get back ASAP...Otherwise I can not foresee any improvement in the short term.

How in the hell can anyone suggest that Swan is one paced? I seriously wonder about some posters.

He is one of the fastest burst players in the league. His 20 metres is incredible. Fair dinkum.

I fail to see why so many posters want Cloke deep forward all the time. Yes he's a wonderful pack mark but keeping him near goals exposes him to being boxed into 2 on ones all the time. It also means his leads are mainly confined to acute angles. I'd play Paine as the designated "goal square monster", Clokey at CHF where he can run his defenders all over the place and keep Q as the third tall. Start him on a HFF and watch the defenders search for a better matchup, play him deep next to Paine if you want or start him on the bench. Q's influence will be about "unsettling" defences by being a really difficult matchup as a THIRD rather than a second tall.

My crumbers in the front half would be Blair and Sidebottom. Krak can do it but he's more a lead and mark type (like Elliot). I would rotate my midfielders (Beams, Swan, Ball, Pendles) through the HFF and their quality would ensure that they had to be guarded by top notch defenders which cuts down on the numbers going to Clokey.

I do like the idea being floated currently that Scoreboard pressure is just as important as defensive pressure. Geelong has thrived on this for years, being able to score quickly and heavily if they are challenged. All of our forwards know about defensive pressure, but those that can score as well as tackle are the real gems.

I believe we have the "cattle" its now about putting them in the best spots to affect the outcomes of games.

Changes need to be made big time. There is no structure.

For me our ideal forward line would be having cloke deep to try and get the best out of his marking and poor kicking. Then have kraks, blair, Kenned and sidey rotating as small crumbing types at his feet. Elliot as the lead up mid size, Paine needs to play CHF and and have Lynch play like Leroy did as a mobile ruck/forward.

Its been a mess so far this year. Aside from the Richmond game, we have been kicking long to absolutely no one. I mean the talent is there but the structure is awful.

On a side note: I believe the best type of pressure is score board pressure not whatever it is that sinclair does.
Rubbish the forwardline is working fine. Only minor adjustments are really needed. Its the midfield and leaky defense that is really letting us down atm.

short term, I'd like to see:

Paine/Witts, Cloke, Elliott
Krakouer, Lynch, Fasolo/Didak

Long term I think Grundy will be our 3rd tall forward and part time ruck. I think the way the game is going, you need 2 genuine rucks, with one who can play forward. The Leigh Brown role is dying as clubs opts for versatile 2nd rucks with height.

Witts could be a good option to play forward as he will be a nightmare for the 3rd defender who is usually undersized.

Ummm Macaffer played in defence last week.

Someone tell me why.

Just don't understand when we clearly lack pace in defence and put caff on the half back line who might be one of the slowest players on the team.

This is a furphy. Macaffer runs a 2.9sec 20m sprint and is one of the quickest at the club. He has precisely the pace and closing speed needed to play as a small defender.

I don't mind the idea of Macaffer down there. Could become a Luke Hodge type player who floats back and forward. He has the size to compete one on one, and the closing speed to defend. His footskills are dependable enough as well. Not a line-breaker, but still has attacking qualities.

I'd persist. He was not showing much up forward. If anything, it keeps him in the game and will help him run into match fitness quicker. I think he is a handy player.

When Ball and Beams come back.

Move Sidey to be a more permanent HFF, he should play the Didak type role of 2010...ie be the forward linking style midfielder who also can pop up with a bag of 3 every now and then. Obviously he aint got the skills of Didak but is good in that role. Still hold out hope that Didak can come back and contribute in second half of the year....bloke is just too smart and too silky to note be able to contribute.

Swan/Thomas rotate through the forward line to provide another marking option

Krak is in our best team.

Cloke, Lynch, Elliot (deserves a spot based on form), are the other main forwards

Is lappin still our forward line coach?

Why don't we kick Robert Harvey at the same time for the midfield being lazy and one way?

Lappin's focussing on individual skills, not much the forward line can do when they get a hail mary from the wing, or the mids have allowed a mini-stampede to crowd the arc.

Is it just me who thinks Paine is too slow? You can't have him alongside Cloke and Lynch in the forward line. Goldsack has some height but he also has great pace-last time I saw Paine was against Carlton last year. He was out of the contest when the pill hit the ground and couldn't apply any defensive pressure as blokes ran off.