General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

How on earth is the offshore detention issue not worthy of the front page? When the UNHRC and UNHCR both tell you your torturing people isn't it time to maybe consider a different approach?

I agree that the refugee problem is real and needs a solution. Australia is stuck between its current solution and 1200 people dying at sea trying to reach Australia (see reference - http://theconversation.com/factcheck-did-1200-refugees-die-at-sea-under-labor-38094 ). I hope you can come to a solution.

I think it was in the Age about a year ago. You could see if you could find it on there.

I found this article by Jonathan Holmes (former Media Watch presenter on the ABC) - on SMH (a fairfax media publication)

http://www.smh.com.au/comment/abc-r...-out-their-leftwing-bias-20160404-gnyfse.html

what you are basically saying is that any media that publishes stories which do not align with your obvious right wing / conservative biases means that they must automatically be left wing propaganda.

If you are true to your convictions about the so called smear that goes on, then you would welcome these publications for revealing the truth and not heeding to political spin (both sides) that is spouted in the msm.

My guess is you're an LNP / One Nation voter because they are the majority who constantly use phrases like leftist media.

So, if I am not fitting your viewpoint, it makes me a LNP / One Nation supporter?

Are you not accusing me of similar behaviour, as I am "supposedly" saying things that don't meet my view are left wing propaganda. But, as soon as I become critical of certain publications, I am a ring wing biased One Nation supporter, apparently! Might as well accuse me of killing JFK, while you are at it.

Just because some publications aren't MSM, doesn't make them free of biases. The Guardian though is clearly left biased.

Like I said earlier, I read both The Australian and AFR to get a balance of left leaning and right leaning news, and figure out what's reallly going on.

I agree that the refugee problem is real and needs a solution. Australia is stuck between its current solution and 1200 people dying at sea trying to reach Australia (see reference - http://theconversation.com/factcheck-did-1200-refugees-die-at-sea-under-labor-38094 ). I hope you can come to a solution.

Okay, here's a start, upgrade the detention centers and increase oversight (like, i don't don't know, removing the laws that make it illegal to report abuse at these facilities) so that the UN stops, as Mr Abbott so lovingly put it, "lecturing us" about human rights abuses.

Australia is not stuck, there are more than two options of "torture them / let them drown"

Can we get back to footy please?

Okay, if we can turn Murdoch into a wingman he could play on the right wing.

But who plays on the left wing?

And who is in the centre?

I found this article by Jonathan Holmes (former Media Watch presenter on the ABC) - on SMH (a fairfax media publication)

http://www.smh.com.au/comment/abc-r...-out-their-leftwing-bias-20160404-gnyfse.html

So, if I am not fitting your viewpoint, it makes me a LNP / One Nation supporter?

Are you not accusing me of similar behaviour, as I am "supposedly" saying things that don't meet my view are left wing propaganda. But, as soon as I become critical of certain publications, I am a ring wing biased One Nation supporter, apparently! Might as well accuse me of killing JFK, while you are at it.

Just because some publications aren't MSM, doesn't make them free of biases. The Guardian though is clearly left biased.

Like I said earlier, I read both The Australian and AFR to get a balance of left leaning and right leaning news, and figure out what's reallly going on.

So was my assumption incorrect?

Can we get back to footy please?

Okay, if we can turn Murdoch into a wingman he could play on the right wing.

But who plays on the left wing?

And who is in the centre?

He better get a senior game soon or he will be sent to Detention . :rolleyes:

I meant for the population to be ready to accept it

I doubt they will. People basically don't give a shit and Aus is an apathetic populace when it comes to politics.

Census site breaks down... country loses it's shit. Detention facts come out... not a whisper.

That's why we kept getting served up the same old shit pollies.

Society has been dumbed down.

So was my assumption incorrect?

I voted for Beazley, Rudd, Gillard, Gillard, Turnbull. 4 out of 5 times, I've voted labor. Never liked Tony Abbott. I would call myself a swinging voter, who only decides at the last minute.

Never voted One Nation - I am originally from an Asian country.

PS in the last election, One Nation preferenced Labor ahead of LNP, so make of that what you will.

Big mistake St Kilda going with BLK apparel next season IMO. Buy up the current stuff why you can.
Where has this been announced?

Hopefully they can sort out their black issue, back of our jumper will look terrible if they haven't

Sent from my D5833 using Tapatalk

Where has this been announced?

Hopefully they can sort out their black issue, back of our jumper will look terrible if they haven't

Sent from my D5833 using Tapatalk
I read it on the main board. Their colour black is disgusting, and I don't really even care about apparel at all, but Richmond is the only club at the moment using them that has black and it's an ugly grey at best.

Anyone using the words Free or Freedom to define them I always associate with libertine-style conservative voters in favour of small government, everyone look after themselves, climate change is a lie, stolen children is a lie, we're all fine just the way we are, stop trying to change things, we all should be left alone to make money, survival of the fittest, preserve the privilege, etc. It's all so consistent. No better example than the Party For Freedom. All those gun geeks in the USA talk about is Freedom too, as did GW Bush to advocate the Iraq war, etc. Freedom has been corrupted in modern Western political discourse to mean Freedom To Do Whatever The **** We Want. They all think it means Freedom to think independently - suuure.

