foxdog50

Australia (Cricket)
Tell me why the hells name isnt Cameron Whites isnt in the Australia Test Side... His the best Captain going around in Australia, He made over 100 against Engalnd for Australia A.. I know he doesnt have the best Av going around but he doesnt have the worst... And also His got the Symonds/Gilchrist factor about him too, if we need to make runs in a hurry, than White is your man...

What you all think???:D

Tell me why the hells name isnt Cameron Whites isnt in the Australia Test Side... His the best Captain going around in Australia, He made over 100 against Engalnd for Australia A.. I know he doesnt have the best Av going around but he doesnt have the worst... And also His got the Symonds/Gilchrist factor about him too, if we need to make runs in a hurry, than White is your man...

He's probably the 10th best bat in the country but that's good enough for excellent leadership and White's certainly the best skipper in the country. Can't value leadership too highly. It can change teams. I'll take a couple of points drop in the batting average for great leadership. I like Clarke but White would be a new start from the old boy's club. I feel we need to start afresh with new players, new leaders etc....
There are a miriad of other reasons why he should be in the test side but ive already expressed these many times else where on big footy.

This isn't England, the days of picking Captains a la Brearley, Gatting, Cowdrey are gone. You pick the best players and choose a captain. Not pick a captain and then hide him in the side. England don't even do this anymore.

White is a bog standard long form of the game cricketer, he isn't a world class batsmen and an ordinary bowler at best. he can't justify a place in either position. Surely we aren't picking guys now because they can field great in the slips cordon.

And quick runs? This is half the problem with our batting now. We needs blokes who can construct an innings. Blokes who can hit a quick 40-50 are no good to us if we lose the game on day 4. And lets not kid ourselves he's not half as talented as Gilly or Symo were. We need test batsmen not one day sloggers who reckon they can bat in a longer form.

Can someone explain his wonderful leadership credentials which make him the best captain in Australia? I can't see anything to justify selecting a borderline top 10 batsman just because I've heard he can captain.

Has done nothing this year with the bat, and although has been fairly solid with the bat in previous seasons, he has been outperformed quite substantially by batsmen such as Khawaja, Klinger, Smith and Hughes in those seasons.

I rate him at about 10 in the country. At best. Has a good tactical brain but needs to do more with the bat. Believe me he isnt even close to being considered for the test team.

Can someone explain his wonderful leadership credentials which make him the best captain in Australia? I can't see anything to justify selecting a borderline top 10 batsman just because I've heard he can captain.
Ill explain. Hes a winner.He captains sides that win.I like winning.

Some Victorians need to chillax.

So White scored a century in an Australia A match. Big freaking deal. His batting this season has been decidedly mediocre, other than one single innings. Just accept it... HE DOESN'T DESERVE TO BE IN THE SIDE.

Surprised the difference it makes, Fish rots at the head with bad leadership/captaincy but the reverse happens with outstanding leadership. Can make a side. Not as if he can't bat this Test level as I wouldn't want him in if he could only average 20. I'll take an average of 36 if the side functions as a real unit. Brearley is a great example. Bringing him back in the 1981 series changed the absolute course of it after Botham struggled severely in the job. Mark Taylor was another during one of the real horrific form slumps. His captaincy was worth way more than the runs he wasn't making. Sides thrive on good leadership. That is not arguable.

Once of the beauties of watching cricket for 45 years and having coached elite sport, albeit individual sport, you see and understands that. Some times it's not always about the stats.

Surprised the difference it makes, Fish rots at the head with bad leadership/captaincy but the reverse happens with outstanding leadership. Can make a side. Not as if he can't bat this Test level as I wouldn't want him in if he could only average 20. I'll take an average of 36 if the side functions as a real unit. Brearley is a great example. Bringing him back in the 1981 series changed the absolute course of it after Botham struggled severely in the job. Mark Taylor was another during one of the real horrific form slumps. His captaincy was worth way more than the runs he wasn't making. Sides thrive on good leadership. That is not arguable.

Once of the beauties of watching cricket for 45 years and having coached elite sport, albeit individual sport, you see and understands that. Some times it's not always about the stats.

