FatCat

Sydney v Geelong, Friday night, SCG.
Homebush is unavailable because the NRL still uses the old McIntyre final eight, in which the finals have to be played in a certain order to avoid dead rubbers.

Given our perceived lack of pace, will the SCG suit us better?

Just read that...I thought that Telstra Stadium would have been a bit better for us given that it's not the size of my backyard, and Sydney wouldn't have their home ground advantage that they're used to.

Ricketts said:
We're no chance on the SCG.

Good old Geelong positive thinking!

We came very close earlier in the year with half the side suffering heavily from the flu.

Come now, I think we are far more of show than that. Sydney likes to play a negative style that generally will keep us close to them . We are far close to our full team than last time, we eased of in the second half to ensure that we be rested while they played it hard to the end and some of their guys would have to be sore.Control Hall, win the middle and if its full Moon-ey on Fri night we can win have , I have no doubt

The AFL are pretty desperate for Sydney to get a premiership, Sydney as a succesful club is the cornerstone of the AFL push into the Sydney market. They'll just do everything in their power to help Sydney.

And in this case it means playing at the SCG, despite the AFL's alledged decree that bums on seats count for everything. And it also means making sure the opposition have the minimum time available to recover - a six day recovery versus a seven day recovery is big difference in this caper, bigger than a seven day versus an eight day recovery.

It sucks, but that's life. If you dwell on it, it'll be the millstone that drags you down,

When I was watching the West Coast v Sydney game I was torn as to who I wanted to win. On the one hand, Sydney looked to be playing better so I thought West Coast would be good seeing we belted them a couple of weeks ago. But then towards the end of the game it looked like Sydney got the stumbles and may have run out of legs. I figured that perhaps they were already tired and would be even more so coming back from the Perth trip.

Telstra Stadium would have suited this theory because it brings the midfield run much more into it. I would have been confident had we been playing there. Now, I'm reservedly optimistic. If we can play like we did yesterday and against West Coast and Port I think we'll win.

To play devil's advocate:
The AFL is going to get much better TV coverage from playing one game Friday night and the other Saturday night.
Adelaide v Port couldn't be Friday night because of the very short break for Port.
To play Adelaide v Port on Saturday afternoon would have really hurt the TV ratings, which the AFL needs to be good this finals series as it's in the middle of negotiations for the next deal.
Rugby is contractually entitled to first dibs on Stadium Australia, which is ridiculous because it will draw nowhere near the AFL, but that's the deal in place.
I don't think the AFL had much choice.

Enough with the negative talk!
I think we are a massive chance.
We actually play pretty well at the SCG. We have won 3 of our last 6 there, so we are not without hope.

Don't forget we have never played at Telstra stadium before, so this typically strange AFL decision could be a blessing in disguise.

i will be heading up for the game and we r a chance, alot will depoend on our forards kicking a big enough score, look if the Swans play there best and we play our best they will probably win but anything can happen on the night, i hope Chapman comes back but from what i hear he is still very doubtful

LongBomb said:
We actually play pretty well at the SCG. We have won 3 of our last 6 there, so we are not without hope.

Don't forget we have never played at Telstra stadium before, so this typically strange AFL decision could be a blessing in disguise.

I think my comments might have been taken the wrong way. I was being serious that the effort we put in earlier in the year in Sydney, given all the problems at the time, was pretty good. I reckon Sydney deserves to be favourite, but there is no doubt that if we play the confident and exciting brand of footy we played yesterday, we're in with a good shot.

LongBomb said:

Yep, that's the point Bomber made. He said he would prefer to play at the SCG as our record's pretty good there, particularly given our away form in recent years.

its going to be tough, but i know we can do it...i think the boys are going to be pretty pumped, dont give up hope yet, this is most definately winable...GO CATERZ

One thing for sure is that it will not be a high scoring encounter, SCG or not.

I think that we have the backline to account for their forwards. I also think that we can counter Goodes playing in the midfield with Rooke tagging him and playing Moondog through their at times. I would say Mooney would be harder for them to match then for us to match Goodes? I mean they don't really have any tall run with players.

