Mega Thread General MFC Discussion Part III

Next year if we did it again would be a lot less stressful I reckon (although I always felt like this was destiny after the win vs Geelong in round 23)

But people talking about dynasties, I dont give a **** honestly, we won one and that's all I care about right now

Yeah maybe that could be it. Just hope its not like the soccer where I went from a mad Liverpool supporter regularly getting up at 3am to watching games and then when they won the title a couple of years back I was happy and all but my love for it diminished hard. Now I'll watch some highlights of a game the next day at that is it

I can see how you have athletes (fighters alot of the time) that achieve the pinnacle and they fall away because once they win they just thing 'is this it? I expected getting to the top to feel a lot better.
I don't think I'll watch another rebuild as closely as I have but I reckon you gotta enjoy this team while it lasts.

In fact I'll go as far as saying having enjoyed the flag now Im even more certain I wouldn't have want it played infront of an empty stadium. It wasn't the MCG but that Perth crowd was as close as it gets

So much love for the people of WA. They helped make it pretty damn special. I was a bit flat watching the QF when only 15k rocked up and most of the goals were met with muted applause. Perth made sure it was an absolute show.

Just remembered my dream last night. I'd spent a Grand on Melbourne merchandise including this 100 dollar cheese board. I remember thinking why the **** did I buy this haha.

Next year if we did it again would be a lot less stressful I reckon (although I always felt like this was destiny after the win vs Geelong in round 23)

But people talking about dynasties, I dont give a fu** honestly, we won one and that's all I care about right now

Yeah Im going to be so much more settled going to the game from here on out. When shit hits the fan and we have a bad loss I'm not going to have that little voice in my head questioning if this club is ever going to get its shit together. I'll probably just shrug, say 'not our day' and wander over to the bar for a pint.

I also think part of the flatness is because we played in empty stadiums against Geelong and the Dogs, empty stadium round 22 vs Adelaide etc.
The build up was flat until the second half of the cats game and even that was partially ruined without a crowd.

Then the QF was kinda flat without the crowd.

Wasn't until the prelim that it felt like something special was actually happening.

Our best win of the season was probably against Brissie and it was played infront of 50 people in West Sydney.

Thank thank **** for the Perth footy fans

Yeah Im going to be so much more settled going to the game from here on out. When sh*t hits the fan and we have a bad loss I'm not going to have that little voice in my head questioning if this club is ever going to get its sh*t together. I'll probably just shrug, say 'not our day' and wander over to the bar for a pint.

100%, maybe im just a prisoner of the moment but I dont think id care if they never won another one again while im alive. Its like a weight has been lifted, whatever good happens from here is just gravy

(talk to me again at 3/4 time of the GF next year if we are in it haha)

Yeah Im going to be so much more settled going to the game from here on out. When sh*t hits the fan and we have a bad loss I'm not going to have that little voice in my head questioning if this club is ever going to get its sh*t together. I'll probably just shrug, say 'not our day' and wander over to the bar for a pint.
When we got to 19 points down the Melbourne supporter in me thought it was all over even though this team have proved over and over again they can come back, I never learnt. Now that we've won the premiership I reckon it's shattered that mindset.

im so looking forward to Supermercado blog this week, never met him before but so happy for you mate, reliving the pain that all us Dees fans have felt with a weekly recap over so many years and giving us something to laugh about with it, I mean **** me, I never thought id buy a book about us disgracing ourselves and love every page of it, cant wait for the final chapter ..

I don't think I'll watch another rebuild as closely as I have but I reckon you gotta enjoy this team while it lasts.
Don't get me wrong I'm enjoying it just not quite as much as I expected I would

Sent from my SM-G981B using Tapatalk

When we got to 19 points down the Melbourne supporter in me thought it was all over even though this team have proved over and over again they can come back, I never learnt. Now that we've won the premiership I reckon it's shattered that mindset.
Absolutely this, that shitty negative MFC mindset that so many of us have simply due to the heartache we’ve endured as supporters, feels like that is just gone now, I can watch us play with a calmer head from now on.

Mate you don't care about footy if your side is 19 points down in a GF having only kicked 1 goal in a quarter and a half and you don't start to worry a little.

Difference was I was thinking about everything that could go wrong, but I also knew we always had a chance.

im so looking forward to Supermercado blog this week, never met him before but so happy for you mate, reliving the pain that all us Dees fans have felt with a weekly recap over so many years and giving us something to laugh about with it, I mean fu** me, I never thought id buy a book about us disgracing ourselves and love every page of it, cant wait for the final chapter ..

Supermercado 😍😍😍

It’s that combination of being like “I know I should have faith, we’ve come back from these situations time and time again this season and they’ve proved that they won’t let us down” while simultaneously being like “don’t be childish, there’s no way it can it can happen again, the Dogs are too good to allow it in a GF” and so not really believing in your own faith. That’s the problem with being a sports fan. Ultimately it doesn’t matter how much belief you have or how loudly you cheer - when they’re out there and you’re in the living room nothing you say, do or feel makes any difference to the outcome. It’s weird to invest so much energy in something over which we have such little control or influence.

