Aug 26, 2004
CHANEL BOUTIQUE!
🧿 🇬🇷 "Goddess" 🇬🇷 🧿
CEO-Header+2.jpg

Hi Aph, :D

As we rapidly approach the season, I thought it would be useful to update you on a number of items…

Football

As always it has been a really busy pre-season, but the new football program has taken that to another level. Every possible moment is spent developing the players’ conditioning, their skills, their knowledge of a new game plan and their leadership.

The progress in all of these areas has been excellent, with the coaching group working incredibly hard to create real and measurable improvement(s). In particular, under Brendon’s leadership, they’ve very diligently created an elite-learning (and development) environment.

The positive ‘vibe’ throughout the summer has also been very noticeable. We were rapt with the turnout at our NAB Challenge game at Ikon Park, and even though the scoreboard read poorly with most senior players absent, the atmosphere was tremendous.

Many supporters that day were obviously keen to re-visit footy at our home ground – and relive some great memories. As a result, we will most definitely be pushing the AFL to fixture another NAB game at home next year.

The feedback from many people that day was that they were also keen to see our next generation, young draftees and new players in action.

All of them showed that day – as they have throughout the pre-season – very encouraging signs for the future. Indeed that will be the cornerstone of our season – as members and supporters know – looking for growth and ‘green shoots’ of renewal. We will keep cracking in with the learning and development of players and we will certainly not shy away from performance and results – but we all know we will need to be a little patient as we grow.

If you haven’t already, I strongly encourage you to watch our latest feature film, The Journey.

Produced internally by the Carlton Media team, The Journey provides an in-depth look at the foundations being set by Brendon and his coaching panel, as we embark on the club-wide reset.

I must take my hat off to the entire football department for granting the media team such brilliant access. I’m sure you’ll agree that it takes the fly-on-the-wall experience to another level.

The Journey can be viewed here: www.carltonfc.com.au/thejourney

Women’s Football

There’s no doubt there is something of a ‘revolution’ taking place with women’s football. As I said recently in a newspaper opinion piece, the acceleration of a women’s competition is real, and it’s for the right reason(s).

In our case, there’s a lot of work going on to broaden our club’s appeal to females of all ages as supporters, participants (players) and employees. In short, we aim to be leaders in gender equality, and so our efforts in establishing a women’s team, and a pathway for female footballers are also very real.

We are an incredibly multicultural and diverse club, and the more diverse we are, the more we grow.  

Members will already have seen and heard of initiatives across the Club which we are implementing, and there will be more to come with ‘Women of Carlton’ broadening to a ‘whole of club’ program. A little less visible are things like our behind the scenes work with government and our new partnership with the Northern Football League, where we have undertaken to support the development (and pathways) of girls footy; from under 10s through to under 18s. We also have an ongoing involvement with AFL Victoria in the development of women’s games.

We’re delighted to have recently employed Lauren Arnell, an elite player herself, to help with this work; and in the establishment of our own women’s team. We intend to put our best foot forward and be part of the competition beyond this year.

We have the facilities, obviously the expertise, the motivation and strategic drive – as well as corporates wishing to support it – to make sure we’re successful if afforded an initial team.

Membership

I sincerely thank all of you who’ve renewed your membership; and (again) welcome to our new members.

As everyone knows we have a high number of Sunday games this season, and it’s pleasing that it provides more opportunity for families to get along to the footy.

Growing membership remains one of our most important objectives as a club, and while that applies ‘across the board’, the growth in family and female membership(s) is an especially high priority. The indicators show we’re headed in the right direction, but there’s still a lot of work to do in making sure that we do everything we can to keep you as a member, and ‘convert’ the mass of Carlton supporters out there who are not yet (or have previously been) members.  

Hall of Fame

Our club’s 152-year history means the Hall of Fame event is one of the most culturally significant functions on the calendar.

On April 29 we will induct (subject to a pending Board endorsement) four new people into the Carlton Hall of Fame and elevate one ‘Hall of Famer’ to Legend status.

