Future guns!!!!!!!

Pepi

Sep 28, 2003
Been down watching the Falcons pre season training looks like there could be a few potential draftees next year. Has anyone seen or heard of Danny Stanley, Travis Boak, Clinton Bartram, Shaun Higgins, Reece Cordy, Che Turner, Chris Shrimpton and Josh Eddy. What are your thoughts on these guys and are any a chance to be drafted?

Pepi said:
Been down watching the Falcons pre season training looks like there could be a few potential draftees next year. Has anyone seen or heard of Danny Stanley, Travis Boak, Clinton Bartram, Shaun Higgins, Reece Cordy, Che Turner, Chris Shrimpton and Josh Eddy. What are your thoughts on these guys and are any a chance to be drafted?
YEah heard of em, and played against some. Bartram will be good.

I'll tell you who is a future gun.

Kid by the name of Shaun Dalton, doing a pre season with the Dandenong Stingrays, just an unbeleiveable athlete and is easily the best mark i have ever seen.

has any1 heard of brad sutcliffe plays for western jets only light frame but he can seriously play was out for 10 weeks wid O.P but played in the allies at the end of the year

CaTeR said:
has any1 heard of brad sutcliffe plays for western jets only light frame but he can seriously play was out for 10 weeks wid O.P but played in the allies at the end of the year
Yeah saw him play for the Jets in Round 8 this year, like you say very skinny. I thought his kicking was a bit ordinary but he did use his left anfdright, if he had OP maybe that was the reason?

Pepi said:
I've only seen Josh Eddy in the game where Falcons beat Calder. Matt Little was going well up forward and they moved Eddy onto him, did alright.

footyman said:
Yeah saw him play for the Jets in Round 8 this year, like you say very skinny. I thought his kicking was a bit ordinary but he did use his left anfdright, if he had OP maybe that was the reason?

Must of been bad day for him the times ive seem him has hit a target very well tends to hook it around his body though played on ben sharp and gave him a bath

CaTeR said:
footyman said:
Must of been bad day for him the times ive seem him has hit a target very well tends to hook it around his body though played on ben sharp and gave him a bath
Was at Pt Gelllibrand, probably blowing a gale. Kicked a nice long goal off a step that day though.

Will be interesting to see how Tyquin, Houli and Morelli go next year. Morelli's a terrific mark for his height, I think he's exciting to watch.

If you are talking about the Shaun Dalton who lives in Aspendale and goes to Maranatha Christian School then you're wrong, he won't be a superstar.
Agreed that he is an athlete, and a very good one, and is very strong, courageous and a great mark, but the kid cannot kick straight to save himself! I went to school with him, he was in the year under me, we played in the same football team for Maranatha.
He's a good player but no way near AFL material!

Cheers,
Slick

I know this kid by the name of Adam Prior from the Murray Bushrangers who was gun under 16 player and in one game early this year took a shed load of marks at chf in the TAC Cup, but by the end of the season wasn't even mentioned in draft talks.
What has happened?
His body shape is not very athletic, granted, but he has got a great footy brain.
At the end of the year he played seniors for North Albury in the Ovens and Murray and he figured high in their best players in a losing gf team in the Border Mail wrap of the game and I agree with the bloke who did the best players.
He has got another year at the Bushies, but if he was overlooked this year wot r his future prospects?

Slick said:
If you are talking about the Shaun Dalton who lives in Aspendale and goes to Maranatha Christian School then you're wrong, he won't be a superstar.
Agreed that he is an athlete, and a very good one, and is very strong, courageous and a great mark, but the kid cannot kick straight to save himself! I went to school with him, he was in the year under me, we played in the same football team for Maranatha.
He's a good player but no way near AFL material!

Cheers,
Slick

Granted, he needs improvement on some areas, but he is that athletic, i'm sure many would be happy to work with him. You say he is very strong, has courage and a great mark, which is spot on. He also has work ethic with only kicking his main let down. Explosive off the mark too and has alot of development to go in his body. He played a few reserves games for Edithvale/Aspendale this season, straight after U18 games and tore it up in one, getting 3 league votes.

Fair effort IMO, but time will tell.

Dalton is an athlete........................ oh, and can mark alright.

That's about it.

This area won't have many good draftees due to the alcohol, drug and drag scene in this area.

I've played with a couple of teenagers who would of at least been in Dandy's starting 22, but due to their personal lives they do only the odd thing in the nepean+peninsula u18's.

And the ones that do put more effort into their footy are still tied up in the scene.

MadRyan said:
I'll tell you who is a future gun.

Kid by the name of Shaun Dalton, doing a pre season with the Dandenong Stingrays, just an unbeleiveable athlete and is easily the best mark i have ever seen.

Wrong.. Shaun won't be a gun, I also went to school with him, Watch Mark Rutanno from the Dandy Stingrays, Tall Ruckman who's body is starting to fill out, never misses a tap. Also Shaun Daltons younger brother Joel is the more likely to make it at AFL level than Shaun.

Tom Holmes from SA mount gambier Plays for Glenelg under 17s is only fifthteen and gets best player every game one of me mates he is gone to live up in adelaide now to play for Prince Alfred College he got a scolarship keep remembering that name he is quick and chases heaps well almost as good on his left than his right and can go where angels fear to tread down in mount gambier hes the only player i reckon will make it far Cheers

Hammerfire said:
Dalton is an athlete........................ oh, and can mark alright.

That's about it.

This area won't have many good draftees due to the alcohol, drug and drag scene in this area.

I've played with a couple of teenagers who would of at least been in Dandy's starting 22, but due to their personal lives they do only the odd thing in the nepean+peninsula u18's.

And the ones that do put more effort into their footy are still tied up in the scene.

People percive Edithvale to be a big trouble zone, i beg to differ.

Time will tell with Dalton however. ;)

Edithvale is surrounded by Chelsea, Chelsea Heights, Mordialloc and Aspendale, the place doesn't have a chance.

Angwin is from the Chelsea area i believe.

And another name to throw up, a guy called Matt Freeman was doing dam good a year or so ago, but i'm not sure if he'll play for Sandy or Dandy.

Hammerfire said:
Edithvale is surrounded by Chelsea, Chelsea Heights, Mordialloc and Aspendale, the place doesn't have a chance.

Angwin is from the Chelsea area i believe.

And another name to throw up, a guy called Matt Freeman was doing dam good a year or so ago, but i'm not sure if he'll play for Sandy or Dandy.

No chance? To my knowlage, combined, there is about 14 guys at Rays pre season currently from either the Edithvale/Keysy/Chelsea/Aspendale/Mordi area.

I dont think Shaun Dalton has touched Alchohol in his life, he is probably one of the most commited players i have seen. He is definatly an athlete but can play, he stands at 187cm 80kg but definatly has a frame which could get him up to about 89kg.

Other players to watch out for: Jason Ferraro, Ben Kelly, Tim Mannix.

MadRyan said:
No chance? To my knowlage, combined, there is about 14 guys at Rays pre season currently from either the Edithvale/Keysy/Chelsea/Aspendale/Mordi area.

Doesn't have a chance against the grog/drug scene!

I think Dalton's a good boy, bible basher??