• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

• Dont care

Last time I checked there isn't anything in the bible that says, though shalt not play Aussie Rules on any particular Friday. Besides the events described in the bible didn't even take place on a Friday, let alone this particular Friday. And while Australia may have a large amount of Christians in it, and the nation is supposedly built on Christian values I see no reason to not play a game on the day.

the real issue is that we live in a secular society. under those conditions there is no excuse, no room, and no grounds for even arguing that good friday should be set subject to unique restrictions on the basis of religious grounds.

are shops even allowed to open yet?

the real issue is that we live in a secular society. under those conditions there is no excuse, no room, and no grounds for even arguing that good friday should be set subject to unique restrictions on the basis of religious grounds.

are shops even allowed to open yet?

Dammit - I am always suspicious of my opinions when I realise they're the same as yours.

OF COURSE there should be football. And shopping. And whatever other business you want to do. Same as on Hannukah (or whatever).

Firstly I'm not a Christian, nor do I believe in god, we just exist, then we die, end of story.

However

I do agree with the no footy on Good Friday convention.

Reason why is that it is a very special day, probably the most important day, for Christians, & Australia is predominantly a Christian society

It is not a day of celebration for them, for this is the day that some joker, who went around saying "be nice to others", snuffed it nailed to some wood.

Whereas other significant Christian days, like Christmas & Easter Sunday are days of celebration for them. Christmas coz some kid was born, & Easter Sunday coz the kid supposedly rose from the grave.

From the above I see the difference between the days, Christians are supposed to have fun days, but on Good Friday they are supposed to be sombre, introspective.

We also need to consider the thoughts & wishes of the blokes who actually entertain us, that is the players.

Would the players who are also strictly Christian be keen on playing on Good Friday?

I doubt it

So why not let some people who believe in ghost tales & some well written adventure stories in a bible have their day?

The rest of us can have a great day with the wife & kids, go the beach & play beach cricket with the kids, go the the parks & have a picnic with the wife, go see your relatives, go do ............., etc

1000's of great things to do, instead of needing a footy fix

It will catch on eventually.......like buying petrol on weekends did......:thumbsu:.....and hopefully like buying a fridge on a Sunday outside the CBD will......:rolleyes:

We're creatures of habit that cling to traditions long after we've remembered why it was a good idea in the first place......

I'm happy for people to go to Church on Grand Final day....:thumbsu:.....so I reckon it's time we played Footy on Good Friday.....maybe an evening game would be the go.

(this message written and authorised by an occasional Catholic)

It's only a matter of time...... NRL plays on Good Friday giving them all those yummy ratings to themselves. ;) Apparently NRL players and officials and everyone that goes to see the games played on this day are heathens and shall not make heaven when they cark it. :p

I'd like to know what Christians do on this particular Friday? Do they spend the day in church in deep reflection of the apparent sacrifice? Or do they have a sleep in, mow the lawns, have a BBQ with friends? I'd say it is just another wank holiday that sees most people doing nothing whatsoever related to the actual event they are supposed to be observing and everything to do with having a bonus day off.

AFL should be played on Good Friday... period.

Should definately have footy. It would be huge if they turned it in to a blockbuster match. If Good Friday means that much to you, do what you need to do, but I'm sure you'll have more than enough fans to fill a lot of the MCG for a blockbuster.

Demons V Saints at the G???

While I voted yes above I don't think that we should be going on about why should we observe a Christian day and not play Football when I'm sure everyone here was happy to take the day off yesterday.
I miss having a game on a Friday but I'll happily sacrifice it for a day off.

I've always thought the Easter Weekend would be a gun time to hold a state of Origin Carnvial.

If not, Play a game that isn't Vic team Vs Vic team at the G.

Nor can it involve Collingwood.

Maybe, Sydney Vs Brisbane, Premier Vs Runner up, Showdown, Derby, Sydney Vs West Coast.

If we don't play a game, well atleast the AFL will be in gods good books, if he exists.

Dammit - I am always suspicious of my opinions when I realise they're the same as yours.