A Hall of Fame committee, comprising of an appropriate cross section of people from across the Club, have made that recommendation; adding to the existing 73 Hall of Fame members and 12 Legends.

We’re very keen for everyone to have an opportunity to attend the induction presentation which will be held at the Athenaeum next month. To open the event to all members of the Blues faithful, prices to attend have been set at no more than $80 per person.

It promises to be a wonderful event.

For further information please click here.

Community

Our club – and in particular our players – get involved in many community activities. As a member, I hope you’d be proud when you see or hear of our work in the local areas, or as an example Dennis Armfield winning an AFL award (the Jim Stynes medal) for such work and commitments (as he did late last year).

Our Community and Diversity team are wonderfully well lead by Shawn Wilkey.
Supported by everyone at the Club and the Club’s Foundation, they make a difference to many lives in our community, through our support of Odyssey House, Peter Mac Foundation, and Down Syndrome Victoria, to name just a few. We are also striving to do more in the prevention of family violence and put emphasis our schools program, which focusses on a ‘Sound Mind in a Sound Body’.

Over time, we’ll keep you updated about our work in these areas.

Victorian Responsible Gaming Charter

Earlier this week we finalised a partnership with the Victorian Responsible Gaming Foundation.

That it created a ‘stir’ is perplexing to say the least, and those who ‘get it’ know that it's not an ‘anti-gambling’ campaign.

It’s about leadership in responsible gambling and furthering our work in the community – particularly with young people and their understanding of the risks associated with gambling.

It is important to take a proactive role in the education of all our club stakeholders and the wider community.

We firmly believe that it's important not to be perpetuating gambling messages throughout AFL broadcasts and at our games. We signed the charter to not partner with sports betting agencies.

To join seven other AFL clubs in signing the Responsible Gambling Charter is a great show of solidarity, and we look forward to supporting the foundation’s initiatives.

…and finally, back to footy:

In advance, thank you for your support this season. As you know so well, we’ve reset so much of our football program and we’re now a relatively young and inexperienced team – but a team with much to look forward to.

Just like every other team, we can’t guarantee what the ‘W-L’ will look like this year, but we believe we can guarantee a team that is united and together, a team that is well organised, and a team that will grow and develop.

So look for that unity, for the cohesion and the ‘green shoots’ of growth, as we begin what Brendon describes as a ‘new journey’.

Regards,

TriggSignature2015small.jpg

Steven Trigg

CEO, Carlton FC
Member ID: 37387730

http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/2016-03-31/from-the-ceo

As professional athletes who are representing our club, we want them to do everything possible to ensure they get the best out of themselves, but we are not naïve to think they are immune to external peer pressures.
It has been reported our view is ‘not needing to know’ information relating to this topic. That is incorrect. We do need to know, so that we can continue (as clubs) to work with the AFL and the AFLPA on what is a seriously complex issue.

In short, Carlton is fully supportive of the AFL’s Illicit Drugs Policy, and believes this tougher, second iteration of the policy needs to be given time before being sensibly evaluated.

The latest ...............

CEO-Header+2.jpg

Hello Aph,

As always, once the season starts it races by – and we find we’re already more than a quarter of the way through it.

So, a few thoughts on our progress to date:

On-field

The wins?

The past two weeks have produced wins, which have been a terrific reward for effort, and in many ways, an affirmation that the path we’re on is a good one. Obviously there have been periods of those games where we’ve made errors (as developing sides do), but the spirit, work rate and determination to persist have all been really pleasing.

The ‘method’?

What has also been pleasing is both our defence, and our defensive method. Statistically, it’s a fact we’ve been really solid in this area; but of course we have been challenged in other ways. It’s a credit to the coaches and the playing group that we have quickly established a style of play – including a ‘team defence’ approach – that everyone has bought into. There’s been much feedback from members who say they’re enjoying watching “the way we’re playing”.

The ‘introductions’?

The Club song (following the Freo win) demonstrated how many new players have been introduced; with more of the boys inside the ‘Gatorade’ circle than out of it!

