Goulburn Valley General Thread 2011- 2012

Ash was picked up by North Melbourne in the early 2000s when the Roos had a strong midfield and it was hard for him to break into their team. Dean Laidley probably didnt really help him much either - only give him short spirts off the bench.
For mine, I can't understand why another AFL club who needed some more midfield depth didn't grab him at the time he was delisted. From memory he may have won a B & F at North Ballarat as well.

He was 3rd in Ballarat's B&F. Not sure if he played under Laidley, but he did under Pagan, who rarely played the kids.

Got the chance to watch Ash Watson on the weekend, been named best on the last 3 weeks. This bloke is without a doubt the best midfielder in the comp, his work around stoppages in sensational!

Your on drugs !!!...outside player who doesn't get the hard ball. Good with his execution but didn't make it down town because of his lack of physicality and goal kicking ability...good player but a run receiver not a hard ball getter !!!

Could think of 4 others who are better: Archard for me the best player in on ball brigade in the comp by an absolute street, same with Guy Campbell when he plays on ball...:o

Rochy got away from Mansfield in the opening qtr. Although Mansfield outscored us the remainder of the day. We were without a few, but they had 5 or 6 out too apparently, including Paul Licuria ....and a whisper that Shane Wakelin has been training with them, and was going to play. I'll take the win.

Your on drugs !!!...outside player who doesn't get the hard ball. Good with his execution but didn't make it down town because of his lack of physicality and goal kicking ability...good player but a run receiver not a hard ball getter !!!

Could think of 4 others who are better: Archard for me the best player in on ball brigade in the comp by an absolute street, same with Guy Campbell when he plays on ball...:o

Think u will find tht he would average a goal a game over his gv career which as a midfielder isnt bad. The way he is able to read the other ruckman is unbelievable, and from what ive heard/seen the bloke cops a hard tag every week without fail. As for archard the bloke has no heart:eek:

Mate not sure if your trying to 'bait' or just a goose who has never played footy at a high level(or any level), seen Rhys play or appreciate what he has achieved in his footy career.
If its just a bait,then I'm sure you will get a few more comments.

That's no good, How was he going this season?

Good news for Colonel Sanders! stretched the medial and will have 4 weeks off and be right to go. Heath Aitken needs a knee scrape and will be out about the same time but definitely both be back later in the year. Good news from what looked ordinary on Saturday.

agree with comments. Archard is a gun and most of the league would be happy to back it up. Nothing to prove and not worth trolling for comments.
I still think comments in regards to Ash Watson are correct but only down side on Ash is sometimes demanding footy in wrong spots and shouldnt do so but 1 downside on almost all upside.
Tell me a team in country footy who wouldnt want either in their side if they could get them?

Pretty rough call - runs his butt off and cops the most attention week in week out! Let us know when you next play mate and we can then give you some feedback;)

Great to see another ex AFL player is coming to play up in the North of the State in that Wakelin may be playing for Mansfield. Also heard tonight that Barry Hall has signed With Wangaratta Rovers...Great for the GV and OM to have a few more Ex AFL players getting around this year to draw in some bigger crowds...and hopefully pass their experience on to the young up and commers in the leagues! Between the 2 major leagues we now have Murphy, Wakelin, Blake, Licuria, Fevola and Hall adding to a few others that had already played at the AFL level. Great to see!

There are a number up in the Central Murray as well. It is a great thing:thumbsu:

My tips for this week:
Shep United v Swans 55pts
Seymour v Kyabram 20pts
Euroa v Shepparton 5pts
Mooroopna v Echuca 38pts
Tatura v Rochester 12pts
Benalla v Mansfield 35pts

My tips for this week:
Shep United v Swans 55pts
Seymour v Kyabram 20pts
Euroa v Shepparton 5pts
Mooroopna v Echuca 38pts
Tatura v Rochester 12pts
Benalla v Mansfield 35pts
The only one I was close to today was Shep United by 48.....Seymour pumped Ky by 77, Shep over Euroa by 20pts. Echuca great win over Mooroopna by 1pt, and Tat easily over Rochy - lead by 49 at half time, 55 at 3qtrs and won by 47pts. Benalla v Mansfield still to play tonight.
Well done to all winners today but to all of the "experts" that picked Rochy to win...they finally got to play against a quality side and did not look that good. Got 5 of their goals from 50/50 Umpiring decisions and if they play like that next week, they will want those same Umpires on their side if they want to defeat Benalla.
After todays game I Would have said 2012 was only going to be a contest this year between Mooroopna and Tat but then found out that Echuca knocked the cats off! So each GV team better turn up each week to play this season or risk losing to anyone! Tat now on top of the ladder!:D

The only one I was close to today was Shep United by 48.....Seymour pumped Ky by 77, Shep over Euroa by 20pts. Echuca great win over Mooroopna by 1pt, and Tat easily over Rochy - lead by 49 at half time, 55 at 3qtrs and won by 47pts. Benalla v Mansfield still to play tonight.
Well done to all winners today but to all of the "experts" that picked Rochy to win...they finally got to play against a quality side and did not look that good. Got 5 of their goals from 50/50 Umpiring decisions and if they play like that next week, they will want those same Umpires on their side if they want to defeat Benalla.
After todays game I Would have said 2012 was only going to be a contest this year between Mooroopna and Tat but then found out that Echuca knocked the cats off! So each GV team better turn up each week to play this season or risk losing to anyone! Tat now on top of the ladder!:D

