Roast Forward Line

• Thread starter Thread starter Psicosis

Mate. you could have Roughy up there and wouldnt make a difference.

Got 3 of your players in SC including Petrie, so have been keeping an eye on you guys TV wise.

Your mids bomb it into pack situations, ball movement is too slow.
Your forwards are leading, the kick goes over their head or at their feet, or is ignored, skills issues.
I saw Petrie lead twice last night and get away from Talia, the first kick hit the deck before he got
his hands on it, play on, the second time in the last qtr, one of your mids actually brought Sloan into the equation
by moving into that part of the ground, Sloan took the mark.

You keep asking your talls to goto the well when the service is pretty poor, sooner or later they stop.

Daw, does exactly the same by the way, he takes himself and his player to the contest, you saw that highlighted
last week.

I actually thought that your gameplan was to bomb it into the last 30, create a pack situation and have the
ball goto ground..thats is your game plan..right??

Unless you are watching at the game, you are pretty clueless as to whats happening out there, TV does not
show it all, you will only see glimpses.

Dont bag me, I would be happy if my club had Black or Petrie or Daw, cause we really only have Casboult, and trust
me, I am not saying the service would be any better.

I wonder then if the players are following instructions regarding entry into the forward line. If so the forward coach has a bit of work to do. For what it's worth I've watched the forward line live and they can look lazy.

Agree, on McKernan.

I know we are about the only two that think this (and did back when no one else rated him), but Pederson would have been very handy for us this year. Playing the exact role for them that we are missing.

Agree. It became groupthink to run down his good games as fluke and make out he had no future value. Not sure why.

There was also a completely unfounded trend to imply he was a dickhead and this was why he was let go.

I rated him. Solid mark, smart player and good kick. Very versatile too and had a knack for creeping forward for a crunch mark and goal at the right time.

I wonder then if the players are following instructions regarding entry into the forward line. If so the forward coach has a bit of work to do. For what it's worth I've watched the forward line live and they can look lazy.

Could be instructions mate. If you have been watching at the ground you have a big advantage over me, so maybe they are lazy?

Don't have a problem with your answer, would like a reason.

Wasn't a crack at you mate.

I think he's a fairly limited and immobile player. Maj and Ben Brown offer more upside in a similar role.

Not nearly good enough to even do what Tarrant can supposedly do.

There was some romanticism with the name once upon a time but that's long gone.

Agree. It became groupthink to run down his good games as fluke and make out he had no future value. Not sure why.

There was also a completely unfounded trend to imply he was a dickhead and this was why he was let go.

I rated him. Solid mark, smart player and good kick. Very versatile too and had a knack for creeping forward for a crunch mark and goal at the right time.

Yep, agree on all those points exactly. As we used to discuss regularly.

What is also concerning for me is that Melb (a club that plenty bag on here about their inability to develop players and so on) seem to have got the best out of him - he looks fitter and goes harder.

And oh, whilst our trade in Gysberts is going well in Old Scholars 3rd grade somewhere.

Wasn't a crack at you mate.

I think he's a fairly limited and immobile player. Maj and Ben Brown offer more upside in a similar role.

Not nearly good enough to even do what Tarrant can supposedly do.

There was some romanticism with the name once upon a time but that's long gone.

All good King Corey. Ben Brown looks like a bit of a dude. Tarrant may play better next week. I'm sure he'll be playing against Melbourne.

What do you suggest ? Sometimes a recycled player works well.
if you're taking a player who has shit coaching to a team that has good coaching it will. But when you take some from a good coaching set up you can't develop them if you can't coach. Nahas had come to a better coaching structure (and that's saying something about Richmond) Shaun Mc will be going backwards. Plus I've seen enough of him at SANFL to know he's shit.

May as well just persist with Tarrant.

He is rusty now but let's not blame his poor performances on match fitness after a few weeks. He is just an average player atm. When a player is absent, they morph into club legends.

Before the game;

After the game;

Hmmm.

FWIW i'm quite clearly slamming his selection by the selection committee, who have once again shown their worth. Taz is a good player and adds a lot to our lineup when 100%, however he was clearly out of sorts, underdone and struggling with how long he's been out, pardon me for thinking that he'd be able to perform well when selected in the 22, generally AFL clubs only pick players when they can perform at their absolute best, our club seems to be a little different. Hope you feel good about trying to make me out like a mug, fortunately I don't need to sift through your posts, you do a good enough job as it is.

Ha......no worries.

Mate, you made a bad call (as did the selection committee). You weren't the only one either, there were plenty of others celebrating his return when it was obviously ridiculous after so long out of the game, and with no form whatsoever.

Who's the odd man out : Swallow
Wells
Greenwood
Gibson

Only one of these blokes could hit a team mate on the chest in a game

Ha......no worries.

Mate, you made a bad call (as did the selection committee). You weren't the only one either, there were plenty of others celebrating his return when it was obviously ridiculous after so long out of the game, and with no form whatsoever.

