Fixture Full 2024 AFL fixture released. News and leaks.

The fixture is what it is, if you win the flag you will get a tougher draw, it's hilarious to see the Collingwood fans whinge no matter what the fixture dishes up. Geelong still only get 9 games at home, 9 teams in a 18 team comeptiton have to go there, Collingwood will eventually play at the cattery in coming years. North fans complain they are going down there again, but that is a result of their current low position, make the 8 and the AFL might schedule a Marvel game and the Roos might miss the trip down the highway for a year or two? Cats go to the Gabba again, but once again no return match at KP. They also only play the Eagles once in the LAST game of the season! The fixture is not the main issue, being good enough to win anywhere still is.

Is there a reason post Kennett curse that this game is reversed for Cats/Hawks?

Biased but I don't see why not?

Still bitter rivals. Still mostly very good games. Last year, for example, Hawthorn rolled the eventual premiers in one of their very few losses by 12 points in a see sawing contest. The year before, Geelong won by just 5 points with one of the last kicks of the game. A great many have been decided by under a goal over its short history.

And of course, what the AFL cares about - the TV ratings are very strong (much stronger than previous Easter Monday iterations) and the crowd remains very strong - averaging about 70K and 2 winless teams still getting 65K+ this year.

Wonder why we never double up vs Essendon?

I reckon it's even weirder that Hawthorn never double up against Essendon (once in the last 9 years!).

Traditional, bitter rivals that hate each other. Similar(ish) positions on the ladder for a while now.

Last time out, drew 69K. Why wouldn't the AFL want to do a double up - especially when we keep playing in Round 1 and then not again for the rest of the season?

Seems weird to me.

and annoying given Essendon always seem to start the year on fire before falling away and Hawthorn do the exact opposite so only getting them first week of the season makes the L much more likely with no chance of redemption.

Geelong "sell" home games to the MCG
Hawks "sell" home games to Tassie
We don't sell home games to the MCG. We lose money on MCG games. The only reason we have to play games in Melbourne is because the AFL has a contract for 45 games at each venue (90 total), but let's the 9 Melbourne teams (with their 99 home games) sell more than 9 home games away from Melbourne. We are forced to pick up the contractual shortfall, just as Collingwood and Richmond have to by playing home games at Marvel. Nothing is sold, we don't benefit financially from games at the MCG.

Since 2000, no Victorian team plays all of its 11 home games at a single preferred home ground.
Carlton and Essendon chose to be Docklands tenants and have since changed their tune, so them playing a split of home games at Docklands/MCG is by choice, whether they like to admit it or not

The AFL wanted Hawthorn to play a 7/4 split MCG/Docklands which is why they ended up selling four games to Tassie (plus they needed the money to survive). Generally play a 6/1 split in Melbourne so whilst one game is not at their preferred ground (MCG), their balance sheet can cop it and complaining is a bit rich.

Melbourne play 10 games at the G and one in NT (where they get paid $$$). So can hardly complain.

Dogs/Saints/North would all play 11 games at Docklands if not for selling games interstate or to ballarat. Whether they like playing at Docklands or not, that's the venue they all chose to move to. Should be no complaints here.

Collingwood/Richmond/Geelong are the only clubs that have their home games forcibly moved due to the AFL incompetence by letting contractural obligations force them to fixture games away from the home teams venue (MCG/Geelong respectively). Whilst all the other clubs somewhat benefit financially from selling home games etc, we have to cop the loss in revenue for moving a game away from where we want to play (and yes, a full 40k crowd at KP makes the same money as 90k at the G which a Geelong home game never reaches). Playing at marvel is effectively burning cash.

Yes but there’s a difference between (a) selling home games as a commercial arrangement and (b) being told by the league you have to play some of your home games elsewhere.

You can’t just put quotation marks around the word “sell” and pretend they’re the same thing.
Which scenario are Rich, Melbourne, Collingwood, Hawthorn, Essendon, Carlton in?

The league wont fixture all 11 home games at a single ground, the league makes them play games elsewhere (option B) which is for the leagues commercial arrangements. A couple of clubs then decide to sell these fake home games for their own commercial reasons (option A).

Geelong want to be involved in stand alone public holiday MCG blockbusters like Easter Monday, is that an option A or B in your scenario?

We don't sell home games to the MCG. We lose money on MCG games. The only reason we have to play games in Melbourne is because the AFL has a contract for 45 games at each venue (90 total), but let's the 9 Melbourne teams (with their 99 home games) sell more than 9 home games away from Melbourne. We are forced to pick up the contractual shortfall, just as Collingwood and Richmond have to by playing home games at Marvel. Nothing is sold, we don't benefit financially from games at the MCG.

Carlton and Essendon chose to be Docklands tenants and have since changed their tune, so them playing a split of home games at Docklands/MCG is by choice, whether they like to admit it or not

The AFL wanted Hawthorn to play a 7/4 split MCG/Docklands which is why they ended up selling four games to Tassie (plus they needed the money to survive). Generally play a 6/1 split in Melbourne so whilst one game is not at their preferred ground (MCG), their balance sheet can cop it and complaining is a bit rich.

