Frank Costa to confront David Evans today

Bomber never said he was burnt out. Frank said that!

For the haters

http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2010/10/15/3039950.htm?site=melbourne&section=news

1/ Are you calling Frank Costa a liar now? Costa said he was told this by Bomber himself. Not just at the last minute, either. Costa and Cook suggested he take a break some weeks ago because Bomber complained about it. Bomber started saying how tired he was, guess when? About the same time Evans secretly approached him.

2/ Bomber was supposed to coach Geelong in 2011. He wanted out. And they said yeah, no problem as that was the arrangement. But not to go to an opposition team in that same year.

3/ Read between the lines. Costa has too much class to call a spade a spade on this occasion because it will only ruin a great legacy for all. Call Bomber's recent secretive double dealings and maneuverings for what they are and it will result in a shit fight that will affect the whole group. So, Costa gives Bomber his blessings.

My mistake. Patrick Smith was almost certainly right about Bomber taking the Essendon job a few weeks back, then pulling out because he realized how much it stank given the circumstances.

Unfortunately, when Bomber goes to Essendon, he will bring a stink with him. I got a lot of time for Bomber Thompson. But he has really done himself no favours here. He has left guys like Balme, Costa and Cook completely in the dark. Made them look like amatuers; foolish. Thats not hard to do to people who trust you. Once, anyway. He also took a required assistant coach (Brendon McCartney) with him. These guys - Evans, McCartney, Thompson - are looking Costa and Balme in the eyes and telling them bald faced lies.

1/ Are you calling Frank Costa a liar now? Costa said he was told this by Bomber himself. Not just at the last minute, either. Costa and Cook suggested he take a break some weeks ago because Bomber complained about it. Bomber started saying how tired he was, guess when? About the same time Evans secretly approached him.

2/ Bomber was supposed to coach Geelong in 2011. He wanted out. And they said yeah, no problem as that was the arrangement. But not to go to an opposition team in that same year.

3/ Read between the lines. Costa has too much class to call a spade a spade on this occasion because it will only ruin a great legacy for all. Call Bomber's recent secretive double dealings and maneuverings for what they are and it will result in a shit fight that will affect the whole group. So, Costa gives Bomber his blessings.

My mistake. Patrick Smith was almost certainly right about Bomber taking the Essendon job a few weeks back, then pulling out because he realized how much it stank given the circumstances.

Unfortunately, when Bomber goes to Essendon, he will bring a stink with him. I got a lot of time for Bomber Thompson. But he has really done himself no favours here. He has left guys like Balme, Costa and Cook completely in the dark. Made them look like amatuers; foolish. Thats not hard to do to people who trust you. Once, anyway. He also took a required assistant coach (Brendon McCartney) with him. These guys - Evans, McCartney, Thompson - are looking Costa and Balme in the eyes and telling them bald faced lies.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

I have been making similar points to you the last few weeks about Bomber, RegHickeyStand, and yet you disagreed with me. Boy, you changed your tune.

I said that if Bomber showed up at Essendon, it is as bad, if not worse, than Ablett's defection. However, you seemd to defend "Bomber" at the time, while still hypocritically criticising Gary Ablett for leaving.

Were you too soft on Bomber at the time, or too harsh on Ablett?

----------------------------------------------------------------------

I have been making similar points to you the last few weeks about Bomber, RegHickeyStand, and yet you disagreed with me. Boy, you changed your tune.

I said that if Bomber showed up at Essendon, it is as bad, if not worse, than Ablett's defection. However, you seemd to defend "Bomber" at the time, while still hypocritically criticising Gary Ablett for leaving.

Were you too soft on Bomber at the time, or too harsh on Ablett?

There was no hypocricy about it, as Thompson at that stage wasn't going to essendon. It was just scuttlebut. And furthermore predictions had not come true. Bomber was supposed to have signed on the dotted line according to Smith. Didn't happen. So I thought it was scuttlebutt.

Personally I don't think either going is much of a loss. Ablett is a selfish over-rated influence on the team's success. I couldn't give a twopence if he won 50 Brownlows. I would not swap him for an Ottens, Bartel, Scarlett, Chapman, Stevie J, or Rooke. Not in a million years.

I think Bomber had run his race at Geelong.

So neither of them will be a loss. Very disappointed in the way they both managed their departures. I was willing to give both of them the benefit of the doubt until damning information came out.

Yeah kind of.

So he is meant to stay unemployed for a year? Let you club get over it. Dont put in a get out clause if you are going to say you cant go to other clubs. Get off your high horse.

Funny I was reading how good Frank was that he was calling a spade a spade. And of course you come out looking like the good guys. If Frank said nothing and didnt sook he would have come out with more class. A businessman should understand that people will move nd contracts are made to protect the employee and their interests.

