Mega Thread General MFC Discussion Part III

Idk, I've always liked that we have this one unique aspect of the sport that is entirely justified by sentimentality. One of my disappointments that has come with the modern professionalism of the sport is that all the philosophies and culture that made clubs special have all but faded away. These days it feels less like we're barracking for a club with a history and identity that is resonant and particular and more like we're just cheering for brands which all just try to follow best practice and the people are interchangable.

🙌

Idk, I've always liked that we have this one unique aspect of the sport that is entirely justified by sentimentality. One of my disappointments that has come with the modern professionalism of the sport is that all the philosophies and culture that made clubs special have all but faded away. These days it feels less like we're barracking for a club with a history and identity that is resonant and particular and more like we're just cheering for brands which all just try to follow best practice and the people are interchangable.
It's one of the aspects that sets us apart form American sports. The main thing in us sports that really annoys me and I hope never happens here is that they call all the teams franchises. "really looking forward to being a part of this franchise" he says as he goes to his 9th team in 3 years. I love that our players represent the club, they represent the fans, not just the wishes of corporate sponsors or the board. It is when we begin to look at sports teams only as a business like the states that we lose the history and the romance and impact that clubs have. I still think that footy has a lot of that stuff still and the father son rule shows it.

Completely disagree, the American sports atleast have ties to their respective city's. Victoria has 9 soulless corporations now that don't distinguish each other from the next.

I'd say having travelled around the connection people have to Victorian clubs these days would be the weakest in professional sports.

There's only 2 reasons to follow the Vic clubs, 1 family. 2 you like the colours

Melbourne’s 2021 AFL Fixture

Round 1 (H)

Melbourne v Fremantle
Saturday, March 20
MCG, 1:45pm on FOX Footy

Round 2 (A)
St Kilda v Melbourne
Saturday, March 27
Marvel Stadium, 7:25pm on Channel 7

Round 3 (A)
GWS GIANTS v Melbourne
Sunday, April 4
Manuka Oval, 6.10pm on FOX Footy

Round 4 (H)
Melbourne v Geelong
Sunday, April 11
MCG, 3.20pm on Channel 7

Round 5 (A)
Hawthorn v Melbourne
Sunday, April 18
MCG, 3:20pm on Channel 7

Round 6 (H)
Melbourne v Richmond
Saturday, April 24
MCG, 7.25pm on Channel 7

Round 7 (A)
North Melbourne v Melbourne
Blundstone Arena

Round 8 (H)
Melbourne v Sydney
MCG

Round 9 (H)
Melbourne v Carlton
MCG

Round 10 (A)
Adelaide v Melbourne
Adelaide Oval

Round 11 (A)
Western Bulldogs v Melbourne
Marvel Stadium

Round 12 (H)
Melbourne v Brisbane
TIO Traeger Park

Round 13 (H)
Melbourne v Collingwood
MCG

Round 14
BYE

Round 15 (A)
Essendon v Melbourne
MCG

Round 16 (H)
Melbourne v GWS GIANTS
MCG

Round 17 (A)
Port Adelaide v Melbourne
Adelaide Oval

Round 18 (H)
Melbourne v Hawthorn
MCG

Round 19 (A)
Gold Coast SUNS v Melbourne
Metricon Stadium

Round 20 (H)
Melbourne v Western Bulldogs
MCG

Round 21 (A)
West Coast Eagles v Melbourne
Optus Stadium

Round 22 (H)
Melbourne v Adelaide
MCG

Round 23 (A)
Geelong v Melbourne
GMHBA Stadium

We play Geelong, Bulldogs, GWS, Adelaide & Hawthorn twice - happy with that

Melbourne’s 2021 AFL Fixture

Round 1 (H)

Melbourne v Fremantle
Saturday, March 20
MCG, 1:45pm on FOX Footy

Round 2 (A)
St Kilda v Melbourne
Saturday, March 27
Marvel Stadium, 7:25pm on Channel 7

Round 3 (A)
GWS GIANTS v Melbourne
Sunday, April 4
Manuka Oval, 6.10pm on FOX Footy