All of those new Carlton players have shown something. From Jacob Weitering’s Rising Star nomination, to the AFL debut of Charlie Curnow and the key roles of the traded-in players, we’re underway in developing the depth of our list.

The industry talks a lot about the youth of AFL lists (or otherwise), but while ours is indeed young, it’s the relative inexperience of the team(s) that we’re currently fielding that needs to be understood.

For each of the past six weeks, around half of our players in the team have played less than 30 games. And so, getting game time into our younger, less experienced players is a key part of our plans.

The challenge?

In truth, there are many challenges, but while exposing our inexperienced talent to AFL level is important, so too is managing their workload. The demands of training and games are high; and already (like many clubs) we have a few growing pains in terms of the niggles associated with that workload. So it will be a balancing act, and one of our key challenges.

In short, the first six weeks of the season have shown we’re moving ahead, we’re united and we’re getting development into our young group, but we obviously have an enormous amount of work still in front of us!

Off-field

Diversity

As you know, our club is striving to better engage with and include women (and girls) as supporters, players and as staff members.

Our bid for a women’s team in the inaugural (2017) competition was submitted last week, and regardless of the outcome, I’m really proud of the broader work that our club has been doing in engendering greater equality – and of the calibre of our bid.

Of that broader work, it’s worth knowing our club is strongly committing to a leadership role in equality and in the prevention of domestic violence in multicultural communities in Melbourne. We have corporate support and will partner with professional agencies in aiming to make a difference in raising awareness and changing behaviours.

The program is under the banner #CarltonRespects, and again, it’s with a sense of pride that we bring leadership to such an important community issue.

Post-game Social Club

Back by popular demand! The first of this year’s post-game functions for our members will be held after the Round 8 Port Adelaide game in Etihad Stadium’s Victory Room. Kids are admitted free to the game, and there will also be a kick-to-kick on the ground after the match, making it a great opportunity for a family day out.

The Journey – Part 2

Our Carlton Media team has again been given access to all areas of our football program over the first part of the season, with the next installment of ‘The Journey’ set to premiere in the week of our bye (Round 13). Stay tuned to our website for more information.

Membership

Thank you to all 2016 members for backing us in and supporting our club. We’re delighted to report we’ve exceeded last year’s membership tally, and as we aim for equality, I’m pleased to say we look like having 4-5% more women as members, or as part of family membership packages.

Again, thank you sincerely for your membership – I assure you that everyone, including our coaches and players very much appreciate your support.

Regards,

Steven Trigg

CEO, Carlton FC

How good is this guy? Any flaws he may have had that affected his time at Adelaide seem to be well and truly gone. He has grown since coming to Carlton and I am seriously impressed with the bloke. Keep.

He certainly writes an eloquent email. I'm cautious of people like that, but he's done nothing but impress since he arrived so far.

Same here. Was taken back when we signed him, but take any preconceived opinions of him out of the equation, during his time at Carlton, he hasn't put a foot wrong and must be applauded for that.

Well done to him

He certainly writes an eloquent email. I'm cautious of people like that, but he's done nothing but impress since he arrived so far.

Trigg can be eloquent but that's not what impresses me about him.

His writing style feels as though he's speaking directly to you and in my experience that mostly comes about in when you truly believe what you're saying.

Trigg is more likely to make things happen whereas previous CEO's have made it look like it will happen.........big difference.

His writing style feels as though he's speaking directly to you and in my experience that mostly comes about in when you truly believe what you're saying.
That's exactly how snake oil salesman what to project.

Not that I am suggesting he is! Results have shown otherwise so far.

That's exactly how snake oil salesman what to project.

Not that I am suggesting he is! Results have shown otherwise so far.

I think he projects himself through his letter writing and I understand he takes seriously what he says.

He's also easily the best spokesman this club has had for a long time. I don't recall anyone better for now.

CEO-Header+2.jpg

Hello Aph, :tearsofjoy:

Over summer and throughout the pre-season period we talked about what success would look like in 2016. We talked about unity, about looking for the evidence of growth (or ‘green shoots’) and about effort.