Listen If you believe everything that you are told then good for you. You will go far. Frank spoke half truths about bomber and his fatigue. Bomber even laughed off the suggestions. Shit is being flung over both sides of the walls mate. Take off the glasses and or get your head out of wherever you have it.

Wow - if what I read here there are quite a few think that Bomber will go to Essendon and that he may have lied to Cook and Costa.

If this is true I am shocked - never thought Bomber would lie to them - so I will remain on the sidelines waiting to see what actually happens before I make judgment on all this.

Ablett IMO did not treat the club or the fans well at the end - and I am over him.

I just cannot imagine that Bomber could ever fall into that category.

Mind you I never believed the Hanse Conje corruption charges either until I heard him admit it - so perhaps I am a bit naive.

If Bomber actually turned his back on Geelong that would be devastating for the club and supporters as it would be one more betrayal - in a list of them.

If true (and I am still on the sidelines) things are not good at Catland. How could we go from such a professional club with the utmost integrity to having these things happening ? I would be shattered not because of Thompson going to Essendon - as if he, or others, do not want to be at GFC - GO - we only want good people who want to be there - who are committed to the club and its supporters BUT because 3 respected Cat people (Ablett, Thompson & McCarthy) may have lied and betrayed the club that has done so much for these people.

That they have shown no respect to the club, players and fans who were loyal to them. And this is how these enriched and better off people repay us ??? There is a thing called INTEGRITY and being honest is part of that deal.

Such things can have a detrimental affect on the club, players and fans - who deserve better from such people.

It just better be not true.

Yeah kind of.

Then Costa, Balme, and Cook have been non-stop lying for weeks. Costa even went on radio and denied Bomber was leaving the morning of the Smith article. Then within an hour Costa was having an emergency meeting with Bomber. But according to you, Costa knew all the time. So according to you, Costa went out an made a fool of himself that day by falsely appearing to be totally uninformed in the morning and having emergency meetings by lunch time.

So, basically, what you are saying makes no sense. Get it? Bomber was telling him he was tired, thats all. Although he was contracted to coach the next year he was having secret meetings with Evans. And Costa believed that and knew nothing of the secret meetings. All that makes perfect sense given the facts and what has been said. What you claim - that Costa lied and went out of his way to look a fool is ludicrous. Bomber made a fool of him.

So he is meant to stay unemployed for a year? Let you club get over it. Dont put in a get out clause if you are going to say you cant go to other clubs. Get off your high horse.

He was contracted to Geelong for 2011. What are you talking about he was meant to stay unemployed for a year? :rolleyes: If he was fair dinkum and he needed employment he could have offered other services at Geelong. If we refused, then he would be free. That would be the ethical thing.

Funny I was reading how good Frank was that he was calling a spade a spade. And of course you come out looking like the good guys. If Frank said nothing and didnt sook he would have come out with more class. A businessman should understand that people will move nd contracts are made to protect the employee and their interests.

Yeah, Frank does come out looking good. Not hard for him, because he really is a class act. The whole football world knows that.

In business, your word is everything. I have run two small start up businesses over the past 20 years, and believe me, if you say something, you follow up. Otherwise your name is mud and you don't get the next contract, or the one after that. Its easy to cheat a businessman and make a fool of him if you have built up some trust with him. Once.

Listen If you believe everything that you are told then good for you. You will go far. Frank spoke half truths about bomber and his fatigue. Bomber even laughed off the suggestions. Shit is being flung over both sides of the walls mate. Take off the glasses and or get your head out of wherever you have it.

Don't be a simpleton. Please tell me you understand that when adults in real life work and business look each other in the eye and say something it means something. Its no secret that Bomber has complained about the job wearing him down. Bomber did not laugh thisd off. Listen to his B&F speech. He acknowledged what Balme and Costa said then. Are you telling me that Bomber was lying then, too? Changing that to "you believe everything that you are told " comes across like you are just fresh out of high school. If you are, trust me, your word is everything.

Do not want to get involved with your discussion other than to say - in business as well as life - your word is paramount.

If people in business smell that you have no integrity - they will not do business with you.

If your mate, rightly or wrongly, says he knows X company is a rip off - you will not deal with that business. You cannot afford to allow this to happen.

People have to recognise that if in this world we all kept our word - this would be a whole better place to live in.

I have no time for those who deceive. And neither should a football club.

Belisarius, I'd love to wake up tomorrow to read Bomber isn't going to Essendon in 2011, too. I'd like to find out that there were no meetings between Bomber and Evans during the H&A season while he was still contracted - or that they had some resonable explanation.

I wouldn't give two shits about the Essendon football club. They are a disgrace at the moment....they disposed of their loyal and gun coach - Sheedy in less than admirable circumstances, they brought in Matthew Knights and made a mockory of everything....they had to resort to poaching Hawthorns CEO and Geelong's coaches....even there own players want out... As i said, a disgrace of a club at the moment.

