Geelong Vs Carlton

chapmanmagic35

An opportune time to put last night behind us and focus on this week.

Quite a big game now. Carlton are playing good football & will be right back into the pack if they can be 5-5 after next week.

Will be very interesting to see how we respond.

Anything related to the game - here :)

i hope that we win (obviously) but also i think they should maintain a close watch on those injuries. the coaching staff arent idiots though, and i know they will, but id hate to see chapman and otto being rushed back, and ablett and ling pushed too hard because they want to seek retribution from this week.

Really did show what happens when you play injured players last night. Hoping for a competitive game next week, but I suspect Geelong will come out breathing fire, and I know that Carlton do not have the cattle to take you on head to head.

Should be a good game. Hopefully the selection committee opt for some hard nuts instead of soft outside flashy players this time round.

If this was last year i would say geelong would shit it in, but this year you guys aren't as good as what you were, so im tipping carlton (lol, of course :p) in a very close one!!

You've got to be kidding me. We barely knocked of Fremantle!

Geelong an absolute shoe in. They will respond in style. They are the best side of the past decade, and they will prove that.

Hoping for a ripper of a game, unfortunately we'll probably be blown away in the first quarter.

Our last really big thrashing, before last night was against Adelaide in 2006, when we lost by 92 points. Bomber said in the press conference after the game nothing they tried worked. The following week we played Carlton at Telstra Dome and won by 65 points.

Fast forward two years. Collingwood smashed us by 86 points, and in the after match press conference, Bomber said nothing they tried worked. This week we play Carlton at Telstra Dome.......

Our last really big thrashing, before last night was against Adelaide in 2006, when we lost by 92 points. Bomber said in the press conference after the game nothing they tried worked. The following week we played Carlton at Telstra Dome and won by 65 points.

Fast forward two years. Collingwood smashed us by 86 points, and in the after match press conference, Bomber said nothing they tried worked. This week we play Carlton at Telstra Dome.......

To be fair, we've improved a hell of a lot since 2006. Mind you, so have you.

I'm not really looking forward to this game at all, to be honest. This is probably the worst week we could play you, coming off a massive loss which no doubt would have left the players and staff of the GFC embarrassed and really hungry to redeem themselves.

I would love to say that I think we can get within 5 or so goals of you, but realistically, I just can't. There's no doubt we're on the improve but we haven't got the tools yet to push you too hard.

Mind you, stranger things have happened.

i don't get the footy public, if we had of beaten collingwood everyone would be talking about how much we'd beat carlton by, not if we'd beat carlton. i've been to 6 carlton games this year and we are a much better side

I think people get upset and concerned when their team pretty much doesn't turn up to play, so it's understandable although exaggerated. Oh, and there's the fear of the old Geelong returning...

If the players are as embarrassed as i am and are determined to set the record straight then Carlton are in a fair bit of shit.:thumbsu:

I'd like to hope that's true.

I'm hoping for a big lift in intensity from the start, eg. a few strong tackles and hard ball gets to set the tone and alot more direct ball movement.

We probably won't get a four quarter effort but something close to that would be good and hopefully we get a solid rebounding result.

I'd like to hope that's true.

I'm hoping for a big lift in intensity from the start, eg. a few strong tackles and hard ball gets to set the tone and alot more direct ball movement.

We probably won't get a four quarter effort but something close to that would be good and hopefully we get a solid rebounding result.

I agree with your post, however in some degree the guys tried that on Friday night. Selwood, Kelly and Ablett tried smashing into packs to get the ball, only to be unrewarded from the umps by being done for holding the ball.

On a few occasions the umps were absolutely terrible on this, selwood especially was harshly dealt with. Getting the ball in a pack situation, to force it out, to have it kicked back into you and then get stung for holding it is totally unrealistic. The umpires interpretation of holding the ball was ridiculous on Friday.

We also tried to rebound the ball, with Wojak forcing it at times. However in a tight contest we cannot just rely on one or two to do it. Forcing it meant that Wojak was found out, caught a few times. Yet that didn't change his decision process. We have to be smarter.

I suspect a few guys are down at the moment, but it is up to the coaching panel to get them back up. Bringing Chappy and Rooke back to the team would enable a positive attitude.

I think we will be back on song this week, the lads want to put that crap behind them. Expect some real hard play this week, Bartel and Ablett (if Jnr plays), will light it up.

I have a feeling we are going to belt them. If the boys are really fired up and embarrassed after Friday, we will probably put them to the torch, but by the same token the Blues will be prepared for this and will be competitive.

Still think a comfortable win is on the cards.

They are the best side of the past decade, and they will prove that.
Only been watching football from 2004 onwards then?

Otherwise yeah. Another lesson from Geelong to go with the one we got last year.

I expect the boys to come out breathing fire, nothing less. Its early days yet but they better pull their finger out and get things back on track.

the pies win will be a great dvd addition to all coaching staff for non geelong
clubs.
expect the blues to have studied this very carefully
i expect the cats to win by only 10 or so goals:o

I agree with your post, however in some degree the guys tried that on Friday night. Selwood, Kelly and Ablett tried smashing into packs to get the ball, only to be unrewarded from the umps by being done for holding the ball.

On a few occasions the umps were absolutely terrible on this, selwood especially was harshly dealt with. Getting the ball in a pack situation, to force it out, to have it kicked back into you and then get stung for holding it is totally unrealistic. The umpires interpretation of holding the ball was ridiculous on Friday.

We also tried to rebound the ball, with Wojak forcing it at times. However in a tight contest we cannot just rely on one or two to do it. Forcing it meant that Wojak was found out, caught a few times. Yet that didn't change his decision process. We have to be smarter.

I suspect a few guys are down at the moment, but it is up to the coaching panel to get them back up. Bringing Chappy and Rooke back to the team would enable a positive attitude.

I think we will be back on song this week, the lads want to put that crap behind them. Expect some real hard play this week, Bartel and Ablett (if Jnr plays), will light it up.

I was trying to say that they should set the tone early against the Blues. At some early stage of the Pies game my friend who was sitting next to me pointed out that the tackle count was 8-0 Collingwood's way, something that should be reversed next week.

Also, our workrate was way down, the way we were trying to move the ball forward reminded me of '06. There was very little run from behind the guy who had the ball and also little running to space to create options. Sure Collingwood deserve credit for their defensive game but we made it easier for them with our pathetic work ethic.

the pies win will be a great dvd addition to all coaching staff for non geelong
clubs.
expect the blues to have studied this very carefully
i expect the cats to win by only 10 or so goals:o

what the hell is there to study?
it's just footy basics, attacking hard and playing as a team...so by that token we could easily do the same to you.
it's not bloody rocket science.

Cannot wait for this game, especially if we finally see the long anticipated return of Bradley 'Huge Mitts' Ottens. Hopefully he's fit and can come straight back into the seniors, as im sure after his monstrous mitts touch the ball for the first time he'll be back into the swing of things right away!

we should see the boys come out hard and have a real crack the thing l was shitty at last Friday night was last quarter we never made an impact on the score they just kicked away normally you take your last quarter form into the first quarter of the next game,and bomber made no changes eg put harry up forward etc lets hope its a good game

blues are currently missing - thornton, jamison, houlahan, walker, bannister, cloke, hadley - thats 7 players whould would be in the best 22 (or at the very least top25).

Carlton have improved heaps this season compared to the previous few but we just dont have the depth to cover injuries. A couple players might return (thornton/bannister) but they are likely to be underdone. Whilst geelong is probably missing a couple of players the stronger list depth will mean you guys are more capable of covering the missing players.

Not expecting a win from the blues though I would like to see us remain competitive (ie within 30points)