David Hookes was the best Captain in Australia for years. learned from Les Favell and Ian Chappell, was attacking and had loads of flair, a magnificent strokeplayer who didn't play enough test cricket due to an undoubted technical flaw with his feet against really fast bowlers, and probably getting cracked on the head by a West Indian missile didn't help that.

You don't pick him to Captain tho' for that reason, his test record didn't warrant him in the team. If the team is playing well, winning captaincy is easy in cricket. Cam White would make zero difference, he could't lead from the front in batting and bowling and he could't assist the rest of the ageing warriors either.

Never said anything about stats. If he could be this wonder captain that everyone talks about I'd be happy for him to average 36 as well, but what have we seen to suggest this will happen? I'd say its very close to nothing.

As for your final paragraph, hand off it mate, we're all on equal pegging when it comes to forum posting. We're all just anonymous punters having our say. If someone/you can show me/tell me an example of his great leadership I'd be happy to hear but, but it's yet to happen.

Hes a better bowler then smith

hes a better batter then smith

hes a better fielder then smith

hes a better leader then ponting and clarke combined

thats why he isnt in the side, far too logical!

The conventional wisdom is that he some some flaws in his technique against good pace bowling. His hundred in the second innings for Aus A is not yet enough to convince the selectors he has corrected those problems. Like Hughes, a very good player at state level but not quite there for the next.

Forget all his captaincy and stuff, he needs to show that he is the complete batsman first before he deserves to be chosen.

The conventional wisdom is that he some some flaws in his technique against good pace bowling. His hundred in the second innings for Aus A is not yet enough to convince the selectors he has corrected those problems. Like Hughes, a very good player at state level but not quite there for the next.

Forget all his captaincy and stuff, he needs to show that he is the complete batsman first before he deserves to be chosen.

hes a number 6/7, not an opener. on the topic of hughes, a average of 12 isnt exacvtly great at state level, i think even i could get that

He doesn't deserve a place in the team on form. Mark Cosgrove FTW!

Could be given a go, but his technical deficiencies mean that a well drilled bowling unit (ie England) shouldn't be too troubled by him

Should not be captain, what proof is there that he is the best captain in the country?? He has been blessed with excellent players at Victoria, much as Ponting was for the first part of his reign

Hes a better bowler then smith

hes a better batter then smith

hes a better fielder then smith

hes a better leader then ponting and clarke combined

White is a vastly inferior bowler to Smith
On recent shield records he is on par with Smith as a batsman.

If as Jim says he can average 36+ in test cricket then I'll be glad to have him in the team.

I just don't think he is capable of averaging 36+

The pity is that because of the selectors we have no idea whether or not he can average 36+

hes a number 6/7, not an opener. on the topic of hughes, a average of 12 isnt exacvtly great at state level, i think even i could get that

I think you've missed the gist of the comparison. The point is he is a good player at domestic level but hasn't got the technique to lift it to the next level. or at least that's what commentators have been saying the last couple of weeks when they've been looking at who to pick for the 'next' test.

Hes a better bowler then smith no he isn't, far from it

hes a better batter then smith to no real level, he certainly isn't more talented, just older

hes a better fielder then smith not discernibly, the catch he took off the last ball of the day at the WACA was a scorcher, White is an excellent slip fielder but they are on par

hes a better leader then ponting and clarke combined has nothing to do with anything, I think Michael Klinger is a better Captain he just doesn't have the same cattle at his disposal

or some perspective.

Firstly, I am a Victorian, and Cameron White should NOT be in the test side. His Shield average this year is deplorable and everyone is only looking at his ODI Form.

Cam White will be out of his league if he plays test cricket. He is an ODI and T20 player ONLY!

Last 3 seasons white has been averaging about 50 FC (this season below that)

He also brings maturity.

And before you start yelping about technical flaws, he still getting runs, Punter, Hughes, smith and clarke aren't.

White also has personal discipline in his play and leadership and training.

Something a few others could take a look at.

And folks have noted that victorian form and success is greater than the sum of its parts.

That has to do with the leadership on and off the field.