Our forward line of course is going to be our weakness again. Ablett will be lucky to get a touch with Barry on him. Playfair is unreliable, but then again if Swans play Roberts-Thompson on him then H has potential to be BOG. If Kingsley has his kicking boots on that may be the difference I would think, though you never know what you are going to get with him...

Midfields are even. Both like getting the hard ball, both have top class run with players and there is no lack of class...

Seriously, home ground advantage or not, I don't personally see where they could get the upper hand against us on the actual field? It will be a much different side we send up these this time around.

Jim Boy said:
And it also means making sure the opposition have the minimum time available to recover - a six day recovery versus a seven day recovery is big difference in this caper, bigger than a seven day versus an eight day recovery.

Are you forgetting that the Swans are coming back from Perth with one extra day to prepare? I don't think the extra recovery time will have any impact because of our return from a hard match in the West. That makes the recovery time even up I believe.

Besides the AFL stated "before" you won though to play us that they wanted to play this final on the Friday so its not like its a surprise to anyone that its a Friday match.

Should be an intresting game. I hope Scarlo can hold Barry down like he usually does but the SCG is a very small ground and we wont be used to playing on such a tiny field. I think this game will come down to whoever gets their midfields to kick the most goals as I dont think it will be the fowards night. Also is enright ready to come back into the side?

I'd be totally pi$$ed off with playing friday night, its just a TV decision, it could've been easily played Saturday Afternoon at SCG or Telstra Stadium.

Channel 10 into Sydney on Friday Night - the AFL just wants to knock off NRL up there.

Good luck you blokes, I hope you knock 'em off!

Since Rd 15:

In: Harley, King, Ling, S.Johnson, Rooke, Playfair, Mackie, N.Ablett

Out: Chapman, Chambers, Rahilly, Blake, Haynes, Thurley, Koulouritis, Byrnes.

Enright, DJ may come up as well.

Strawberry Pancakes said:
I would say Mooney would be harder for them to match then for us to match Goodes? I mean they don't really have any tall run with players.

If Geelong choose to play someone other than Mooney on Goodes, thus allowing Mooney to roam himself, my guess is that the Swans will try Dempster on him. He has the height and speed, and also a pretty good engine, considering he's a first year player (though in his third year on the list). He may be found a little wanting overhead, given that Mooney is a pretty good mark, but I reckon he's the most obvious choice.

What do you guys think your defensive match-ups would be. Scarlett on Hall is probable, so will Harley play on O'Loughlin? My reading of the Geelong team is that Harley doesn't particularly like playing as close to goal as he would need to on O'Loughlin.

Davis has hit a streak of golden form over the past month. Who is likely to play on him, bearing in mind he tends to wander down into the midfield quite often?

Phat said:
The SCG decision is bollocks, but i wouldn't expect anything more from the AFL.

Friday and Sat night would rate better than a Sat night and sunday arvo. TV ratings more important than a level playing field

I don't care about the venue.

The imperative issue is Geelong having to play 3 games in 13 days. Total rubbish decision.

liz said:
If Geelong choose to play someone other than Mooney on Goodes, thus allowing Mooney to roam himself, my guess is that the Swans will try Dempster on him. He has the height and speed, and also a pretty good engine, considering he's a first year player (though in his third year on the list). He may be found a little wanting overhead, given that Mooney is a pretty good mark, but I reckon he's the most obvious choice.

What do you guys think your defensive match-ups would be. Scarlett on Hall is probable, so will Harley play on O'Loughlin? My reading of the Geelong team is that Harley doesn't particularly like playing as close to goal as he would need to on O'Loughlin.

Davis has hit a streak of golden form over the past month. Who is likely to play on him, bearing in mind he tends to wander down into the midfield quite often?

Actually, I think Scarlett will take O'Loughlin if he goes to the square, thus Harley playing on Hall, though only while he pushes down the field.
I'd think Hunt on Schneider, Sanderson on Davis. We have the luxury of being able to rotate our backline if a certain player gets on top, with Rooke, Egan and Mooney all reliable defensively. I think our biggest weakness when we're at all strength has probably been matching up on smaller forwards.