We would hope that even at zero and four, members would agree that those aspects mentioned above were all on show. There were noticeable ‘green shoots’ in terms of the way we were playing and the emergence of several new Carlton players, even though the final result(s) didn’t go our way.

Since then, and with six of the past seven weeks producing wins, that same growth is still pleasing and is a tremendous boost for the players’ self-belief. And it’s been terrific to see the enthusiastic, rowdy response from our crowds.

Obviously the more games we can get into our younger group the better – but they need to be injury free and ready.

A key point that needs to be reiterated is that we still have a very long way to go. We still need to keep developing, and we still have work to do over the next few years in terms of building the positional depth on our list. As I’ve said publicly a couple of times, while Brendon appropriately refers to ‘the journey’, the reality is that we haven’t ‘arrived yet’. In fact, we’ve barely left the station! That said, I’m sure given all the feedback we receive that everyone is proud of the way they’re going about it.

Off the field, our biggest fundraising event of the year – the 2016 Gala Ball – is looming during the (bye) break on 17 June, at Crown. All members are very welcome.

We expect more than 800 Bluebaggers (including the entire playing group) to turn out amid an array of colours, Brazilian dancers and feather boas, as we theme the night ahead of the ’16 Olympics. So we invite you to quite literally join the party.

We also await the AFL’s call on which clubs will be awarded licences to field teams in next year’s newly-established women’s competition for 2017 and beyond. We’re told an announcement is expected around the middle of June. We remain very hopeful that the AFL will see our capacity and willingness to help grow the game – and indeed grow our club’s leadership in equality and grant us one of those inaugural licences.

A quick reflection too on the recently-convened Hall of Fame evening at The Athenaeum Theatre on Collins Street. It was a wonderful occasion and fitting that Scott Camporeale, Mil Hanna, Ian Robertson, Sergio Silvagni and the late Jack Wrout should be honoured in such a way.

Just as importantly, the Hall of Fame night provided an opportunity for us to invite and extend our thanks to a number of loyal members (40+ years) who would have marvelled at the likes of ‘Robbo’ and ‘Serge’ throughout their playing days.

In our Community space we’re also growing and are excited by our involvement in a number of projects. We’re progressing our partnership with Our Watch and the Luke Batty Foundation in developing a program that focuses on the prevention of family violence in multicultural communities (#CarltonRespects). Our school(s) program (Sound Mind, Sound Body) continues to build, and our activities in the AFL’s Sir Doug Nicholls Indigenous Round (including the acknowledgement to Sir Doug Nicholls) all create greater inclusion and underline our diversity.

To those members of many years, and as always to all those who have taken up their memberships in the years since, I assure you that everyone, including our coaches and players, very much values your loyalty and support.

Go Blues!

Regards,

Steven Trigg

CEO, Carlton FC

Loves a good parentheses, does old mate Triggy.

Gives great email :thumbsu: . I like the mix of parentheses and commas; keeps him accurate without costing him readability.

In the job: savvy enough to realise that Bolton needs a fair chunk of what might normally be the CEO's turf, and smart enough to facilitate it. Like the coach, he shares credit but owns blame, and I like it :thumbsu:. Sounds simple, and is pretty standard practice in a lot of management settings, but seems to be bloody rare in footy. I guess it is an industry full of egos, after all.

Hahaha my boss likes to say 'she gives great phone' after chatting to someone with a nice voice and phone manner.

We used to say it aboput the spruikers and smooth presenters, who 'gave great sliiide' :cool:. And it still works, even in the PowerPoint era :thumbsu:.

But one of the best things about Trigg is that he embodies the Club paying attention to getting the little things right. Good communication is a platitude mouthed by many, but it comprises both message and technique, and for the first time in a long time, I think the Club has both. I was bloody dubious when Trigg was hired, but I'll admit to being wrong: he's been extremely impressive, and a credit to the Board. I've been particularly impressed by his lack of complacency regarding the Club's financial position (long overdue, I reckon), and although I'd like to see a more proactive approach to fundraising, it's indisputable that improved on-field results is much the simplest and most effective way to get that ball rolling. Trigg understands his role is to add value to that (by pitching for 2017 fixturing that will bring in more dollars, and so on), and I think that's really good.

