Review Good, Bad & Ugly vs Essendon

• Thread starter Thread starter Scorpus

Good

We are at least consistent. Consistently shit away from home.

Bad

We have the worst game plan in the AFL.
It appears every team does their homework on the crows and we watch TV instead. Why does it always seem that we are the hunted and we are so arrogantly going about our own shitty business, we never seem to be the hunter...and we need to be!

Ugly

I was at the game FFS

Good post in general but on this 'we're a middle of the road team, what do you expect' stuff... isn't that the issue that should be ringing alarm bells for every AFC staffer and member?

We're middle of the road now, two key planks (Rutten and Thompson) are winding up soon, plus we have less young talent to work with than all the other clubs due to the Tippett saga.

It's an emergency as far as I'm concerned and our reaction seems to be steady as she goes.
No I don't think it is steady as she goes. This is a game day thread, so I was specifically addressing yesterdays game in the context of this year. And in that context, it was not a bad display. Yes the first 5 minutes was unacceptable and needs to be addressed. But for the remainder of the game, the Crows played pretty well against a decent opposition. That being said, I was not, and am not, happy we lost. It annoys me that we have now suffered the same fate three times this year.

Now taking a step back, I expect wholesale changes to the coaching staff (and hopefully the admin team) at the end of the year, and if there is not, I will be bitterly disappointed. But this is not the thread to discuss that. And nothing I saw yesterday changed my opinion on where the club is at this year.

Good:
Fought back: Sure, we shouldn't of been in that position, but i mean it is decently encouraging that they made a game out of it. baby steps.
We were attacking for most of the game, you know, it will take a season or so to jell and replacing Bickley and Campo are arguably must do for set up sake but i mean, we didn't sit back and try to do damage control after being 5-6 goals down.
Jacobs: Really had a good game
Sloane: Did his bit defensively, still a touch off.
Jenkins: 4 goals is a good game in anyone book. Still needs to do work and reckon they should have a set piece where he handballs to Betts when he is <30m out but you can feel a breakout game coming.
Talia/Rutten: Business as usual
Smith: Tagged by was still effective. Good game.
Brown and Laird: Bar a couple of moments played well.

Bad:
Douglas: Really looks like he needs a few weeks off, I'd be tempted to put him out to pasture and get him right for 2015.
Got killed on the overlap, we struggle against running teams
So many errors, Mackay in the 2nd with the what should of certain goal, Walker with the dropped mark and many missed disposal.
Missed to many early.

Ugly:
Dangerfield: I love him and at his best is one of the best in the AFL but seriously, he is injured. Give him a rest for a few weeks, we're not going anywhere this season, don't wreck him for a lost cause.
First quarter: Essendon couldn't do a thing wrong and just carved us up. A bridge to far.
Umpiring was damn inconsistent and there were a few shockers.
Skills errors, it deserves another mention.

All in all, that was a baby steps game.

Yep and that is what we should be basing the decision on - what the goal umpire directly under the post sees ... nothing else.

Yep. Either use a review system properly or don't use it at all. I've had a gutful of the AFL doing a half-arsed job in so many areas - the review is just another one.

TooFar

If we're just middle of the road, why don't we make the right changes (on and off field) to make us a power house again? Should we just be happy being middle fo the road?

Why are we continually lied to as well? Sando sprouts lots of BS, Trigg and Chapman the same. I've had a gutful.

I've said it many times on this board, and i'm sure i'll say it again:

"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result"

That's the AFC in a nutshell
I hope we do make wholesale changes. I don't think anyone is happy we are a middle of the road club, certainly not me. But looking at our recent history, I don't think any quality judge of football, would have picked the Crows as a legitimate top 4 team this year. My expectation was between 10 and 6. I'm upset when we lose, but also realistic.

We are lied to because we have poor administration that are doing what they can to mask their mistakes. The club "sells" an upbeat and positive message about the club because that is partly their job. They need to make money.

If you step back and look at the last 4 or 5 years, there are mitigating circumstances that explain why we are where we are. The club admin has a lot to do with these issues, but they can not be laid 100% at the feet of the admin.

