Geelong V Carlton pre match discussion thread.

• Thread starter Thread starter Alpha1

At a wedding in Yea tonight but will have a trans for scores and to keep an eye on how The Numbers 11 is going in RSA. Yes, I realise a trans can be so much more but tonight it will just be limited to AM radio reception.

I'd like to see Matty Kruezer lineup on Scarlett. Scarlett is vulnerable against the very tall forwards, and Kruezer's ability at ground level should test him as well. Geelong do lack defensive leg speed, and ain't so good against small opportunist forwards. Eddie, Yarran, and Garlett could have a bit of fun.

That's all well and good, but without Judd, Murphy and Gibbs, how is the ball going to get up there in the first place? :p

I couldn't see why we aren't able to beat them. Their team, presumably, wouldn't be dissimilar to Hawthorn's side. They don't have a Franklin, Roughhead is equivalent to most of their forwards combined and Rioli has Stokes covered. They will be resting many of their midfielders and their first two games weren't impressive by any stretch. Obviously, we'll lose this game due to the number of players being rested but it won't be a mauling.

Stokes is averaging 26 possessions and more than 3 goals a game in the NAB Cup so far. Rioli has a combined total of 105 DT points in his two NAB Cup games. Stokes is averaging 110 points a game. I know it's only the NAB Cup, but it's obvious that Stokes is hell bent on redeeming himself after his shocker in the grand final. To suggest Rioli has Stokes covered is ridiculous IMO.

why do people do that?
I mean go to games with their club's footy scarves when their side ain't playing?
don't know but got to a hawk game on a fri night and you see other teams that we are not playing with their jumpers on should have seen it at that 100 goal game heaps , anyway will be coldish need a scarf and most of mine are hawk colours so it is a hawk scarf or a hawk scarf take your pick

^^ Yeh I know that heaps of people do it. But I was just wondering why?!
I've been to many a game when Carlton weren't playing (family of Richmond supporters) and have never worn my scarf.

don't know just want too.
good question though but sense of loyalty to club you support my aunty is a die hard blue supporter and won 2 tickets did ask mum but mum as much as she used to be a blue supporter is not really into footy i nearly died when asked what team she supported and she said hawks dad was essendon and has sort of done the same ? weird

Yarran as a lead up CHF? With Kruz in the goal square? Surrounded by Betts and Garlet?.

sorry you guys lost you got better in second half , i think they will take alot away from that they were not thrashed which was great

Thanks mate, I think some of our goal kicking wasn't too good and some of our disposals. But I am proud of the kids they went toe to toe and thats all we can ask.