General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

thats amazing how this wasnt a bigger story at the time, legit might of cost giants a flag.

Tanking to get a lower second round pick to pass on for Hibberd? Their first this year is with Gold Coast I thought? :p

I was being funny but he's not playing their best team, probably more to leave a ready to go list for Goodwin but they didn't seem to select a best 22 most weeks where we don't have that luxury. For what ever reason he's holding them back.

Milne is number 1 and would have kicked another 150 goals had he not started his career as late as he did but Eddie Betts is a close 2nd I reckon.

Cannot believe Slobbo is suggesting Eddie Betts is the best small forward of all time??

How about Milne? 275 Games, 574 goals...

Betts - 250 Games, 369 goals...

Get off the sauce mate.

That's the problem with Slobbo never off the grog , smokes and all things Essendon.

Cannot believe Slobbo is suggesting Eddie Betts is the best small forward of all time??

How about Milne? 275 Games, 574 goals...

Betts - 250 Games, 369 goals...

Get off the sauce mate.

I'm sure Nathan Brown said the same on the Sunday footy show ( maybe that's where Robbo gets his stories). Couldn't believe what I was hearing.

Reckon Melbourne were already thinking about how to beat Geelong.

Hope we finish above them on the ladder.
But but... Their list is just ahead of us isn't it? Isn't that what pretty much every media pundit keeps saying?!

Morons.

lolbourne

And just like that we have a 2 game better season
That can't be right... They are way ahead of us in their rebuild...

I actually think Roos is tanking by leaving out players who would help them win this year. He's got his sights set on leaving a finals quality list. they could have leap frogged us this year but have chosen to leave out established players to get the kids played. They have depth now and will add further depth from another draft and hit 2017 in good shape with a new coach. It's a dangerous game though, setting a losing culture can back fire easily.
SETTING a losing culture...?

But but... Their list is just ahead of us isn't it? Isn't that what pretty much every media pundit keeps saying?!

Morons.

I think their list depth is way ahead, their ability to translate it into on field performance is not there. They will have a very good midfield at some point. Bradshaw and Petracca alone look very likely to reach A grade and then guys like Viney and Jones are already close. Clayton Oliver looks an absolute gun too. They choked and we choked when the finals were with in our reach. We seem to be a lot more keen to not wait and just battle hard with what we have. As a pessimist I keep waiting for the fall off the cliff but luckily we seem to keep landing on our feet.

Big difference in "choking" against the flag faves with your only ruck, only KPD and #2 inside mid all injured as opposed to choking against a team in the bottom 6, who have lost 9 straight, and when you have a fully fit list to choose from.

Melbourne has some talent but their mental capacity is still seriously lacking.

Remember after they lost to Essendon Roos said they "Got ahead of themselves" because they beat the Giants at home by a goal.

If they beat us next year mark them down for a month of losses afterwards. The hamgover will be real.

Milne is number 1 and would have kicked another 150 goals had he not started his career as late as he did but Eddie Betts is a close 2nd I reckon.

The way i see it , Eddie Betts would have made a good midfielder except he's a bit on the short-arse side. Far more effective if you want him to run through the middle , and as such more suited to the current game requirements. But as an opportunistic small forward Milne has him covered.

I think their list depth is way ahead, their ability to translate it into on field performance is not there. They will have a very good midfield at some point. Bradshaw and Petracca alone look very likely to reach A grade and then guys like Viney and Jones are already close. Clayton Oliver looks an absolute gun too. They choked and we choked when the finals were with in our reach. We seem to be a lot more keen to not wait and just battle hard with what we have. As a pessimist I keep waiting for the fall off the cliff but luckily we seem to keep landing on our feet.

The difference being they choked against CARLTON :eek:

Gringo and Melbourne sitting in a tree. K.I.S.S.I.N.G ;)

Their alleged depth is offset by their softness. Even their hard nosed blokes like Viney & Jones go missing when it counts.

I have mates who follow the dees and Tigers.....I'm pretty sure we bonded over disappointment, anyway they have convinced me of their likely improvement before and made me look stupid but watching Sandy v Casey the other week showed me where we were at list wise. They had at least a dozen seriously talented kids and experienced senior players back there and still won their seniors AFL match. We were pretty bare in the cupboard once we picked our senior team. Not many of ours were seriously competing for a spot.

What kind of picks does Port have this year? A late 2nd for Shenton would be pretty decent.