Discussion General AFL Thread 2017

First big news story for the year just breaking, James Hird taken to hospital with what 7 News Melbourne are calling a suspected overdose.

"Intentional poisoning overdose" according to 7. I hate what the guy's done to the AFL but you have to feel for him and his family.

As much as I abhor what he and the Bombers did this probably brings home to everyone how much social media can impact on people in a bad way.
Hope this is not true for his kids sake.

From his perspective he'd likely feel unwelcome even turning up to a game these days so he's essentially had an AFLdectomy.
Pretty tough for a bloke who's lived and breathed footy since birth.
Kudos for the great player he was in his day too.

It's sad that this has become public. Pretty much the last thing he would want or need

Yes, as a health professional I am disappointed that patient confidentiality wasn't observed.

The leak could have come from anyone though , visitor, another patient etc

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

The guy is a person and as such, regardless of what he has done over the last 3-4 years, I really feel for him and his family if what has been shared above is true.........that he felt he had no other choice but to go down that dark path.

Yes, as a health professional I am disappointed that patient confidentiality wasn't observed.

The leak could have come from anyone though , visitor, another patient etc

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk
Me too. I feel it's most likely from friends of his within AFL circles. Which like anything with a bit of heat behind it, spreads like wildfire.

I didn't agree with the way he went about anything over the last 3 years, but it's terribly terribly sad it's come to this.

First big news story for the year just breaking, James Hird taken to hospital with what 7 News Melbourne are calling a suspected overdose.
There has been speculation that an ambulance was called for a suspected drug overdose. He discharged himself the next morning which suggests to me that it was not a suicide attempt.

The guy is a person and as such, regardless of what he has done over the last 3-4 years, I really feel for him and his family if what has been shared above is true.........that he felt he had no other choice but to go down that dark path.

Well said. Couldn't agree more

Hopefully this is the circuit breaker for him to get him back into better space

Don't wish ill upon anyone, but sick of his type making headlines. Like the rest of us, he has choices in life and has chosen his path. Lives in fantasy land.

If the past has caught up with him then it's a past that he created and his arrogance extended the sorry chapter.

As ye sow etc etc.

He was a flog and hes still a flog IMO.
But he has children and other family members who love & care deeply for him.
So for their sake i really hope he can get past his demons and eventually realise again that being a Dad, Son & husband is far more important than any football reputation.
Hope his kids are Ok.

He was a flog and hes still a flog IMO.
But he has children and other family members who love & care deeply for him.
So for their sake i really hope he can get past his demons and eventually realise again that being a Dad, Son & husband is far more important than any football reputation.
Hope his kids are Ok.

this! great post mate!

because of all the shenanigans essendon and james pulled during the ASADA saga and how many blatant lies they told to try and spin things, part of me wondered, hang on is this all just a show to try get public sympathy back on side... but it appears thats not the case and its sadly very genuine

the conversation i had with a mate prior to christmas we flippantly joked about hirdy commiting some sort of self harm act. we werent far off the mark but its still very sad i have a child as does james. i feel for the kids.

I reckon the AFL should have made a ruling on Hird so he faced a punishment so people could move on. I reckon Aussies hold a grudge when they feel someone didn't face justice.