I am just so proud that the Geelong Football Club is not like this. We will depart with Bomber and Ablett with dignity, move on and attract better talent to the club. The Geelong Football Club has rebuilt itself on very solid foundations over the last decade, i have no doubt that we will continue our success under the helm of Ken Hinkley (with hopefully a sprinkle of Paul Roos!).

There was no hypocricy about it, as Thompson at that stage wasn't going to essendon. It was just scuttlebut. And furthermore predictions had not come true. Bomber was supposed to have signed on the dotted line according to Smith. Didn't happen. So I thought it was scuttlebutt.

Personally I don't think either going is much of a loss. Ablett is a selfish over-rated influence on the team's success. I couldn't give a twopence if he won 50 Brownlows. I would not swap him for an Ottens, Bartel, Scarlett, Chapman, Stevie J, or Rooke. Not in a million years.

I think Bomber had run his race at Geelong.

So neither of them will be a loss. Very disappointed in the way they both managed their departures. I was willing to give both of them the benefit of the doubt until damning information came out.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

Funny though, how I got criticised by you and others for wanting to believe that Gary Ablett would stay at Geelong. At that stage, it was just scuttlebutt, and nothing had been officially announced. Yet you and others bagged me, and chose to believe the scuttlebutt that the media put forward.

BTW, just because Ablett ended up doing what most people expected isn't proof that the media was right, or that they had "inside" knowledge. It was a two-horse race-Gary goes, or he stays. They just backed the favourite in a two-horse race, and guessed right. They had a 60-40% chance of being right, so people who predicted it needn't think that they are so smart.

So, how can you bag me for "giving the benefit of the doubt" with Ablett, when you did the same thing with "Bomber" and was wrong too.

I await your apology!

Oh gosh, the belief in Coast is extraordinary despite everything eh says being just slightly out of sync with reality.
Costa says that he and Evans talked from 'woe to go' ,Evans says the meeting was brief.
Costa is on radio in the early am of Tuesday telling the world that Thompson will be coaching in 2001 at Geelong yet by mid afternoon on the sane day Cook is worried about Thompsons mental health. Cook would have called Frank as soon as he heard that radio interview and told him to turn of his phone- that was why Frank wasn't available for the SEN interview.
Cook would have already worked out the strategy having talked to Thompson on the Monday.
Of course Frank , the President of our club, the man closest to the honest, loyal, Coach with integrity, who didn't know that the Coach was in such a state.The same loyal, honest Coach with integrity didn't bother to tell him. Or is the President not telling the truth -or was that relationship all b******t.
Somewhere some or many people are telling porkies,somewhere there is a smell of a cover up. And none of them come out looking good.
Now of course we are in a great hurry to recruit our Coach so that two of the 'someones' can take their annual overseas junket.
All pretty sloppy in the end.

I won't hear another bad word about Costa. The guy has turned our club around from something shithouse to nothing short of greatness. He has done that with an assembled team that instills strong ethics, hard work and belief in the club. Even in the face of bad news - and we have had some big setback of late -- he still has managed to act with dignity and i believe that will hold us in good sted for the future.

Bring on the Hinkely era' !!

Oh gosh, the belief in Coast is extraordinary despite everything eh says being just slightly out of sync with reality.
Costa says that he and Evans talked from 'woe to go' ,Evans says the meeting was brief.
Costa is on radio in the early am of Tuesday telling the world that Thompson will be coaching in 2001 at Geelong yet by mid afternoon on the sane day Cook is worried about Thompsons mental health. Cook would have called Frank as soon as he heard that radio interview and told him to turn of his phone- that was why Frank wasn't available for the SEN interview.
Cook would have already worked out the strategy having talked to Thompson on the Monday.
Of course Frank , the President of our club, the man closest to the honest, loyal, Coach with integrity, who didn't know that the Coach was in such a state.The same loyal, honest Coach with integrity didn't bother to tell him. Or is the President not telling the truth -or was that relationship all b******t.
Somewhere some or many people are telling porkies,somewhere there is a smell of a cover up. And none of them come out looking good.
Now of course we are in a great hurry to recruit our Coach so that two of the 'someones' can take their annual overseas junket.

Evans had secret meetings with a contracted coach. I'd believe Costa over Evans, just on that score.

Costa was made to look foolish that morning when he said Bomber was most definitely staying, but by lunch there was crisis talks. But that is not a reflection on Costa, but a reflection on the duplicitous actions of others.

You don't going about making you employers and confidants look foolish. And that is exactly what Bomber did.

Bottom line for me is I really don't care if he goes to Essendon. He got us two flags and he doesn't want to be here anymore. Thanks and goodbye Bomber I'm grateful to you. Lets face it its not as if he's going to turn that Essendon list into anything special unless he wants another 5+ year job.

