Gameday thread: Hawthorn vs Kangaroos

Another miss by Croady:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Alright fellas, it's half time, 31 points down,what do we do?
Any key matchups we need to change?

mk, well i might be inclined to bring on Mitchell and Franklin, lol

well is ther much we can do besides pull our act together?

Shocking first half.

I reckon that the umpires have got something to do with this. A couple of times the hawks were taken high and didn't get a free kick.

mk, well i might be inclined to bring on Mitchell and Franklin, lol

well is ther much we can do besides pull our act together?
LOL, great idea, why didn't Clarko think of that!?
I'm pretty sure we get our act together, lets just hope we don't do it when it's too late like last week.

Absolutely shocking in the first half... Cant believe we can miss soo many chances at goal.

Looks like a 10 goal loss today and out of the top 4

This is hard to watch. Don't mind going down gallantly but this is ugly and C grade footy.

AC needs to address the structure. Everytime we take possession of the ball we are indecisisive. The key reason for this is that the midfield and centre half forward structure is shot to pieces. Hard to see this on TV but its clear as daylight when you are at the game.
The ball carrier has no options up the ground so they handball backwards and often to someone under pressure. They rely too heavily on carrying the ball across the midfield.

AC often speaks about the side learning....I'd like to see them learn a different gameplan. The oppositions have obviously worked us out.

Man, this is not looking good. How many times have we turned the ball over!? Think Spudd said we missed 5 set shots in the first half, 2 Out on the full.

Blokes like sewell, bateman not using the ball well, they dont look like themselves.

Jordy Lewis in the book, looked open handed, but didnt get a 2nd view on it due to fox sports apperntly not being able to show a replay when someone gets reported. Anyone listening to SEN, did they give an proper insight to what happened and if theyres danger of a suspension?

Hated when the commentators said "this is 3rd versus 4th if you didnt know"

We are not a finals side. We can't take the pressure and our skills are those of a bottom side. Roughead and Croads kicking is a disgrace. Hodge has lost his composure to often (missed a sitter, a wild hack off the ground), too many giving away stupid frees and 50's. Second to the ball trying to show we are tough and playing the man. The nonesense handballs and missing targets when under no pressure......

It can't as bad in the second half .......can it??????

Are they showing the Hawks from 2007 or are we watching a game from a few years ago.
Their skill level and kicking is from last year.

Another miss by Croady:mad:

Alright fellas, it's half time, 31 points down,what do we do?
Any key matchups we need to change?

Matchups!?!?!?!? Who gives a flying FCUK about the matchups when our kicking is equal to that of an Auskick under 9s team!!!!!!

Seriously, what have the boys been doing at training for the past 7 months???!!!???!!! Best Ground, best conditions, best surface = 4 billion turnovers?!?!:thumbsd::thumbsd:

If kicking and handpassing is not the only thing the boys work on at training this week, Ill be calling for ACs sacking personally!!!

The last few weeks, our disposal has been a ****ing disgrace to put it nicely (including kicking for goal)...

We win this - God is real!

This is hard to watch. Don't mind going down gallantly but this is ugly and C grade footy.

AC needs to address the structure. Everytime we take possession of the ball we are indecisisive. The key reason for this is that the midfield and centre half forward structure is shot to pieces. Hard to see this on TV but its clear as daylight when you are at the game.
The ball carrier has no options up the ground so they handball backwards and often to someone under pressure. They rely too heavily on carrying the ball across the midfield.

AC often speaks about the side learning....I'd like to see them learn a different gameplan. The oppositions have obviously worked us out.
To be able to play to the game plan without key players should be something that is prepared for.
I know when we lost Buddy against Carlton i craped myself but Roughy really stood up and that team as a whole weren't unsettled, and we won by 100 points.
We can't blame the loss of Sammy for any loss of 'structure'.
We will sort this shiz after half time.

Probably our worst half of football for the year. Horrible footskills coming out of defence, going into the forward 50 and then kicking for goal. Turnovers by hand and foot are bordering on comical. At one stage Sewell actually just dropped the ball, picked it up, and then misses a handball to Smith 2 metres away.