Round 4 (H)
Melbourne v Geelong
Sunday, April 11
MCG, 3.20pm on Channel 7

Round 5 (A)
Hawthorn v Melbourne
Sunday, April 18
MCG, 3:20pm on Channel 7

Round 6 (H)
Melbourne v Richmond
Saturday, April 24
MCG, 7.25pm on Channel 7

Round 7 (A)
North Melbourne v Melbourne
Blundstone Arena

Round 8 (H)
Melbourne v Sydney
MCG

Round 9 (H)
Melbourne v Carlton
MCG

Round 10 (A)
Adelaide v Melbourne
Adelaide Oval

Round 11 (A)
Western Bulldogs v Melbourne
Marvel Stadium

Round 12 (H)
Melbourne v Brisbane
TIO Traeger Park

Round 13 (H)
Melbourne v Collingwood
MCG

Round 14
BYE

Round 15 (A)
Essendon v Melbourne
MCG

Round 16 (H)
Melbourne v GWS GIANTS
MCG

Round 17 (A)
Port Adelaide v Melbourne
Adelaide Oval

Round 18 (H)
Melbourne v Hawthorn
MCG

Round 19 (A)
Gold Coast SUNS v Melbourne
Metricon Stadium

Round 20 (H)
Melbourne v Western Bulldogs
MCG

Round 21 (A)
West Coast Eagles v Melbourne
Optus Stadium

Round 22 (H)
Melbourne v Adelaide
MCG

Round 23 (A)
Geelong v Melbourne
GMHBA Stadium

We play Geelong, Bulldogs, GWS, Adelaide & Hawthorn twice - happy with that
Very very favourable draw. Gws, Radelaide, Hawthorn shouldn't play finals, doggies are around the same mark as us. Only downsides is Geelong twice and once in Geelong, west coast in Perth and Port in Adelaide. Brisbane in the Alice could be very interesting.

That’s quite a good fixture. A lot of travel but two of those games are neutral fixtures, and after 2020 travel should be seen as a reasonable challenge. R17-21 will define our season.

I'm angry about everything, fixture is no exception.
Wanted the Saints and North twice (and not at Blundstone, again). Carlton twice would have been lovely too, "The Clarry Cup!!!".

Hawthorn twice? Ripper, i love smashing those campaigners.

Completely disagree, the American sports atleast have ties to their respective city's. Victoria has 9 soulless corporations now that don't distinguish each other from the next.

I'd say having travelled around the connection people have to Victorian clubs these days would be the weakest in professional sports.

There's only 2 reasons to follow the Vic clubs, 1 family. 2 you like the colours
Yeah, the Cleveland, St Louis, LA Rams have really settled roots! Just like their NBA counterparts the Minneapolis, LA Lakers!
The Raiders, Chargers, Colts have all moved in the NFL, plus plenty of others.

OKC in the NBA are a rebranded, relocated Supersonics. Plenty of other teams have moved around too. Any team in financial difficulty is a chance to get bought and moved. If the AFL was run like the USA sports we, Norf and the Dogs would've changed hands half a dozen times in the last 50 years.

Melbourne, and Vic/Australia generally I guess, has developed a lot lately so the old suburbs have been gentrified, changed and those historical roots aren't as relevant. Collingwood the suburb these days is bougie and hipster. Ditto Footscray and Nth Melbourne. Can't keep playing up the battler roots of a place when the population there is 80% upper middle class types. In a national comp too you need to branch out more to keep fans and their $ coming your way.

It does diminish some of the sentimentality I guess, but the Vic sides have much more identity still than West Coast, Adelaide, Freo etc. Which feel much more like manufactured franchises.

Yeah, the Cleveland, St Louis, LA Rams have really settled roots! Just like their NBA counterparts the Minneapolis, LA Lakers!
The Raiders, Chargers, Colts have all moved in the NFL, plus plenty of others.

OKC in the NBA are a rebranded, relocated Supersonics. Plenty of other teams have moved around too. Any team in financial difficulty is a chance to get bought and moved. If the AFL was run like the USA sports we, Norf and the Dogs would've changed hands half a dozen times in the last 50 years.

Melbourne, and Vic/Australia generally I guess, has developed a lot lately so the old suburbs have been gentrified, changed and those historical roots aren't as relevant. Collingwood the suburb these days is bougie and hipster. Ditto Footscray and Nth Melbourne. Can't keep playing up the battler roots of a place when the population there is 80% upper middle class types. In a national comp too you need to branch out more to keep fans and their $ coming your way.

It does diminish some of the sentimentality I guess, but the Vic sides have much more identity still than West Coast, Adelaide, Freo etc. Which feel much more like manufactured franchises.
Doesn't matter if they've moved, point is there either the only or share the city with another side. That's it. Plus you're completely ignoring the school system in America which gets more fans than the NFL anyway. Completely bedded in to that area and part of the community.

