Goulburn Valley FL 2020

Think Gisborne have to stay! Both YCW-Marong and Huntly- White Hills could work for the league in the future? Both significant growth areas

As much as I am sure the Bendigo League would love to have clubs like Rochester and Echuca back, they would hate to lose Gisborne.

Gisborne has been incredibly loyal to the BFNL rejecting a number of attempts by the Ballarat league to bring it into their competition. It also offers the BFNL a desperately needed powerful country club away from greater Bendigo. If Kyneton could put a reasonable team on the park the rivalry between the two would be a great boost to the league. Gisborne's presence probably makes it very hard for the BFNL to recruit clubs from the north and thus creates a dilemma for the administrators looking to obtain another strong club(s). A competitive Maryborough would make a difference.

I personally would like to see a two tiered relegation competition with either the Ballarat or Goulburn Valley leagues. (Division one would be sensational). However these leagues don't seem interested (officially rejected by the Ballarat League) so that appears unlikely. The next best option right now is a club like North Bendigo. If Castlemaine continues on like it has this can only harm the club. It would be better in a lower competition.

What would be really interesting is if we get football this year, but not all BFNL and Goulburn Valley clubs wants to put a team on the park, is to have a competition involving all the BFNL/GV clubs that do - as a one off for 2020 . It would be great to see Golden Square playing Rochester again. In the 1960's their clashes were like a Carlton Collingwood grand final.

I’m hearing Hume are reviewing their previous decisions regarding the season whilst a club in Heathcote league has sought legal advice and reckon they can challenge the leagues decision . Don’t know the Heathcote league club .
How would that play out?

Hasn't he got a bulging disc in his neck or something that forced the unfortunate and premature retirement?
Good profile on returning gun player Sean Williams in the Shepp news tongue , done pretty well at eaglehawk winning their goal kicking three times I guess stoonbants would be rapped having him back at the club

Yeah Swoop he generally played down back in previous seasons at Rochy under White and then Flaherty. Never really had 10 consecutive games out of the goal square. Even the Rochy blokes on here cannot agree where he should play but I would like to see him get a chance beside Stroobants to see if he can kick 40-50 goals in a full season. He obviously did well in the role for Eaglehawk.

My Vote. Forward line.
Hooppell at CHB.

But I know others don’t rate him. He’s not polished but he can obviously kick goals. Something the Tigers haven’t had for a while.

My Vote. Forward line.
Hooppell at CHB.

But I know others don’t rate him. He’s not polished but he can obviously kick goals. Something the Tigers haven’t had for a while.
I think Johnno mentioned the man mountain Russell will play CHB, but Hoopell could certainly play 3rd tall back in the Flaherty role or as a swingman, with Gledhill a lock at full back.

As much as I am sure the Bendigo League would love to have clubs like Rochester and Echuca back, they would hate to lose Gisborne.

Gisborne has been incredibly loyal to the BFNL rejecting a number of attempts by the Ballarat league to bring it into their competition. It also offers the BFNL a desperately needed powerful country club away from greater Bendigo. If Kyneton could put a reasonable team on the park the rivalry between the two would be a great boost to the league. Gisborne's presence probably makes it very hard for the BFNL to recruit clubs from the north and thus creates a dilemma for the administrators looking to obtain another strong club(s). A competitive Maryborough would make a difference.

I personally would like to see a two tiered relegation competition with either the Ballarat or Goulburn Valley leagues. (Division one would be sensational). However these leagues don't seem interested (officially rejected by the Ballarat League) so that appears unlikely. The next best option right now is a club like North Bendigo. If Castlemaine continues on like it has this can only harm the club. It would be better in a lower competition.

What would be really interesting is if we get football this year, but not all BFNL and Goulburn Valley clubs wants to put a team on the park, is to have a competition involving all the BFNL/GV clubs that do - as a one off for 2020 . It would be great to see Golden Square playing Rochester again. In the 1960's their clashes were like a Carlton Collingwood grand final.
Some of the old blokes at Rochy tell me about those days you mentioned and their rivalry with Golden Square. Story is Rochester recruited Melbourne captain Noel McMahon as coach which started that dominant era. Then they recruited other VFL players like Kevin Shinners as the Rochy honour board in that period resembles the current Kyabram era. Premiers mostly. Premiers and champions at least once or Runners Up.