Clarkson needs to tell them to pull their ****ing heads in. Forwards particularly - 6 behinds and 4 on the full is pathetic. The midfielders are running hard to try and create opportunities, the forwards need to reward their work.

We're playing Croad forward to try and give us a target, which means that we have Gilham or Murphy playing on much bigger opponents - either Petrie or Hale. Considering Croad can't kick, perhaps he should be moved back and try Murphy forward?

I don't think Brown is doing a terrible job on Jones, despite the fact he has 4. 1 came from Lewis's 100m penalty which Brown had nothing to do with, and 2 were from crumbing/opportunistic goals. At the same time, Brown has been one of the better decision makers coming out of half back with good pace and skills.

Hodge is having a ripping game, seemingly playing as a Defender, Mid and Forward all at once. Like Brown, skills are great but not getting enough support from those around him.

We are having trouble coming out of the backline, I believe the reason is because we are pushing so many numbers around the ball that when we win posession, we don't have anyone to kick it to. I wish for once Clarkson would just back us to win one-on-one around the ground.

In general, this is a shocking game to watch and if the second half is anything like the first, I'm sure a few remotes and radios will be hurled. Hawks need to ****ing lift.

How can we say that 'the Kangaroos are our primary focus' and that 'this match is really important for us', but come out and have an pathetic performance like this?
Have we taken the 'home ground' advantage for granted?
Has the exclusion of Buddy and Sammy really had this much of an impact.
Are we so fragile that the inclusion of Vanders, Murphy, Tuck and Dowler completely screws up our 'game plan' and 'structure'?
I'm at a complete loss and i'm gut wrenchingly dissapointed.
On a positive note, i think Tucky has played well and McGlynn has our best on ground.

Dissapointed. Dissapointed. Dissapointed.

Firstly - What is the benefit of naming a different side than is to play???

And tell me...if they didn't know... Why was Michael Tuck on the plain to tassie yesterday?????

It gives the media and the players the wrong perception about what we are up against. We went into the game favourites as opposed to underdogs and I think it HAS to affect the mental preparation of the team.

Secondly - I heard Dunstall talking about Dean Laidley 2 weeks ago....he was saying -

"It's no good just to coach two thirds of a season. The Kangaroos are right to wait until the end of the season to resign"

Could there be something in there for clarko?

Too many players are out of form.... and WORSE, they are fighting amongst themselves, and with the coach. The unity of the team has been lost and there aint noone to blame but the coach.

Be HONEST WITH THE FANS!!!!!!

And learn to KICK!

you can have whatever structure you like, this game is about execution when you have the ball....

Structure doesnt kick you set shots at goal ...end of story , our skill are woeful , we try hard but have no class.

Keep trying at least hawks, we're not up to the level that is required to beat quality sides consistently", make no mistake the roos are quality, clean, polished and plenty of class around the ball .

our decision making and effort has been quite good , our execution, well lets just a tad short of pathetic.

The past 4-5 weeks haven't been good have they? I am hoping we can salvage a spot in the top 8 but at the moment we are looking like missing altogether. Disappointing effort.
With the run home we have I believe its going to be tough to stay in the 8. The lions smashed the pies, so thats no gimme and Sydney at home is almost impossible.:thumbsd::(

To be able to play to the game plan without key players should be something that is prepared for.
I know when we lost Buddy against Carlton i craped myself but Roughy really stood up and that team as a whole weren't unsettled, and we won by 100 points.
We can't blame the loss of Sammy for any loss of 'structure'.
We will sort this shiz after half time.

Not blaming players. I just think our team positioning is too one dimensional. Relies heavily on 10-15 team mates hanging within 20 metres of the ball carrier. I've noticed this in every game I've gone to watch. Like I said its hard to see this on TV. You often see players ducking, weaving, handballing backwards, being indecisive...... this is because we have no leading players up the field. You only have to look at our backline clangers in the last 2-3 games.

Oppositions have woken up to this and we have not been able or willing to adapt.