UGLY

Our destiny has been set until we win a flag. Every week until then the media will remind us of how we build ourself up and just let ourselfs down. Until we control the media with the mindset, we go into every quarter, every game to improve from the last. This shits gonna repeat. We have a mental problem, we're playing anxious footy.

Bad

Goddard carving us up when danger played injured injured. Someone needed to belt him. We would of won then.

GOOD

Looks like the new CEO is trying to change VFL umpire culture.

I'm so sick of the blaming of Sando for everything so people come up with on this board.

You do know, the players are the people who play the game. They are the ones who miss the targets and the goals abd the marks.

You are obviously a fan of Sando's
That is your right as a member or supporter

Yes, the players kick and miss targets etc as you note
However, is it not the coach that 'reach's' these skills, finds time in the program to hone these skills?
Its not hard to find time - maybe do it in lieu of one of his dinners with Rob Chapman or dog walks on the beach with Cornesy?

You questioned once what Port did not like about him (or something like that)?
Quite a bit apparently but significantly the term 'poser' came up often, self before team. (remember the tv time at the Geelong GF win once he left?)
He loves attention

Im glad we showed Essendon No Mercy too. You can bet that was a discussion point in the locker room at Windy Hill

He sounds so much more intelligent when he says nothing :/

Look that's just crazy talk

Then call me crazy Alex.

Line coaches and development coaches spend far more time with the players than the senior coach does. The line and development coach develop and enhance the player skills and understanding of how to put that into a game sense.

The senior coach develops the game day strategies, team training techniques and team cohesion.

The assistant, line and development coaches have far more responsibility when it comes to player development.

Then call me crazy Alex.

Line coaches and development coaches spend far more time with the players than the senior coach does. The line and development coach develop and enhance the player skills and understanding of how to put that into a game sense.

The senior coach develops the game day strategies, team training techniques and team cohesion.

The assistant, line and development coaches have far more responsibility when it comes to player development.

Assistant line and development coaches has tasks and duties, the head coach has responsibility

I've always thought this. The posts should be like they are in every other sport - non-scoring obstacles. Hits the post and goes through for a goal then it's a goal, hits the point post and goes through for a behind then it's a behind, hits the post and bounces back into play then it's play on! Would eliminate any contentious calls and create some excitement for bounce-backs.
I would award a point for a ball that touches a goal post and bounces into play.

Disgusting effort early which condemned us to chase it and we were never winning the game. So pissed off with everything AFC at the moment. Really don't want to go next week.

I'm going with five Power supporting mates.

It's going to be a nightmare.

I'll bet heavily on Port, and hope they thrash us badly enough to have our Admin walk and our coach sacked.

Gotta try and find the positives ;)

Dangerfield: I love him and at his best is one of the best in the AFL but seriously, he is injured. Give him a rest for a few weeks, we're not going anywhere this season, don't wreck him for a lost cause.
Déjà vu, Thompson 2013.:(

What's worse is that we miss out on an opportunity to develop someone else in that role, we're a myopic club.

I'm going with five Power supporting mates.

It's going to be a nightmare.

I'll bet heavily on Port, and hope they thrash us badly enough to have our Admin walk and our coach sacked.

Gotta try and find the positives ;)

Hate to give you a "like" for this but have to admit the same thought did cross my mind.

OK, just got back after a weekend in Melbourne. Watched the game from behind the goals so I watched what all players were doing, which is probably something you don't get on TV.

So with that in mind...

Rutten: One of my fave players over the journey but he needs to do the honourable thing and retire and the club should encourage it. I know we all say he is slow and has always been slow but it is way too easy to catch him out these days when there is space behind him.

Martin: Maybe a super sub but just not worth persisting with as a full time player. There were contests he sat off when he needed to go which were embarrassing. either he thinks he doesn't belong at this level or he just doesn't. Anyways, you can't have Jaensch, Rielly and Martin in the same side

Lyons: If he wants to play this level...and he looks like he can, then he has to learn how to tackle

Pods: He has to go when Lynch is back. If I find out he had the flu...and was heavily sedated, I will forgive that but we need more.