Where is Melbourne football club? Answer no where.
We don't represent anything except where we train and the office we have admin in. There's no area where Melbourne fans come from, there's no spiritual home anymore, there's no anything.

The only reason new Melbourne fans will ever be created are kids of current ones and ones that like the colours.

Honestly I'd rather we ****ed off he MCG and had our own home ground even if it only held 30k. Atleast we'd have something for the club. We could share it with North and call it the City derby or something. I can't see 9 city teams surviving in the AFL for another 50 years, fans will just die off and cease to exist..

Doesn't matter if they've moved, point is there either the only or share the city with another side. That's it. Plus you're completely ignoring the school system in America which gets more fans than the NFL anyway. Completely bedded in to that area and part of the community.

We don't represent anything except where we train and the office we have admin in. There's no area where Melbourne fans come from, there's no spiritual home anymore, there's no anything.

The only reason new Melbourne fans will ever be created are kids of current ones and ones that like the colours.

Honestly I'd rather we f’ed off he MCG and had our own home ground even if it only held 30k. Atleast we'd have something for the club. We could share it with North and call it the City derby or something. I can't see 9 city teams surviving in the AFL for another 50 years, fans will just die off and cease to exist..
I get your point, it is a very valid one. But you're kidding yourself wanting to move from the G. Legit one of the best stadiums in the world and where the game and our club started.

Chance to drop out. Seriously overrated this year. Maybe 2018 to 2019 us but to a lesser extent.
I wouldn't say overrated but I don't think they're a lock next year. Port, Brisbane geelong and Richmond are about the only locks probably west coast with such an advantage at home the other three spots will be tight. Western bulldogs look pretty good imo after that there's so many that will fight for those spots. I can imagine Collingwood falling off after their problems with cap space.

Largely inconsistent last year, defence is definitely nothing special can see them dropping out. Collingwood very likely to drop out. Dogs are definitely scary but still have one of the worst backlines in the league and there's a chance the midfield blows up. West Coast I think can definitely drop out, too old, too slow. Can't play away, if they lose 3-4 games at home they're gone.

Richmond & Brisbane are the only sides I would lock into the top 8 with confidence. There's arguments against every other side. Pies in theory should slide, Bulldogs did nothing to address their weaknesses (and JUH won't be the saviour in year 1), I'm not overly convinced on Port yet (but that's just a gut feel) and the Saints overachieved and have now copped a horrid fixture.

What about Geelong?

OKC in the NBA are a rebranded, relocated Supersonics.

It breaks my heart 💔 I hate the OKC with a dying passion. So glad they never won shit with Durrant, Harden and Westbrook. They will never be a rebranded Sonics to me. I hate the NBA because of it.

The Glove to the Reignman 4 Eva. :(

One of the best independent sports docos going round imo, a look at the dirty backdoor deals and lies that go on in the NBA (and politics/city councils) , from heartbroken fan's perspective. Really good watch for anyone who hasn't seen it.

There's no area where Melbourne fans come from, there's no spiritual home anymore, there's no anything.The only reason new Melbourne fans will ever be created are kids of current ones and ones that like the colours.
Meh, once we go b2b2b2b there'll be plenty of new fans jumping on board

FWIW the club's tried to market itself to new arrivals before (there was a "Welcome/Immigration is great!" game back in 2017 against the Saints), I don't know if it's still a thing but I feel like the number of migrant families/international students in the members section was growing heaps.

We have a game free for residents of Casey too.

IMO if fans jump off it won't be because of a lack of identity with any of the existing Vic clubs, it will be because the sport has turned to shit.

Honestly I'd rather we f’ed off he MCG and had our own home ground even if it only held 30k. Atleast we'd have something for the club. We could share it with North and call it the City derby or something. I can't see 9 city teams surviving in the AFL for another 50 years, fans will just die off and cease to exist..
The megastadiums that colleges/high schools have are a result of the huge corparatisation of US sport. It isn't Bobby and Peggy Sue selling snags at Walmart and tin rattling and the school fete that built them. Rich alumni/rich local companies build them, name the stadium after themselves, sponsor them so they can give top talent 'scholarships'.
It's not what I'd consider a great example of grass roots kinda club building.

I do see your point re MFC though. The smaller stadium would be pretty cool. Kinda sad how quick the initial AFL killed off the suburban grounds. They needed some updates but it did take away from the culture of Vic clubs.