That’s what makes it so good when it works out

Absolutely this, that shitty negative MFC mindset that so many of us have simply due to the heartache we’ve endured as supporters, feels like that is just gone now, I can watch us play with a calmer head from now on.

A little off topic, I find that travelling has completely changed from 15-20 years ago not just for Melbourne but for all Victorian teams. I've seen good Melbourne sides travel interstate and get absolutely belted, where non Victorian teams always seem to have no problem probably because they're so use to it, probably because 15 years ago the best teams were non Victorian to. This Melbourne team travelling I have no fears, was actually confident we'd beat Port and West Coast.

Mate you don't care about footy if your side is 19 points down in a GF having only kicked 1 goal in a quarter and a half and you don't start to worry a little.

Difference was I was thinking about everything that could go wrong, but I also knew we always had a chance.

Absolutely but I wasn't a little worried, my head was in the oven. Seriously I was hoping to just be in it at 3/4 time. To me the loser mentality started to crack when we were 27 up against Carlton at 3/4 time I just knew we weren't going to lose that, I said to my dad we've won, he wasn't confident but he does have an extra 22 years of mental scarring on me. If we are in a similar situation again in next years grand final I would definitely have a lot more faith, and would be able to rationalise that there is still 40 minutes to play out.

I remember thinking fancifully after the Geelong game ‘we could be 45 points down in a GF now and I’d still be confident’. Given how low I was after the Bont goal, I’m glad it didn’t come to that. Of course, we’d still have won by 52 ;)

yea I saw that , think we all let one of them out on Saturday night and pissed some neighbours off. :tearsofjoy:

Yep, let one of these rip on the siren (and at multiple goals beforehand).

After a full evening on the beers I hit half a bottle of sake when the medal presentations started.

Don't remember going to bed. Apparently I sent all my mates some long, rambling snapchats of celebration while I was downing the sake.

Still not fully recovered yet tbh.

This is it for me too. But if we can get deep into September again next year in an open Melbourne then I'll be going off my head. I want my all nighter in Richmond.

This. I will take the 2021 premiership and it's amazing, but I'm desperate to celebrate it again - in Melbourne, at the game.
Yep. Now I’m hungry for one in Melbourne big time. And if it’s next year we will literally get to party to celebrate back to back flags. It’ll be unreal.

That defiantly would bring me much amusement

I wouldn't say I'm not up just not as emotionally pumped as I always thought I would be

But tbf I'm not a highly emotional person anyway
I'm a bit the same. For me the last half of the 3rd qtr was my emotional high. Was charging around the house after each goal yelling and fist pumping. Once the result was decided it allowed me to just enjoy the rest of the game as a fan as my competitive instinct was no longer needed.

Did have a sook at the end but my dog started punching on with me as I think he sensed weakness.

There are so many things to want and hope for next year unimpeded of the sentiment of ‘just being happy with a flag’. Can we have an even better H&A season, like Geelong in 2008, or go undefeated for longer? Will sides work us out? Will we have any rivalries emerge? I’m fairly confident that if we ever win one at the MCG it’ll feel like the first time again when watching it live, or possibly even better, and I actively hope that other sides continue to improve and push us, whether it’s the Dogs or Swans or Essendon or Brisbane or St Kilda. Even Carlton. Whose dreams can we crush in another GF.

Just get the sense this side can pull off something epic. Essendon had their comeback v North in 2001. It’s just the beginning. So much improvement in this team.

of course we could very easily flop, but one of the joys of winning the flag is that you then have the opportunity to even be a post-flag flop

There are so many things to want and hope for next year unimpeded of the sentiment of ‘just being happy with a flag’. Can we have an even better H&A season, like Geelong in 2008, or go undefeated for longer? Will sides work us out? Will we have any rivalries emerge? I’m fairly confident that if we ever win one at the MCG it’ll feel like the first time again when watching it live, or possibly even better, and I actively hope that other sides continue to improve and push us, whether it’s the Dogs or Swans or Essendon or Brisbane or St Kilda. Even Carlton. Whose dreams can we crush in another GF.

Just get the sense this side can pull off something epic. Essendon had their comeback v North in 2001. It’s just the beginning. So much improvement in this team.

of course we could very easily flop, but one of the joys of winning the flag is that you then have the opportunity to even be a post-flag flop
I am enjoying this massively but back to back, back at the G, is so ****ing tantalising. Saturday night was insane enough, can you imagine getting up back to back and the mother of all parties that will result given we didn’t get one this year?!

A lot of talk about our dream run with injuries this year and rightly so, but it hides the truth - we've built depth and versatility.

- Hunt looked like career over playing forward last year, now became a key coh down back. Back him to make the 22 again next year
- When he goes down, he gets replaced by a first year player (Bowey) who immediately looks amazing
- People talk about Tomlinson being just a '3rd defender' - bullshit, he was one of the best defenders in the comp. Turned him around after a poor 2020 on the wing
- He goes down and we turn Petty into another great defender after some very nervy early games
- Viney was out for quite a while which gave time for Jordon and Sparrow to learn. Both were nothing players before the year
- Brayshaw to the wing, enough said
- We ended up playing out the Tmac/Brown/Weid situation to perfection. It could be better if Weideman can deliver on promise

I'm sure there's more examples...