Incorrect, posters who were applauding his return were due to the clubs inclusion of him, as stated previously, if the club picks him we should be able to expect that he isn't underdone and is at 100%, when Taz is fit he provides a good option, is by no means a star, but provides a contest and is not a liability, which is what we assumed we would get by the club naming him to play, regardless of form. The club stuffed up, are we stupid for believing what the club made out? At this stage, probably. Now you are a veteran Tarrant-hater, you love piping up when he is down and you're nowhere to be seen when he is playing well, so it is no surprise to see you lurking around the board currently.

simply put there are not a lot of quality Tall forwards around and those with class are getting paid a motza, (Tomohawk, Cloke, Shultz, Ruffy, Cameron and Obviously Buddy.). And looking back the 2004 draft was a gold mine for the Hawks picking up both buddy and ruffy even though it took 2 picks in the top 5. Bullys and tigers rightfully so kicking themselves.

Unfortunately we are in the same basket as pretty much most of the league that don’t have a class Tall fwd who can turn a game.

At the moment I would say we don’t even have a 2nd tier forward ( Dawes, Tippett, Jack, Pav, Gunston, Kennedy(WC) and St Nick.)

We are prolly lucky that we have LT who plays a bit above his height, ala Elliot and Wingard.

So at the moment we have a few journeymen that are trying to fill the role, so far it has been shared between Drew, Maj, Currie and Black with possibly Brown and Wood available to be thrown in the mix.

Its always hard to predict if any of those are going to stand up in the next few years and join the top tier of the leagues forwards, I would say Wood is possibly the favourite with maybe Maj an outside chance if he can learn the craft. I would imagine a Coleman is as distant as a flag ATM in Arden st.

If we want to dream big I reckon we gotta spend big. Might just be worth a gamble to throw the house at Tom Boyd, Tippett/Buddy style to get him in Blue and White. Few who watched Franklands game on Saturday would question his worth.

Triple towers structure is sooooooo last year, not one decent side is using it, lol, all the people who thought Tarrant would make a difference, our delivery into F50 is comical most of the time, retention of ball in the F50 is deplorable, forward pressure practically non existent, missed sitter goals early in the 1st Q by Drew and Spitta absolute momentum sappers and buzz killers, we seem to be treating the pill like it is a red hot potato, dont hold it for 1 second, just handball to a team mate, usually within a metre, ready or not
Correct should have stopped there. The guys sitting thirteenth on the goal kicking list.

You don't know what direction LT's been given. He's a crumbing forward with the rare ability to clunk a mark. We play three talls and should one of then not mark it we need the likes of LT at their feet trying to scrap a goal. If it's too congested it's ball movement not LT fault.

He's (again) one of the few we need not worry about.

Put it this way he'd get a game at every Club, not sure we have many of those.

I never said it was Just Thomas' fault, its obviously a combination of things like as you mentioned, slow ball movement. I'm just saying he is apart of the problem. Too often he flys for marks when he should be front and centre. Too often he allows his man to zone off and fill space in front of our key forwards. While he does have scoreboard impact he very rarely impacts up the ground, which is what he needs to do more often if he is going to become a genuine A-grader.

If you watch the opening minute of play, you get what Tarrant and Petrie could do with quick ball movement. Ball spreads quickly from the bounce delivered to an open space in the forward half where Tarrant blocks Petrie's man and holds his own out from being third man up. Unfortunately the rest of the quarter is played inside Adelaide's F50.

buddy you got ROCKED, just take your medicine and lie down.

If you watch the opening minute of play, you get what Tarrant and Petrie could do with quick ball movement. Ball spreads quickly from the bounce delivered to an open space in the forward half where Tarrant blocks Petrie's man and holds his own out from being third man up. Unfortunately the rest of the quarter is played inside Adelaide's F50.
Yep agree entirely. Midfield didnt get any clean ball in unless it was Boomer or Atley breaking the lines. Wellsy needs to get back ASAP. And if God can give us 1 wish its to make Keiran Harper AFL standard once more :(

Incorrect, posters who were applauding his return were due to the clubs inclusion of him, as stated previously, if the club picks him we should be able to expect that he isn't underdone and is at 100%, when Taz is fit he provides a good option, is by no means a star, but provides a contest and is not a liability, which is what we assumed we would get by the club naming him to play, regardless of form. The club stuffed up, are we stupid for believing what the club made out? At this stage, probably. Now you are a veteran Tarrant-hater, you love piping up when he is down and you're nowhere to be seen when he is playing well, so it is no surprise to see you lurking around the board currently.

With all due respect, it's quite a big ask to expect Saintly to sprint to the computer once every two years when Tarrant has a half-decent game. And in any case, like an eclipse, you would have to be very quick to see it.

A 'Veteran-Tarrant hater' could apply to most football fans who watch every game, and wait for him to either not be injured and/or grab a game by the scruff of the neck after something like six years of being on the list.

I know it's vehement, cold-blooded hatred to ask 'When is this likely looking lad going to deliver', and the lurking evil that pose these questions should quieten down, and accept that 'Yes, a player who is taller than 184cm can reasonably take half a decade to learn how to catch a ball'. You just need to be humble, my friend, and be steadfast in the knowledge that in 2023, when Tarrant takes 3 marks and kicks 4.2, you were the one who was always right. When that happens, be smug and serene. No 'Toast' threads. Just be happy in the quiet knowledge that you were always right.