Lo Guidice and the board deserve plenty of kudos as well, not just for establishing the processes the resulted in the recruitment of Bolton and Trigg, but also for having the sense (and the lack of ego) to stay out of the way since. It is great to see McKay, Bolton and Silvagni with autonomy in running the footy department, Trigg being given a free hand to remodel the administration of the Club for the 21st century, and Board understanding that their function is to resource those activities without interference. MLG seems to understand that he doesn't need to big-note himself: the Club's success, when it comes, will inevitably reflect on him :thumbsu:.

I got a text message last week - invite to join Kate Jenkins and Trigg "to play an active part in discussions that contribute to our Club's future".

I registered my interest but haven't heard back yet. It's a forum of female members to discuss female membership engagement. Round or kitchen table format.

It's inconveniently during working hours but if I got a spot, I'd try and wangle a day off work. Although they did say they are planning additional events like this.

Wondering if anyone else got the text, or has ideas that they'd like put In the mix. I'd happily put forward BigFooty Blues collective ideas about growing the club's membership. Female or any male with a female relationship in their life - mother, sister, partner, cousin, co-worker, or daughter...

:) There's potential blue baggers everywhere.

I got a text message last week - invite to join Kate Jenkins and Trigg "to play an active part in discussions that contribute to our Club's future".

I registered my interest but haven't heard back yet. It's a forum of female members to discuss female membership engagement. Round or kitchen table format.

It's inconveniently during working hours but if I got a spot, I'd try and wangle a day off work. Although they did say they are planning additional events like this.

Wondering if anyone else got the text, or has ideas that they'd like put In the mix. I'd happily put forward BigFooty Blues collective ideas about growing the club's membership. Female or any male with a female relationship in their life - mother, sister, partner, cousin, co-worker, or daughter...

:) There's potential blue baggers everywhere.
There were initial discussions in regards to this earlier in the year when the Women of Carlton coterie group was dismantled and promises were made about a process through which a new setup was installed.

Based on discussions with those who setup said coterie group, a solid question to go with "why have you chosen to disband WoC?"

No doubt the answer will deal with concepts like 'being inclusive', but the follow-up is then pretty easy "WoC was inclusive, and was intended as a safe space for women to socialise and meet similarly passionate Carlton supporters. Why can't any future initiatives still include these kinds of supporter and coterie groups as an alternate pathway for supporters and now, perhaps, future Carlton players?"

From what I understand, Trigg and others have been undermining the WoC group during this process. Perhaps there's a perception they might be part of the problem if they continue on as in the past, but I think they have that wrong, and they might find themselves with a bigger problem into the future if people start smelling smoke.

There were initial discussions in regards to this earlier in the year when the Women of Carlton coterie group was dismantled and promises were made about a process through which a new setup was installed.

Based on discussions with those who setup said coterie group, a solid question to go with "why have you chosen to disband WoC?"

No doubt the answer will deal with concepts like 'being inclusive', but the follow-up is then pretty easy "WoC was inclusive, and was intended as a safe space for women to socialise and meet similarly passionate Carlton supporters. Why can't any future initiatives still include these kinds of supporter and coterie groups as an alternate pathway for supporters and now, perhaps, future Carlton players?"

From what I understand, Trigg and others have been undermining the WoC group during this process. Perhaps there's a perception they might be part of the problem if they continue on as in the past, but I think they have that wrong, and they might find themselves with a bigger problem into the future if people start smelling smoke.

i remember that. This might be the initiative to reshape the old WoC then. If I get the opportunity, might make a point about not ditching our history and continuing to engage with women's groups who provided a place for women in the club. Thanks Jimmae

Particularly pertinent now more than ever with the addition of a womens team.

One club, no doubt, but there's got to be a way to open more doors for women's involvement in the two teams / one club and give the not only the women's team but whole club the best chance of success, and maximising involvement is a big help.

News From the CEO's Desk 2016