Melbourne play 10 games at the G and one in NT (where they get paid $$$). So can hardly complain.

Dogs/Saints/North would all play 11 games at Docklands if not for selling games interstate or to ballarat. Whether they like playing at Docklands or not, that's the venue they all chose to move to. Should be no complaints here.

Collingwood/Richmond/Geelong are the only clubs that have their home games forcibly moved due to the AFL incompetence by letting contractural obligations force them to fixture games away from the home teams venue (MCG/Geelong respectively). Whilst all the other clubs somewhat benefit financially from selling home games etc, we have to cop the loss in revenue for moving a game away from where we want to play (and yes, a full 40k crowd at KP makes the same money as 90k at the G which a Geelong home game never reaches). Playing at marvel is effectively burning cash.
Melbourne's contract with the MCG is for 10 home games, if we didnt play in Alice it would be a Marvel home game.

We can't really complain as we have 14 games at the G which is the most we have had in over a decade at least. Also dont have a game at the Pub Ground in Geeeeelong which is the first time that has happened since 2017 and only the second time in 15 years.

Our little Adelaide holiday is a tad annoying with a 5 day break from Port game on Saturday to Crows on Thursday night.

You benefit commercially from blockbuster exposure that stand alone public holiday games like Easter Monday provide.
So the AFL ensuring clubs have exposure at multiple venues is ok if it involves a Melbourne based club, ie Hawks and Dons being given 7/4 splits, Pies 9/2 but not ok for Geelong to get a 9/2 split.

Geelong's balance sheet can cop it, so a bit rich to keep complaining.
It used to be two away, 1 alice and 1 darwin. But AFL complicit on Gold Coast pushing in on Darwin now.

It was ok for Melbourne to complain about 2 games away from preferred home, but not ok to complain about 1?
Yeah if they were given a sweet heart deal and clean stadium like Geelong then would be no complaints.

But unlike Geelong they cop a commercial shortfall for games that only draw 25-30k.

So they face a decision do they prioritise commercial interests over football department? The sad reality for Melbourne based clubs is commercial wins out...unlike Geelong who get the double with a 25k crowd at Cat Park, football advantage and $.
All Vic clubs get compromised fixtures as a result of AFL stadium deals.

Geelong get 9 genuine home games at their unique home ground where they enjoy a full home advantage and make money hand over fist....similar to the non-vic team advantage.

Compared to Melbourne based teams who are lucky to get one or two games against an opponent playing their only game at the venue and often lose money to host the travelling team.

But unlike the non-vic teams, Geelong then get 6 away games at the GF venue so are extremely familiar with the ground and barely travel...just 7 games where they go out of state, 3 of which their opponent is also travelling!!

Ergo Cats get the best deal of any club in the league...but their fans sook about getting blockbuster games at the G!!

Just wondering, is the cats playing the hawks at gmhba the first step to Geelong losing the Easter Monday home game?
Don't see why it would be. The Easter Monday game is a clear winner: is delivers average crowds way beyond what you'd expect from two non-big four clubs.

Which scenario are Rich, Melbourne, Collingwood, Hawthorn, Essendon, Carlton in?

B, B (apart from the Alice Springs game), B, A, B, B

The league wont fixture all 11 home games at a single ground, the league makes them play games elsewhere (option B) which is for the leagues commercial arrangements. A couple of clubs then decide to sell these fake home games for their own commercial reasons (option A).

The MCG tenants all play 1 home game at Marvel don’t they? That’s very different from Hawthorn selling 4 home games to Tasmania. I didn’t think that was a difficult concept.

Geelong want to be involved in stand alone public holiday MCG blockbusters like Easter Monday, is that an option A or B in your scenario?

That one game would probably be option A. Are there other stand alone public holiday MCG blockbusters that Geelong plays?

The fixture is what it is, if you win the flag you will get a tougher draw, it's hilarious to see the Collingwood fans whinge no matter what the fixture dishes up. Geelong still only get 9 games at home, 9 teams in a 18 team comeptiton have to go there, Collingwood will eventually play at the cattery in coming years. North fans complain they are going down there again, but that is a result of their current low position, make the 8 and the AFL might schedule a Marvel game and the Ros might miss the trip down the highway for a year or two? Cats go to the Gabba again, but once again no return match at KP. They also only play the Eagles once in the LAST game of the season! The fixture is not the main issue, being good enough to win anywhere still is.

Exactly, my mob should embrace our young team experiencing different grounds, crowds, experiences etc.. pays off down the track.

We meed to force the AFLs hand through success of the field if we want things to change.

