Give Marshy a break

spindoctor

Suspended
Adelaide Crows
Marsh had all the ability to be a great ruckman, but you have to admit he was hard done by with injuries and then when he was fit, the growing partnership of Biglands and Clarke.

He had around-the-ground skills, played some useful games both up forwards and down back.

You must also admit that he would have got incredibly disheartened by getting so many injuries, and being under extreme pressure to perform whenever he went out on the park - which was only in the absence of one of Biglands or Clarke.

I think a lot of you guys give him an overly hard time. Yes, his time is over, but perhaps once he had the skills to have been a gun player. Kind of sad the way things have panned out for him.

Seriously, the guy is a dud.

He does only get limited chances, but that's because when he does get one he doesn't grab it with both hands.

His reputation really relies on one good game against Sydney at Sydney when playing as a forward pocket he kicked 3 goals I think it was, very early in his career.

I'm sure he's a great guy, but he's not a great footballer.

Yet there are plenty of players we've been happy to see get an extended run to grab their chance...

Marshy hasn't really had that...whether by injury or by selection

Originally posted by spindoctor

I think a lot of you guys give him an overly hard time. Yes, his time is over, but perhaps once he had the skills to have been a gun player. Kind of sad the way things have panned out for him.
I will give Benny boy a break when he starts playing well in AFL level ;)

I do kinda feel sorry for him though..well wherever he goes (hope fully not here) I hope he plays some good footy :p

Marsh had all the ability to be a great ruckman, but you have to admit he was hard done by with injuries and then when he was fit, the growing partnership of Biglands and Clarke.

he's been a round a long time...

Many footballers have had the misfortune of injury and a loss of form and ability because of it - in fact, if there was a nightclub for these Coulda-Shoulda-Woulda players there'd be a velvet rope and 20 bouncers with a collective IQ of 7 out front and a queue stretching from the door to Darwin to get in.

This was Mr. Marsh's sixth season at the Adelaide Football Club.

He's had more chances than most.

Yet there are plenty of players we've been happy to see get an extended run to grab their chance...

Marshy hasn't really had that...whether by injury or by selection

If we give him anymore time (I think hes had 6 seasons already!) hell be up for a 10 year service life membership before he reaches 100 games ;-) lmao!

I agree with Spin, Marsh is not the greatest talent in the AFL but he's nowhere near as bad as people on this board suggest.

We were pretty lucky this season in that Bigglands played every game and Clarke only missed 2. Chances are that they'll miss a few more between them next year and Marsh might get a few more chances to play.

Personally I hope he gets traded to another club that need a ruck or a second ruck, that way he'll get far more game time and will prove a lot of you wrong, I hope.

Don't underestimate the effect that serious injury can have on a player, physically and psychologically. Look at Lade, he was ordinary for over a year, then when he finally hit his straps again he was the Power's best player in the finals.

Originally posted by MaccasNeighbour
Personally I hope he gets traded to another club that need a ruck or a second ruck, that way he'll get far more game time and will prove a lot of you wrong, I hope.
The problem is no other team wants him. Even the teams that would kill for a ruckman are not iterested. I would love to trade him because that way we might get something for him but fair dinkum does he give me the sh|ts.

He has all the skills and ability you want in a ruckman but he has no bloody ticker. He needs a heart transplant. In SANFL grand final when he had a chance to step up and show everyone he is not finished, he doeas **** all. He only played well for 10 minutes. He got smashed by bloody Scouller who is an ordinary ruckman.

Re: Re: Give Marshy a break

Originally posted by macca23
Which of his legs do you want broken??

Kane McGoodwin's your man to do that!! :D
lol, I may hate the guy being on our list, but I'm not that cruel! ;)

Originally posted by MaccasNeighbour
We have a deal.

Couldn't care less who Marshmellow plays for, as long as it is not us. Would give me the same satisfaction of watching D Gallagher play for Blues against us last year. ;)

PS. I have never doubted Marsh's talent, but his ticker.

Hmmm.

I just checked the calendar and today is not April 1...

:confused:

Marshy used to be pretty good in his first year. I still reckon his AFL debut was he best game just about. 3 goals against sydney. He has got worse with age I reckon.