ALL the newspapers in Australia and most around the world are biased and politics in the Western world is more and more polemic, particularly Australia and the USA. I don't know about the Australian version, but in the UK, The Guardian is particularly focused on defending the little guy and minorities against unfair treatment. They also have a vested interest in helping society regulate itself to save the environment, which makes them one of the biggest enemies of people involved in the more traditional areas of the energy industry. Just like that fella from One Nation who was torn into little pieces by Prof Brian Cox on QandA the other day. Lobbyists, the lot of them.

The Guardian doesn't always get it right, theur columnists are a mixed bunch, but their journalists are professional and their editors are ethical. That's good enough for me.

The politicians claim that 1200 people thing as a way to justify their own treacherous lack of spine. The problem is they still come but are turned back or head to NZ waters or try other ways. It's just a great big diversion to make the issue seem solved when it's a complex mess that no one has a solution for.

Abbott made it sound simple then pretty much made it so the only solution was to hide it all a long way away. Off shore cost billions of dollars and mistreats humans in an appalling way.

Personally I'd rather die at sea than spend 10 years in a gaol with out charge or release dates set. It's all a farcical nonsense that should never have been made an issue. Pauline Hanson when she was anti asian before finding muslims made it one. Politicians grabbed it as a populist platform and now it's a huge disaster.

We should bring them to Australia for processing and employ Australians for a start and use our legal system to handle our own mess at a bare minimum. We could pay a heap of people to process them quicker and return non legitimate refugees quicker.

Oh god , dont start on our shit legal system.
If we put all the illegal immigrants in front of our judges currently they would all be out of detention in a week . :rolleyes:

Im right handed but play any sport with a stick/bat which you need two hands for (golf, baseball, teeball, cricket, etc.) left handed. Is that what this arguments about?

The politicians claim that 1200 people thing as a way to justify their own treacherous lack of spine. The problem is they still come but are turned back or head to NZ waters or try other ways. It's just a great big diversion to make the issue seem solved when it's a complex mess that no one has a solution for.

Abbott made it sound simple then pretty much made it so the only solution was to hide it all a long way away. Off shore cost billions of dollars and mistreats humans in an appalling way.

Personally I'd rather die at sea than spend 10 years in a gaol with out charge or release dates set. It's all a farcical nonsense that should never have been made an issue. Pauline Hanson when she was anti asian before finding muslims made it one. Politicians grabbed it as a populist platform and now it's a huge disaster.

We should bring them to Australia for processing and employ Australians for a start and use our legal system to handle our own mess at a bare minimum. We could pay a heap of people to process them quicker and return non legitimate refugees quicker.

Firstly, your analogy defies general experience. People go to prisons for 10 years or more..., but death sentences are banned. So, while you may have a personal preference, in common experience, death is least preferable. Not that the other option is any great shakes.

The other policy is the one Kevin Rudd followed similar to the one you espouse. By on shore processing, people DID get to Australia. He even excised entire mainland of Australia as a zone. Didn't work.

Anyway, it's a far cry from the original point I made, which was about unreliability of media even when it comes to sports.

This is a fair way away from that point, and I suggest we all move on.

Im right handed but play any sport with a stick/bat which you need two hands for (golf, baseball, teeball, cricket, etc.) left handed. Is that what this arguments about?
We had a Socialist chicken once. It only had a left wing.

Guardian is a leftist newspaper, based on the news slant they have given. Also, here is a definition of "left" as per wikipedia, which quite clearly shows that the label I've applied is OK.

Never said The Guardian is advocating nationalising industries - again a strawman argument introduced by yourself. How about you get your definitions sorted out mate! :cool:
No argument from me that the Guardian is left wing left leaning - its just that its not "extreme left" as you said in your original post.

That's it - that's the only point I'm making.

Nationalising industries is a core tenet of most of the extreme left and was used to demonstrate the point that The Guardian is therefore not "extreme left".

If you want to have a discussion about that I would say that as a social democrat I would argue there are sound arguments that parts of key industries should remain in public ownership to ensure that the "competitive" private sector is actually competitive rather than collusive and self serving. (ie banks and electricity suppliers)

Like I said back to the footy - Holmes for Hickey

Firstly, your analogy defies general experience. People go to prisons for 10 years or more..., but death sentences are banned. So, while you may have a personal preference, in common experience, death is least preferable. Not that the other option is any great shakes.

The other policy is the one Kevin Rudd followed similar to the one you espouse. By on shore processing, people DID get to Australia. He even excised entire mainland of Australia as a zone. Didn't work.
The matter has been a total disgrace. Starting from Howard's Tampa and children overboard where he used it to claw back voters who deserted them for one nation v1.

It has then been used to wedge Labor which had had no spine in dealing with it.

The reason for the hardline policy it that it appeals to a population which is for the most part racist.

It is also a blatant manipulation by the right to frighten people by firstly creating the illusion of a problem / threat and then presenting oneself as the only person who can save the Nation.

Boats haven't stopped, they just get turned back at sea. It's all kept hush from the people except when it suits them.

Notice how Dutton called a presser during the election to boast how they just intercepted and turned back a boat? How convenient to ramp up the rhetoric because it is seen as a strong suit for them.

Shit, even a senior LNP member states that the more boats that come the better it is for the LNP.

Witness Brexit and witness the Trump phenomenon.

It is typical right wing grubby modus operandi.

It is an absolute disgrace, and no better than the way Hitler treated the Jews by blaming them for Germany's woes. Thus rallying the people behind him.
Sounds familiar?

Australians should hang their heads in shame for allowing this to happen.

Ps: maybe if we stopped bombing the crap out of their country? We never hear when hundreds of kids get killed from drone strikes unless leftie media report it.