Bird Man

76ers
I reckon we should have a good Friday clash like Anzac day with another big club !

Maby the demons or the kangas ?

Big clubs Melbourne or North Melbourne? cough!
If Good Friday gets introduced I'd love to see the Roos get a regular gig seeing as they were the prioneers of Friday night footy and seem to have been shafted ever since.

despite being a devout non practising christian, i don't have too many problems with it. i'm sure they'd be able to work through minor technicalities such as the sale of MEAT pies being subbed for Fish & chips:p

and how it would interfere with the childrens hospital appeal I don't know, if anything it could really benefit it

Big clubs Melbourne or North Melbourne? cough!
If Good Friday gets introduced I'd love to see the Roos get a regular gig seeing as they were the prioneers of Friday night footy and seem to have been shafted ever since.

Yep just spat my coffee all over the pc screen when I read the OP and you beat me to the reply:D

Cant see AFL giving the kangas another chance as they struggle to get 15k to a game at the moment. Not happy they are being shoved toward tassie but hey its AFL and I will go watch.

Yesterday was a dreadfull boring day and a game of footy on the box would have been a hell of a lot better than chasing the mower around the lawn.

Could be an opportunity for Benny to take a proposal to Adolf Demetiou and put our hand up for this game vs carltank instead of the season opener?

and how it would interfere with the childrens hospital appeal I don't know, if anything it could really benefit it

There's the sollution right there.

Play the Charity cup every good friday and televise the game live.
Make the broadcaster run the donation phone line through the game, on the scoreboard etc. The AFL or Clubs involved to half the gate takings with the Childrens hospital.
Donations at the game.
Surely the higher power would approve.

Doesn't every state do the Royal childrens appeal anyway? So playing Rugby hasn't interferred with it. If anything it would benefit it with having tin rattlers at a game with 60k+.

I think it is only a matter of time. Being a Christian however, I am not sure how I feel about it. I guess, like Anzac Day it just needs to be timed away from the morning church services which really shouldn't be a problem.

Good Friday is really such a quiet day, perhaps a game in the late afternoon or evening could be ok.
........now she waits to be struck by lightning. :p

The timing of Easter, it's ceremonies and duration is all based on Pagan rituals relating to fertility (Eostre), the Cristians just supplanted it....and don't get me started on 'Christmas' :rolleyes:......... so, I wouldn't give a toss if a game held on GF upset some christians....but I do enjoy the fact that on that day families and friends can get away from the grind....so no footy for me.

Love it lets feed them to the lions.........But your right , and if good easter is so religious why do other religions celebrate it on different dates?

Like the tradition of not playing footy on Good Friday, most shops are closed and most people eat fish. Let's leave it that way. At the end of the day, we have footy on Thurs nyt, Saturday, Saturday night, Sunday, Sunday twilight, Monday, Tuesday this year.. Surely you can go one day without it??

I go out of my way to eat a steak on Good Friday
We go 4 days of the week without football, so why is there the need to have another day off?

Yeah, rugby play on good friday too.

And so is Victorian country footy. 3 games in the Ballarat league this Good Friday. I would love to see Richmond v Hawks make it their day

Get rid of these two days for starters. How piss poor no Saturday arvo on at the G this long weekend. And to think Hawks and the Cats are still 3 days away.

And on a side note, does anyone know why their is footy on in Perth this coming Thursday night?

Is that like the Hōnen Matsuri fertility festival or the Kanamara Matsuri practiced in japan?
If they include lots of rooting, then yes:D

Beltane

(May Eve, April 30th-May 1st) Most important to pagans, save for Samhain, I don't know of any Pagan group that doesn't celebrate this holiday in some way. Beltane is the great Fertility rite of life, starting at dusk on the 30th and continuing until the dawn of the 1st. The union of the God and Goddess to conceive the sun-child to be takes place upon this holiday, no matter which tradition of paganism is involved. Beltane is the one holiday most discouraged by the Christians, who didn't even use it as a point for a holiday of their own because the power and nature of the day involved. Still, even in Christianized Ireland the May day dance of the Maypole remained, as did the giving of flowers to those you loved or cared for as friends. The Maypole is a symbol of the union of the God and Goddess to create life, the pole itself a phallic symbol while the dancers and their streamers or vines of flowers represent the fertile womb of the goddess as it takes in the Phallus of the god and takes in his seed. Besides the Maypole often a bonfire is present, and members of the group are encouraged to jump the flames for luck and their own fertility. Food, drink and love are the order of the evening. In most sects the celebration of Beltane will become one large orgy as the participants are encouraged to enact their own unions of love. Beltane is the time of many marriages/handfastings in the pagan community (in some it is the point where one chooses to begin and end relationships of a physical nature). Clothing is very optional in most get-togethers on this holiday, and mostly it is sensual and colorful. Even those sects that are prudish about things tend to accept the rules of the holiday, as it is the holiday of free love. It is said that a child conceived on this day will grow up to wield great power and knowledge and to be healthier than upon any other.

How did we ever let the Zealots take that away from us!