I'm hanging out to find out who does want to coach us! :thumbsu: Bring on 2011, No one rates us We don't care!!

Bottom line for me is I really don't care if he goes to Essendon. He got us two flags and he doesn't want to be here anymore. Thanks and goodbye Bomber I'm grateful to you. Lets face it its not as if he's going to turn that Essendon list into anything special unless he wants another 5+ year job.

I'm hanging out to find out who does want to coach us! :thumbsu: Bring on 2011, No one rates us We don't care!!

Well said Beth. :thumbsu:

When you really think about it, Bomber has never lied. True, he might have gone behind our back to do a few things, if articles by Smith and Sheehan are to be believed, but the man said he would never be at the helm of another club, and so far, he's right on that count.

He's delivered us two flags that, at the end of 2006, and probably even earlier than that, we thought we'd never see. For me, that is the lasting legacy that I'll remember him by, not the fact he might be an assistant at another club.

Oh gosh, Bomber didn't really lie because he said he wouldn't be at the helm of another club. Semantics people just like Bill Clinton didn't really have s** with that woman.
Whether he lied or not what must be understood is that the cosy relationship that the administration has always talked about as being the strength is just B*******t.
Thompson didn't tell Costa that he was burnt out, Cook didn't tell Costa that he had spoken to Thompson, McCartney didn't tell anyone , except perhaps for Thompson, that he was thinking of leaving,Cook determined that Thompson was 'burnt out', Thompson couldn't -because Cook told him not to-,or wouldn't give his final decision for a week.
Based on hot air my friends not solid management principles, based on friends deals , not sound, discussed and agreed by the Board and written documentation.Not in the end professional, not in the end sustainable, not even in the short term sustainable as one of the key responsibilities in any organisation is to have everything documented in case the proverbial but takes out the main players. No this was all on the whim of a few people at the top. And then like the house of cards it unravels.
Thank the players for two Premierships, ask the others why we blew ,the chance in 2004and 5 to play in a GF, why we blew 2006, why we lost 2008 and why we wasted 2010.
Ask and ask again and stop taking the we should be grateful line, we wasted all of that talent at playing level during these years. The administration have tried to grab the good times and ignore the losses.You can only take credit for success when you rake responsibility for loss. They have not.

Spot on champ !!!I think Essendon could sign all the other 14 head coaches and they would still find themselves bottom 4 for the next few years . That list is shocking and other than 2-3 names you would'nt look twice at them .

Yep.

I love what Frank has done for our club but he does get foot in mouth syndrome occasionally. Giving Bomber a get out of jail free card by saying he has our blessing is mindless. I'll bet Cookie rolled his eyes when he heard that.

If (remember the 'if' cos there's no commitment so far) Bomber goes to Essendon next year it's unethical. Bomber carries with him first hand intellectual property accrued during his years with us. Not only in the coaching sphere but in areas of drafting (his best mate is Dedoro), player contracts etc. It's generally accepted business practice these days that key people don't go to the opposition for a period of time - in some cases years. Often it is a contractual requirement.

I'm a Bomber fan and believe he was suffering burn out and that was the major consideration for him not going on. And I believe that so far he's handled his exit with dignity. However, if he turns up at Essendon within 12 months I'll be back with more to say on this.

Frank wears his heart on his sleeve but has been well and truly snowed by Evans who is way too shifty for my liking.

I wouldn't give two shits about the Essendon football club. They are a disgrace at the moment....they disposed of their loyal and gun coach - Sheedy in less than admirable circumstances, they brought in Matthew Knights and made a mockory of everything....they had to resort to poaching Hawthorns CEO and Geelong's coaches....even there own players want out... As i said, a disgrace of a club at the moment.

I am just so proud that the Geelong Football Club is not like this. We will depart with Bomber and Ablett with dignity, move on and attract better talent to the club. The Geelong Football Club has rebuilt itself on very solid foundations over the last decade, i have no doubt that we will continue our success under the helm of Ken Hinkley (with hopefully a sprinkle of Paul Roos!).

Poaching? They would not have come to Essendon unless they wanted to buddy. And as for our players wanting to leave, who are you referring to? Houli (being the only player who wants out)? O NO you're right, we are a disgrace, Houli want's out, something must be wrong...

You are insulting your own club with this post. Our players want to leave? How's Ablett going? And if we are a disgrace, why are opposition coaches/assistants wanting to come over?

Seriously man.
Half-truths and white lies are part of football.
Trades don't happen in trade week.
Guys don't walk out just prior to the drafts.
Coaches aren't enticed to other clubs in the week after the season.
But when it's announced, and how it's portrayed, is another matter.

Has Costa been 100% truthful? Probably not.
Has he done the right thing by his club? Yes. (Can't be seen to be bullied around.)
That's all that matters.