Thommo: Got heaps of it last night, refuses to two way run, I think that is a huge issue

Co Captains: Ineffectual

Laird: The Dons identified a good match up on him and we didn't react leaving him one on one with Zaka. I get the feeling we have dented this kids confidence as he isn't playing on instinct like last year and a player of his size needs to act on instinct.

Brown: Whomever says this kid should go out ought to watch what a little thug this kid is when the ball isn't there. I'd hate to be matched up on him in a game as he punches the shit out of his opponent

Jacobs: We'd be screwed without him, really screwed. His tap work made Thommo look good

Jenkins, Tex: Ok, need to play further back to be effectual, Lynch should change the dynamics of our forward line.

Betts: Really good game, he needs Jetts back in the side, Wright is little help as a defensive forward

Reilly...was actually very good last night, supreme footskills

Smith: He needs to be played in the middle, I don't care what he brings to our backline he can be a weapon. No doubt Campo isn't speaking up loud enough at team meetings because if he was we wouldn't be wasting him.

Douglas: Absolutely useless, should have traded him and kept Bernie last year

We need a forward coach, we need a strong one as well

I thought that we just didn't have the polish to get ourselves over the line because we fought back into it but we dropped marks, missed sitters or kicked over guys heads when we should have far better footskills. In fact, all those mistakes in the last 5 minutes were indicative of us as a team, we are a very good side whom aren't playing for each other just yet. To come back from that deficit away and control the match showed what we are capable of, giving up a 7 goal start and then basic skill errors have shown what sort of team we have become.

What we need is:

less slowness in the back line

Mids who will two way run

Jetts and a forward coach

Darren Jarman as a skills and goalkicking coach. I mean if the Power will pay Burgess 400k and the results speak for themselves, how would having someone to teach our players how to kick to each other and for goal, not benefit our team?

Am I the only person who believes it was a goal?
I was there. It happened "right in front of me." The ball hit the post, absolutely no doubt. Everybody where I was sitting knew it was a point, Essendon supporters included.

Just so we all know, here's the centre bounce numpties that led to the Essendon demolition and a 42-9 lead late in the 1st.

Of the 8 bounces, Essendon cleared 6 (one would've been a Douglas clearance but Kerridge gave a free away), one led to a subsequent ball up, and one was scrubbed laterally by Kerridge with Dangerfield handing the ball to opposition with basic handball error at the secondary pack. So 6-1-1 might as well have been 7-1-0 (Essendon-Neutral-Adelaide).

Awesome start to the match in which we were assured we were getting off the roller coaster.

So who contested the 8 bounces:

Jacobs 8/8
Thompson 7/8
Kerridge 7/8
Dangerfield 6/8
Douglas 3/8
Sloane 1/8.

Well done to the leaders (and tagger) :rolleyes::cry:

Choosing to stop watching this joke of a footy club is the greatest thing I ever did. I'm not wasting my weekends on this shit anymore. Maybe I'll start caring again when the players do.

Okay, no mean to have a dig at you, but it's absolute wank posts like this that shits me off, from our so called 'supporters.'

That was an absolute cracker of a game last night. Things didnt really go our way in the 4th and the result may have been different on any other day, but we took it it to Essendon for sure.

We are young team though, this week to week up and down business is to be expected, as much as myself and every other supporter hates it and wants it to stop. If you can't support the guys through the thick and the thin, then don't bother altogether.

We missed McKay in the second half

He was a HUGE loss in my eyes, a loss understated on this board. We needed him mopping up on the half back line and delivering some quality balls forward. Instead we had sloane and Talia kicking it over people's head constantly...

Gee wouldn't it be nice as a middle of the road team hoping to climb the ladder to have some young latent 1st and 2nd round talent waiting to be developed from the 2012/13 drafts…especially if we could get a decent admin in order to create positive change.

Unfortunately unlike Port that hasn't happened for us (Thanks Triggy and Co), oh and we won't get a new decent admin (Thanks Triggy and Co), oh and we won't be getting heaps of handouts either (but as a middle of the road profit club we will pay over our dues to equalise the comp for the poor Cola's etc out there).

Cant say I'm feeling all that positive about the AFC atm.