The fixture is what it is, if you win the flag you will get a tougher draw, it's hilarious to see the Collingwood fans whinge no matter what the fixture dishes up. Geelong still only get 9 games at home, 9 teams in a 18 team comeptiton have to go there, Collingwood will eventually play at the cattery in coming years. North fans complain they are going down there again, but that is a result of their current low position, make the 8 and the AFL might schedule a Marvel game and the Roos might miss the trip down the highway for a year or two? Cats go to the Gabba again, but once again no return match at KP. They also only play the Eagles once in the LAST game of the season! The fixture is not the main issue, being good enough to win anywhere still is.
Collingwood are immune from the 'big club who is s**t gets fixtured to play in Geelong', no game there since 1999. Carlton, Essendon and Richmond have all played multiple times in Geelong over the past 5-6 years, usually when they stink or are expected to stink (see Richmond 2017 and now 2024, Carlton 2018/19/20, Bombers 2021, 2023). Think next year will be the Dogs 10th time playing there since 2012.

B, B (apart from the Alice Springs game), B, A, B, B
So you note the majority of Melbourne teams are effectively told where your the game will be fixtured.

Isnt this what Geelong complain about?
The MCG tenants all play 1 home game at Marvel don’t they? That’s very different from Hawthorn selling 4 home games to Tasmania. I didn’t think that was a difficult concept.
They have different arrangement and splits.
Pies have 9/2 MCG
Dons have 7/4 Marvel

The smaller less financially secure clubs, like Melb, Haw and Rich back in the early 2000s then opt to "sell" some Marvel "home" games.

It was never a choice of an MCG game or a NT, QLD or Tassie game...as after introduction of Marvel, the AFL never fixtured Melbourne or Richmond with 11 MCG home games.

So Geelong get a 9/2 split...big deal.
That one game would probably be option A. Are there other stand alone public holiday MCG blockbusters that Geelong plays?
Geelong fans will tell you it is an option B, they are "forced" to play the Easter Monday game at the G...

It is unfair they rotate who is the nominal home team, despite this being pretty standard for the big MCG blockbusters - AnZAC day, AnZac eve, Dreamtime, KBday, KBday eve, Opening Rd etc.

They also came up with the "Country" game with Essendon, another annual game at the G where they rotate who the home team is.

Screenshot_20231117_142205_Samsung Internet.jpg

Yet Cat fans decide to complain that they play in MCG blockbusters...tis more than a bit rich.

Imagine a Kangas or Saints fan complaining that they got to play the Hawks every year on Easter Monday at the G!!

Collingwood are immune from the 'big club who is s**t gets fixtured to play in Geelong', no game there since 1999. Carlton, Essendon and Richmond have all played multiple times in Geelong over the past 5-6 years, usually when they stink or are expected to stink (see Richmond 2017 and now 2024, Carlton 2018/19/20, Bombers 2021, 2023). Think next year will be the Dogs 10th time playing there since 2012.
Now they can hold 40,000 spectators at KP, Collingwood will be going down there every few years or so...It's a different venue since 1999.

Geelong does not make a loss with 70k on Easter Monday’s or 80k v Pies/Blues. This is untrue. Do the sums.

The problem is if they start giving all home games to Geelong at KP, they will then start demanding home finals there.

That is a bridge too far imo.

I think there was a final in Geelong maybe 10 years ago, admitedly it was against the Dockers, but the precedent has been set.
And that was before KP was expanded to allow for a bigger crowd.

If Geelong were to finish in a position where they were entitled to a home final in the first week of the finals, especially against a non Vic club, I don't think most would have an issue with it being at Kardinia.

Still think the last round should be EPL style, 9 games all at once. Unpopular I know but it works. Get rid of that ridiculous pre-finals bye.

Games at the MCG, Docklands, Geelong, Ballarat, Adelaide, Perth, Sydney, Queensland and Tassie.

Get it done AD v2.0
No. I don't want to miss out on watching a thriller because I have to watch a dead rubber between my team and Port instead.

I think there was a final in Geelong maybe 10 years ago, admitedly it was against the Dockers, but the precedent has been set.

If Geelong were to finish in a position where they were entitled to a home final in the first week of the finals, especially against a non Vic club, I don't think most would have an issue with it being at Kardinia.

Would you then be prepared to play an away final at Marvel against us or Saints if we were entitled to a home final?

That's not really fair on the competing non Victorian club though tbh

It was back in 2013 when week 1 finals were to be hosted by the following teams, and back when there was no Thursday finals.

Hawthorn (minor premier)
Geeling (2nd)
Richmond (5th)
Collingwood (6th)

Too hard to get 4 MCG games in, unless went a dbl header on Saturday.

As finals are about maximising crowds, they put the MCG tenants at the G and the left over game Geel v Freo was sent down the highway....as deemed that wouldnt really get a bigger crowd at Marvel. They got 33k at Cat Park and all the MCG games were 50k+

Week 2, when Geelong was the only game it was back at the G and they got 52K v Port.

Just like 2023, Saints played GWS at the G to enable 68k fans pack in.

But with the Thursday night final, they could host four MCG finals in week1 if required.