Imagine a Pendlebury or Selwood walking out of their club at the end of 2020 and playing at a Bendigo or GV side. That's what Noel McMahon did.

Attended a Rochy supporters fund raising event in Melborne last year and McMahon was one of several speakers. Spoke very fondly and articulately about his time coaching Rochester. I think when he left he went back and coached South Melbourne in the VFL.

There's a fair chance this could happen in the future silver as the AFL tightens it's purse strings, where there's the anticipation that afl lists will be cut, less assistant coaching gigs and less jobs in footy, it's a lot cheaper to live in regional Vic compared to inner Melbourne, where coaching gigs + employment will be more attractive than previously over the last 25 years. It's the main reason many metro clubs pulled the pin not being able to pay players.

Could echuca raid the best kids from cohuna and leitchy, there's going to be plenty of talented players looking for a kick this year

Some of the old blokes at Rochy tell me about those days you mentioned and their rivalry with Golden Square. Story is Rochester recruited Melbourne captain Noel McMahon as coach which started that dominant era. Then they recruited other VFL players like Kevin Shinners as the Rochy honour board in that period resembles the current Kyabram era. Premiers mostly. Premiers and champions at least once or Runners Up.

Imagine a Pendlebury or Selwood walking out of their club at the end of 2020 and playing at a Bendigo or GV side. That's what Noel McMahon did.

Attended a Rochy supporters fund raising event in Melborne last year and McMahon was one of several speakers. Spoke very fondly and articulately about his time coaching Rochester. I think when he left he went back and coached South Melbourne in the VFL.

Come on Silver...you know nothing about GV football Lol 😂

Yeah too busy holding my pink handbag or footy or some nonsense in the park apparently!!!

I have not lived there for 30 years but still love Rochy with family still there mate. A fabulous and welcoming footy club with old mates and a strong history. I get back as often as work and my immediate family allows.

That said, back in the late 80's/early 90's I might have been sighted in that little park opposite the Shamrock Hotel having a slight rest after a day in the hotel prior to mustering the intestinal fortitude to walk all the way to my folks house.

Yeah too busy holding my pink handbag or footy or some nonsense in the park apparently!!!

I have not lived there for 30 years but still love Rochy with family still there mate. A fabulous and welcoming footy club with old mates and a strong history. I get back as often as work and my immediate family allows.
Hahah..mate you are much respected on here as is Roota! Rochester football club is respected and admired by many as well!

I think we’ve spoken about Noel McMahon’s innovation to footy before Silver. He was big on statistics and he introduced this as a coach in Rochy before taking them downtown. My grandmother Win Iddles used to jot them down as he called them out from the forward pocket she told me.

Yes we have Bootz. Noel and Win Iddles were well ahead of their time. Fascinating that McMahon took these new statistics as indicators of performance back to South Melbourne in the then VFL.

How would that play out?
To avoid the longer winded response Doona , it’s my understanding that innocuous wording in many clubs and leagues rules mean they must make every effort to play. If they fail to do so , they could be liable for any loss that can be proven to have been incurred .

Sorry to regress a few hours .
I am growing more and more confident that those who can muster up a season will be well rewarded .

Sorry to sound like a broken record but if leagues that start up with clubs in debt or borderline risk those clubs going out of existence if the league plays.I also think there is a growing hope of a season but No.1 for me is the same number of clubs supposedly starting this season are back again at the start of 2021

To avoid the longer winded response Doona , and from my understanding , the innocuous wording in many clubs and leagues rules mean they ‘constitutionally’ must make every effort to play.

So you are saying if a club decides not to play due to financial worries in the current season and their league decides to play constitutionally they
have to play.What is more important,the club risk playing and putting it self out of existence for"do you mind 8 games" or not playing and be back 2021.

Goulburn Valley FL 2020