OF COURSE there should be football. And shopping. And whatever other business you want to do. Same as on Hannukah (or whatever).

it's ok, feel free to give in and experience what it's like to be right :)

Firstly I'm not a Christian, nor do I believe in god, we just exist, then we die, end of story.

However

I do agree with the no footy on Good Friday convention.

Reason why is that it is a very special day, probably the most important day, for Christians, & Australia is predominantly a Christian society

It is not a day of celebration for them, for this is the day that some joker, who went around saying "be nice to others", snuffed it nailed to some wood.

Whereas other significant Christian days, like Christmas & Easter Sunday are days of celebration for them. Christmas coz some kid was born, & Easter Sunday coz the kid supposedly rose from the grave.

From the above I see the difference between the days, Christians are supposed to have fun days, but on Good Friday they are supposed to be sombre, introspective.

We also need to consider the thoughts & wishes of the blokes who actually entertain us, that is the players.

Would the players who are also strictly Christian be keen on playing on Good Friday?

I doubt it

So why not let some people who believe in ghost tales & some well written adventure stories in a bible have their day?

The rest of us can have a great day with the wife & kids, go the beach & play beach cricket with the kids, go the the parks & have a picnic with the wife, go see your relatives, go do ............., etc

1000's of great things to do, instead of needing a footy fix

so in other words you don't know what it means to be a secular society.

and that's the problem with these debates.

Can we please get this thread back on topic - should the AFL play games on Good Friday. At the moment it's just an exercise in Christian bashing.

but that's the thing, it certainly should not be an exercise in christian bashing, or jewish, muslim, scientologists, buddhists, hindu's or whomever.

Ok, we can bash the scientologists, they don't really count.

the fact remains, and it is fact, that many of our behavioural and cultural institutions have emerged from christian tenets, but now stand independent. as a result it is wrong and inconsistent that these should still be influenced and deffer to a single religious stream.

if we do not want a secular society we should not have one, but as a point of fact we do - and the majority of australian want this. as a result, it is inconsistent that one religious strain is held up over and above the other constituent faiths.

every persons right to express and practise their faith remains wholly intact, but unlike many other essentially christian countries, we haven't shaken out the last of the insitution influences.

but that's the thing, it certainly should not be an exercise in christian bashing, or jewish, muslim, scientologists, buddhists, hindu's or whomever.

Ok, we can bash the scientologists, they don't really count.

the fact remains, and it is fact, that many of our behavioural and cultural institutions have emerged from christian tenets, but now stand independent. as a result it is wrong and inconsistent that these should still be influenced and deffer to a single religious stream.

if we do not want a secular society we should not have one, but as a point of fact we do - and the majority of australian want this. as a result, it is inconsistent that one religious strain is held up over and above the other constituent faiths.

every persons right to express and practise their faith remains wholly intact, but unlike many other essentially christian countries, we haven't shaken out the last of the insitution influences.

That's what makes this such a difficult thread.

Australia's culture has developed from the Judeo-Christian culture we inherited from the British. This is where we get our traditional holidays - Christmas & Easter in particular.

The thing is that most people these days are not practicing Christians anymore. The majority still tick/check the box when it comes to census time, but barely 10% can be found in church each week.

So, how DO we handle the other trappings which have come along with our Christian culture, now that the majority no longer believe in the things which these holidays commemorate?

If the Islamic faith had been attacked in the manner in which the Christian faith was vilified on this thread then red cards would have been handed out. Yet it is almost culturally acceptable to attack the Christian faith.

There are no easy answers and it is something which Australian society is going to have to come to terms with in the near future. As Australia becomes more and more a multicultural society, with other faiths increasing in influence - and atheists being in majority, we may have to assess whether it is still appropriate to have public holidays to celebrate events which so few believe in.

The question of whether or not to play AFL on Good Friday is one such example. I have no problems with this being debated, but it can be done in a civilised manner without resorting to bashing another person's choice of religion for no reason other than the fact that you do not believe the same thing.

That's what makes this such a difficult thread.

