Game Day- Freo v Hawks

• Thread starter Thread starter Tazmania

Several things stood out to me during todays game.

1. At one point there was a docker on the ground fighting for the ball, two Hawthorn players trying to rip the ball out and four dockers players standing around flat footed looking on. Showed a complete lack of desire for the ball. Literally theyt were just standing by the contest doing nothing.

2. Our tackling was deplorable, very few tackles sticking and virtually no follow up. Total lack of intensity.

3.I noticed one Hawthorn player streaming forward at 3/4 pace and his docker player was about 5m behind and making no effort to b ridge the gap. So guess what - easy mark to the Hawthorn player and ultimately a goal.

4. Too many dockers standing around looking/appealing for a free kick. Note to you Mr Crowley - if the ump hasn't awarded a kick your appeal is not going to change his mind.

This one was annoying yesterday. I saw Johnson turn his back on the pack to appeal to the umpire, meanwhile the ball squirts out the pack and his opponent dives in for it. Luckily for Johnson, there was a ball up just after. But it was pathetic, as bad his pointing.

3.I noticed one Hawthorn player streaming forward at 3/4 pace and his docker player was about 5m behind and making no effort to b ridge the gap. So guess what - easy mark to the Hawthorn player and ultimately a goal.

I can't see why it would be part of the game plan... but yesterday I saw 2 freo players that actually gave their opponents about 10m gap on them. It was like they were trying to position themselves in a "zone" like this

Freo Goal side ------ Freo Player <10m gap> Hawks Player <10m gap> Freo Player <10m gap> Hawks Player ---- Hawks goal side

They were pointing to each other like "yeah cover that gap". Of course 10 seconds later the hawks player closer to goal ran off, marked the ball and had an inside 50. Both the players could have decided to actually man up, but they chose not to and Hawks had an inside 50. Not sure how this is a game plan exactly but I thought it was interesting. Is Ross Lyon expecting the Freo player to pay attention and bridge the 10m gap if a close player is involved ? I think you need leg speed to do that.

Have to move away from using Crowley in the middle.

It's been said for years, so much so that it is actually getting tiresome.

There was a stat on it in one of the footy records earlier this season. He was the worst clearance player in the AFL last season i.e. the chance of us winning the clearance when he was involved in the stoppage were lower than that of any other player in the AFL with as many involvements. Given he was also ranked in the top few players across the AFL for 'stoppage involvements' it was fan-****ing-tastic strategy.

How Lyon & Stone haven't figured this out yet is beyond me.

Take the Carlton game as an example. Widely considered as a great game by Crowley. Look at it deeper though, Judd had the same number of contested possessions as usual. It was his uncontested possessions that were down. Crowley was closing him down in open play. Why then, does Crowley have to line up on him at stoppages? Crowley's not winning the ball, he's not stopping Judd winning the ball.

So long as we're lining up with a midfield of Crowley, Pearce and Broughton to start a quarter, I reckon you can say we've failed to build the midfield.

I'm a Lyon fan, but that is just terrible coaching as much as anything.

I have memories (I think it was John Kennedy) appealing to his Hawthorn players as they were getting thrashed - Well, none of you have done anything for three quarters so now get out there and DO SOMETHING. Hit the ball forward,take a mark,shepherd, make a tackle then at least you can say - I did something in the last quarter. THEY WON!

I feel we need some emotion like that instilled into our players.

I have memories (I think it was John Kennedy) appealing to his Hawthorn players as they were getting thrashed - Well, none of you have done anything for three quarters so now get out there and DO SOMETHING. Hit the ball forward,take a mark,shepherd, make a tackle then at least you can say - I did something in the last quarter. THEY WON!

I feel we need some emotion like that instilled into our players.

They didn't win.That speech was during the 1975 GF won by 55 points by the Kangas.

It's been said for years, so much so that it is actually getting tiresome.

There was a stat on it in one of the footy records earlier this season. He was the worst clearance player in the AFL last season i.e. the chance of us winning the clearance when he was involved in the stoppage were lower than that of any other player in the AFL with as many involvements. Given he was also ranked in the top few players across the AFL for 'stoppage involvements' it was fan-****ing-tastic strategy.

How Lyon & Stone haven't figured this out yet is beyond me.

Take the Carlton game as an example. Widely considered as a great game by Crowley. Look at it deeper though, Judd had the same number of contested possessions as usual. It was his uncontested possessions that were down. Crowley was closing him down in open play. Why then, does Crowley have to line up on him at stoppages? Crowley's not winning the ball, he's not stopping Judd winning the ball.

I'm a Lyon fan, but that is just terrible coaching as much as anything.

Funny thing is that Crowley has mongrel, one of the few on our list that does. Maybe Lower as well. We actually need that out there at the moment.

I tell you right now. Clarke will be better then Naitanui.

First of all i want to say yes I am trolling and secondly I never post on this site but I just can't not respond to this. Do u really believe that clark will be better then nicnat ??? Come on mate take off your rose colour'd glasses and look about he is at the moment half the footballer and will only ever be half as good. When I first mOved to wa I didn't mind freo but everyone said wait till you hear there supporters and within 4 weeks I no wat he means you are truly delusional. I thought ross Lyon would be a good fit for your mob but I'm afraid you just don't have the cattle.

Clarke is better than Sandilands, Cox at the same age, Nic Nat is a very good tap ruckmen, and explosive for parts of the game.
He would struggle without Cox who is always consistent.
Having good midfielders around the ball makes the ruckmens job easier.
When Morabito, Fyfe, Lower, are all in the same team, we may actually win some clearances.

First of all i want to say yes I am trolling and secondly I never post on this site but I just can't not respond to this. Do u really believe that clark will be better then nicnat ??? Come on mate take off your rose colour'd glasses and look about he is at the moment half the footballer and will only ever be half as good. When I first mOved to wa I didn't mind freo but everyone said wait till you hear there supporters and within 4 weeks I no wat he means you are truly delusional. I thought ross Lyon would be a good fit for your mob but I'm afraid you just don't have the cattle.

I had a feeling this state had gotten dumber (and less literate) in recent times, now I have my proof.

FWIW, I don't think Clarke will be better than NicNat, but who knows really? He may well be. Clarke in full flight has shown a massive upside and more natural footy smarts than NN (not hard), but NN is the and I mean THE best athlete I've seen on a Footy field and that will take him a long way.

some would call it optimistic....additionally it shits eagles fan no end if we talk ourselves up whilst denigrating theirs so you'll find most of this is just silly one upmanship.

Whats truly delusional is the Melbourne media talking up hawthorn every preseason as flag favorites...when everyone knows they turn to shit sometime around round 4.