Kickett Punches Read

South Mandurah Football Club
hey guys, great game tonight, especially given your injuries.... I wanted to bring up Paul Bower's efforts tonight, now some of you would have seen me post on here before in regards to PB... he is a mate of mine, but irregardless of that, he was fantastic tonight I thought, kept vickery to 3 touches, and also did a good job on miller when he was on him. his disposal and decision making was first rate.... im sure you all know it, but you really have a player there if he is injury free... whats your thoughts?

*Pat pat*

Did better than all of us expected I think. And I mean that in the most respectful way.

Bower the Power.

Fantastic game from Paul. He and Russell are without doubt the two biggest confidence players on our list, and he will take great heart from tonight's performance.

Yep, he's not a good matchup for gorillas but does well on the mobile types. Seems to be fit and giving it a good shot as he would have known he was first on the chopping block when Jamo comes back. Now he has made the selectors job very hard. Well done Emu.

hey guys, great game tonight, especially given your injuries.... I wanted to bring up Paul Bower's efforts tonight, now some of you would have seen me post on here before in regards to PB... he is a mate of mine, but irregardless of that, he was fantastic tonight I thought, kept vickery to 3 touches, and also did a good job on miller when he was on him. his disposal and decision making was first rate.... im sure you all know it, but you really have a player there if he is injury free... whats your thoughts?

Look don't get your hopes up waiting for a rush of responses. Many posters here have bagged the poor guy and will probably keep a low profile for a while. His decision making is fine. May not look pretty but he is effective. Today's performance confirmed what I have been saying all along. How Davies got a game ahead of him in the finals last year remains one of life's great mysteries.

Dirk

Bower the Power.

Fantastic game from Paul. He and Russell are without doubt the two biggest confidence players on our list, and he will take great heart from tonight's performance.
beg to differ
bower is a workhorse and he knows it
he works his butt off on and off the field
he knows his limitations but knows what he can do
with a healthy body he becomes an important cog in the machine that is defence. He will never carry the load himself but united with a stable and talented backline will be great again.
people lose faith too soon

Look don't get your hopes up waiting for a rush of responses. Many posters here have bagged the poor guy and will probably keep a low profile for a while. His decision making is fine. May not look pretty but he is effective. Today's performance confirmed what I have been saying all along. How Davies got a game ahead of him in the finals last year remains one of life's great mysteries.

Dirk

yeah no worries, if there is one thing i have worked out on big footy, its that perceptions and opinions change very quickly in the out of favour direction, but are often hard to change back into the in favour direction. Paul has torn his quad 4 times in the last 18 months, he just hasnt had a good run at it, but I honestly believe that he will have a cracker of a season this year. I noticed that not much had been said about him, and he really did perform well, so i thought id see what you guys think

He was really good. Positioned himself well in contests, held his ground, some great spoils, and good recovery. Some nice kicks off the non-preferred as well. You can tell he's put a lot of work into his game over the pre-season.

:)

Looked like the player he was a couple of years ago, before his cruel run with injury that sapped him of confidence.

I perservered for a while, in the knowledge that when fit he's a very handy player, but I admit that towards the end of 2011 I'd lost faith in him.

Very happy for him to prove me wrong and tonight was a great first step. :thumbsu:

beg to differ
with a healthy body he becomes an important cog in the machine that is defence. He will never carry the load himself but united with a stable and talented backline will be great again.

What are you begging to differ about?

I know for a fact that Paul has had confidence issues in the past.

So good to see him fit and back to his old ways! he can definitely keep his spot in the team if he continues to play like he did last night. Good to have some depth in the backline for once.

He played well. I remember when he come across most supporters on here said he was going to be a gorilla type backmen. He has played well in patches with his running and marking but often it was his delivery that hurt him. He dropped off badly after injury. I hope this was the start of his big comeback and best to come and amazing skill improvement.

Played very well tonight, happy to see him running around injury free. As I have said before, he is perfect at the third man up as his recovery is good enough that he can then get to the fall of the ball like he did a few times tonight.

He is probably undersized for a KP in defence but will be very handy along with Hendo and Jamo for teams with three talls, and he goes alright on the smaller types as well.

May just have added another hour to Match Committee meetings for the next couple of weeks. Hope he can stay in the 22 all year, he deserves a bit of luck with injuries.

So good to see him fit and back to his old ways! he can definitely keep his spot in the team if he continues to play like he did last night. Good to have some depth in the backline for once.
Totally agree, but still has a long way to go, his physical reach and body contact is where he needs to be, not fill the space and just cover an area for them to make a mistake...(Brisbane final 2008) bradshaw snap...has the potential but needs the confidence.

I thought his first half was very solid. Fatigued, along with the rest of the team, in the 3rd.
After hearing all the negativity this preseason from certain bf experts, thought he beat his opponent comfortably.

beg to differ

I remember a few seasons ago when we were without Jamison, Henderson, Laidler, Yarran, etc down back, he really did carry the load.

I'm not gonna lie - I thought he might get chopped up tonight. Was pleasantly surprised he got himself into good position and kept things simple, spoiling effectively and safely towards the boundary, etc.

We KNOW he's got so much better football in him than we've seen the past few years - I really hope he finds consistency in an appropriate regular role in the side.

Like Laidler, will SURELY benefit from the added protection of Jamison AND Henderson when we (finally) get those two on the park together.

Look don't get your hopes up waiting for a rush of responses. Many posters here have bagged the poor guy and will probably keep a low profile for a while.

How Davies got a game ahead of him in the finals last year remains one of life's great mysteries.

Dirk
Better to praise Bower whilst getting in a shot at Davies? :thumbsd:

Third tall who took Miller v medium defender in Davies who kept a gun in LeCras to two goals.

Bower doesn't do well on stronger forwards such as Liam Jones, Jack Riewoldt and Cloke.

Thought he played well on Taylor Walker who isn't a real giant.
I hope this was the start of his big comeback and best to come and amazing skill improvement.
Skill was there before he broke down with injuries. Was kicking well with both feet in the corresponding match two years ago. Think he gets a bum wrap due to his style of taking them on and using his agility to rebound. Takes chances like Yarran who obviously has a lot more skill and talent, but also dices with death with the way he plays.