Australia's culture has developed from the Judeo-Christian culture we inherited from the British. This is where we get our traditional holidays - Christmas & Easter in particular.

The thing is that most people these days are not practicing Christians anymore. The majority still tick/check the box when it comes to census time, but barely 10% can be found in church each week.

So, how DO we handle the other trappings which have come along with our Christian culture, now that the majority no longer believe in the things which these holidays commemorate?

If the Islamic faith had been attacked in the manner in which the Christian faith was vilified on this thread then red cards would have been handed out. Yet it is almost culturally acceptable to attack the Christian faith.

There are no easy answers and it is something which Australian society is going to have to come to terms with in the near future. As Australia becomes more and more a multicultural society, with other faiths increasing in influence - and atheists being in majority, we may have to assess whether it is still appropriate to have public holidays to celebrate events which so few believe in.

The question of whether or not to play AFL on Good Friday is one such example. I have no problems with this being debated, but it can be done in a civilised manner without resorting to bashing another person's choice of religion for no reason other than the fact that you do not believe the same thing.

actually the answers are very very easy, and there is no need to complicate them. there is nothing challenging or difficult, no need to erect smokescreens.

current practises are inconsistent with the secular doctrines of our time - make them consistent!! it's not hard.

good friday is one of the last white elephants to be overhauled. many of our religious and public holidays, have pagan and christian roots, but as a society they have also become ingrained through custom, and we are happy to continue to celebrate them. but just as easily we could throw the marbles back in the back, and draw another 10. but to no purpose or end.

what needs to happen, and does, is to allow people the right to free choice or expression and action. which means they can choose to open their shops, bars, pubs, football games if they so choose. many people will choose not too, and express themselves privately or with others in their churches and communities.
Good Friday however seems to be the exception - and that makes no sense. it is not right, or arguable that it should be different.

it's just not.

Years ago there were two days on the calendar where no newspapers were printed and no shops opened (in the really OLD days ;) you couldn't even get a petrol station opened on those days!). Christmas Day has changed dramatically, with pubs/clubs and fast food outlets open, an albeit small newspaper published and convenience stores and petrol stations open. I don't think it will be too long before Good Friday goes the same way... the mere fact that NRL has games on that day will force the AFLs hand in the end.

so in other words you don't know what it means to be a secular society.

No need to have a bash at me

I believe we enjoy the advantages of a secular society, however to all rules there should be exceptions, IMO Good Friday should be such an exception.

I have no vested interest in the subject, other than believing it'd be nice for my Christian friends to have their special day recognised as the one day free from all forms of commercialism.

Anyway, as I said, I have nothing invested in any decision, one way or the other

No need to have a bash at me

I believe we enjoy the advantages of a secular society, however to all rules there should be exceptions, IMO Good Friday should be such an exception.

I have no vested interest in the subject, other than believing it'd be nice for my Christian friends to have their special day recognised as the one day free from all forms of commercialism.

Anyway, as I said, I have nothing invested in any decision, one way or the other

"their special day" is recognised that's the point.

there is nothing wrong, and in fact many things right, about recognising the day. I hope no one is arguing otherwise.

what is not ok, is the enforced hommage of the day. Others may not continue about their business, in deference. that is not ok, and inconsistent with the values of our society.

We celebrate many public holidays, just because some do not like the reason for the holiday, does that mean the holiday should be scrapped?

There is an argument for & against each holiday, which side should we take notice of?

Personally I reckon it's silly having a holiday for a horse race, but that's probably just me, however that horse race impinges upon my desire to do certain things.

Your comment of --

"what is not ok, is the enforced hommage of the day. Others may not continue about their business, in deference. that is not ok, and inconsistent with the values of our society."

applies to each & every public holiday, do we scrap all of them, or do we act like a true multi-cultural society and tolerate a small, & short term, disturbance to our normal activities?

To me a one day sacrifice to let some people "have their day", is no real big deal, after all, we've got another 364 days to go about our usual activities.

So I guess we should hold a referendum, do we scrap every holiday, or do we act like a tolerant society & accept the need for certain days for certain people?