Mega Thread General MFC Discussion Part III

I agree. I sort of don’t follow some of the logic I’ve read from posters around the place who reckon that if dogs got one more goal they would have broken us or something and we couldn’t have turned it around after that. I reckon we could and would have. The group is clearly resilient plus recent form would give confidence in their capacity to reset and go
Probably more about us all going through some kind of collective recovery from MFCSS

I get the panic but it was 19 points. They are referencing soccer games like we were 10 goals down. It was sh*t but it wasnt a miracle comeback. It was a miracle destruction
Oh God, the panic. Yes. Totally just my emotional state but I was working myself up to a tantrum while stupid partner was crafting some consolation theory that he had always said that we would miss this year but win in 2022. He’s lucky Harmes made that pass to Fritsch because I was close to punching him in the head

Something something go for ya life I'll still tell ya if ya wrong.
What are you doing here anyway? Cant you go to pubs and make a goose of yourself in front of confused Canadians? That’s what I would be doing.

As it is my only option for working off excess adrenaline is to buy some hi-vis, stick a tube of horse wormer up my arse and run around the streets taking shit video

What are you doing here anyway? Cant you go to pubs and make a goose of yourself in front of confused Canadians? That’s what I would be doing.

As it is my only option for working off excess adrenaline is to buy some hi-vis, stick a tube of horse wormer up my arse and run around the streets taking sh*t video
Mate I'm pissed as. Just come home from the pub and I'm doing a 5 man golf game tomorrow. In ****ing rainbows at this point

Honestly when I said that I couldn’t think of something similar in other sports to what we saw Saturday, i wasn’t referencing comebacks and I wasn’t really referencing the domination either.

It was more about the massive momentum shift, and the nonstop waves the Dogs were getting hit with for that 10 minute period in the 3rd. It was one massive play after another- the crowd didn’t have a chance to process one big event and calm down before another of equal or bigger magnitude would hit. Just can’t think of something similar for that extended period of time.

Also, I remembered during one of the rewatches I’ve done, that my low point watching that game wasn’t exactly the Bont goal. It was when shortly thereafter Brayshaw pumped one into a pack in F50 and one of their defenders ended taking a relatively easy mark. And then right after that his rebound bomb was marked relatively easy by English I think, and I was just like “****, this just isn’t going to happen”.

Honestly when I said that I couldn’t think of something similar in other sports to what we saw Saturday, i wasn’t referencing comebacks and I wasn’t really referencing the domination either.

It was more about the massive momentum shift, and the nonstop waves the Dogs were getting hit with for that 10 minute period in the 3rd. It was one massive play after another- the crowd didn’t have a chance to process one big event and calm down before another of equal or bigger magnitude would hit. Just can’t think of something similar for that extended period of time.
Yah I thought it was obvious that’s what the conversation was about, clearly wasn’t that special on the spectrum of pure comebacks from a margin/game status perspective

Also, I remembered during one of the rewatches I’ve done, that my low point watching that game wasn’t exactly the Bont goal. It was when shortly thereafter Brayshaw pumped one into a pack in F50 and one of their defenders ended taking a relatively easy mark. And then right after that his rebound bomb was marked relatively easy by English I think, and I was just like “fu**, this just isn’t going to happen”.

Go have a read of some other gameday threads - main boards or other team boards - and you're not alone. After the third Bont goal, many were calling Dogs premiers and giving Bont the Norm Smith. Can't blame them either, I felt the same way.

No doubt. Not sure why I felt the need to post that just now. Probably because I said elsewhere the Bont goal was the low point. But for me it actually shortly thereafter.

I read through the Doggies gameday thread starting with the Bont goal. Pure entertainment.

No doubt. Not sure why I felt the need to post that just now. Probably because I said elsewhere the Bont goal was the low point. But for me it actually shortly thereafter.

I read through the Doggies gameday thread starting with the Bont goal. Pure entertainment.
Whoever had the idea of watching the replay alongside a gameday thread is a genius. I’m totally going to do that today

The thing I find the funniest is for years when Melbourne are shit, campaigners give it to you all the time. 'Its child abuse making the kids barrack for the Dees', 'you guys should just fold' as so on

Then you win a premiership show some happiness and there is always a few flogs saying 'I know your new to success but be humble' or 'Geez you would think you guys have always been good'

EAD mother ****ers

im so looking forward to Supermercado blog this week, never met him before but so happy for you mate, reliving the pain that all us Dees fans have felt with a weekly recap over so many years and giving us something to laugh about with it, I mean fu** me, I never thought id buy a book about us disgracing ourselves and love every page of it, cant wait for the final chapter ..

Got there in the end (both the flag and the blog). Thanks to you, and to everyone else who has indulged my nonsense all these years.

Also, I remembered during one of the rewatches I’ve done, that my low point watching that game wasn’t exactly the Bont goal. It was when shortly thereafter Brayshaw pumped one into a pack in F50 and one of their defenders ended taking a relatively easy mark. And then right after that his rebound bomb was marked relatively easy by English I think, and I was just like “fu**, this just isn’t going to happen”.

100% there with you. I thought then that they wanted it more and we’d conceded the game.

Got there in the end (both the flag and the blog). Thanks to you, and to everyone else who has indulged my nonsense all these years.

really enjoyed that mate, fantastic recap, props for including your hissy fit over the doona cover, and who needs the club song when you can walk round singing Regulate? :tearsofjoy:

Are you going to add an extra chapter to your book (online version) sort of Chip Le Grande style?

I've noticed most of my mates/colleagues - have been fairly generous in offering their congrats to Melbourne (even most Doggies supporters).

The one supporter base (loud minority I hope) that doesn't seem happy at all with our flag is Richmond. I've had all sorts of snide remarks from Tigers fans - ''too bad you couldnt break your drought at the 'G'' - to ''win two more''..!?

They really have been insufferable these last 4 years, and they cant even be happy with another clubs supporters also break the drought to experience a premiership. The self-loathing is still there!

Loved reading through the fisted forever files after we won... very cathartic experience.

Also picked up your latest book for fathers day and my Dad loved it, read it in a day and sent it back for me to read :tearsofjoy:

really enjoyed that mate, fantastic recap, props for including your hissy fit over the doona cover, and who needs the club song when you can walk round singing Regulate? :tearsofjoy:

Currently watching Young Guns to continue the Regulator theme.

Love your ‘facebook post of the week’ videos you used to do when we were pox, some brilliant moments of peak dreadful dees in there, loved the blog too!