Just remember knackers that a week is a long time in footy and spruiking this far out from finals usually comes back to haunt most people. I think you will find alot of teams can beat each other on their day.
Agree Tat were too good and had winners everywhere but 1 game doesnt make the year. See how they go 2nd round in at Moon Oval then come back to me.
As for umpires its funny how you see it......usually first to the contest is rewarded so thought the umpires werent an issue until you raised it. The free kicks whether paid in front on goal or full back are paid as the umpires see them. Pretty simple concept.

You'd think Tatura supporters would be showing some humility after being an embarrassment to the league for nearly a decade.

well done to tat.. they were far too good in the first half and the game was over at half time. second half was fairly even. Kirby dominated the ruck and gave tat onballers first use every time. T Little missed as well.

But i honestly think we can expect a better showing from rochy next time these teams meet

I get frustrated when people say steve daniels is a great coach. Look i understand yes he has his positives but unless he gets a high $$$$ list together he seems lost and back in the pack! = congupna? Jumped ship when they didnt plus couldnt spend up big or win games now at tat and has gone shopping for ex afl and ex vfl players and after the seymour flags where a supporter in the bar could have steered that ship to a flag he all of a sudden is an A grade coach again! All im saying is that a coach has alot less to do with how good a side is than what people think!! I.E Dennis pagan at carlton = sacked Dennis pagan at nth = master coach = wayne carey. Agree or disagree just my opinion!

Marcopolo,

Your entitled to your views, but in defence of S.J, he took QLD footy from laughing stocks of country footy, to in 2008 winning div 2 at country carnival then in 2010 playing off for 3 spot against comp favs ACT (got pumped), and I can assure you there is not a 1/8 of the coin up here compared to your comp! and not half the depth seen in your comp. So to take a side of solid footballers (not to many stars) to compete against your big boys in Vic, SA, ACT is a remarkable effort, and a credit to how he can influence and gell guys who play anywhere up to 2000km away from each other! a big tick for his coaching credentials I would think.

Agree Daniels has only ever had succes were he can spend up big money...his not about developing the list its either flag or nothing, he generally leaves a club in a financial mess!!!

Marcopolo,

Your entitled to your views, but in defence of S.J, he took QLD footy from laughing stocks of country footy, to in 2008 winning div 2 at country carnival then in 2010 playing off for 3 spot against comp favs ACT (got pumped), and I can assure you there is not a 1/8 of the coin up here compared to your comp! and not half the depth seen in your comp. So to take a side of solid footballers (not to many stars) to compete against your big boys in Vic, SA, ACT is a remarkable effort, and a credit to how he can influence and gell guys who play anywhere up to 2000km away from each other! a big tick for his coaching credentials I would think.

Point taken but how was your club financially after he left and how many locals remained and where did you finish on the ladder the year after he left?

Great to see Echuca back doing what it does best! Delveping Juniors and winning games of footy.

Sometimes you're unlucky with the quality of blokes that you get to the footy club and unfortunatley there is still ridiculous amounts of money being thrown around for good average players.

Great to see the path the club has taken and hopefully they will learn from the past. The most successful sides have compiled committed local blokes and gun juniors. No need for the one or two season ring ins commanding dollars

Point taken but how was your club financially after he left and how many locals remained and where did you finish on the ladder the year after he left?

If the club is prepared to spend and the coach is able to attain quality recruits then good on him. Everybody is entitled to an opinion but I would be looking at his results and they are very impressive. Its a difficult job and I'm sure he is doing his best for Tat and thats all you can ask for

Thats my point ringo is his results are there to be seen but when the going got tough at congupna he wasnt willing to stay around to rebuild! My main point really isnt to be having massive dig at daniels he is just an example that a good coach shouldnt be based on flags,finals! Why isnt people saying cam stewart is a great coach i would say his effort on the w,end to knock the top team off with a bunch of youngsters is easily better that tat beaten rochy? Another point= united lost 5 or 6 stars and they have only beaten swans and ky this year, but last year Quarrell was on his way to coach vfl or something bigger! Matty primus would have coached geelong to the 2007,2009 flags no doubt and what regard is he held in the coaching circles of afl??

Well it's all based on speculation, isn't it.. I'm personally not convinced primus WOULD have coached the cats to those flags. Also, Seymour won the first of their flags against an undefeated euroa & went in rank underdogs AND after SJ left Seymour they played off in the next 2 grand finals!! So hardly decimated the club; in fact, most of the guys at Seymour who he recruited were on substantially less than they could have been.

Bottom line is, I appreciate your point isn't to specifically degrade SJ, more pointing out players make coaches, not the other way around, but how do propose coaches we rate coaches, what criteria do you want to use..?

In terms of professionalism, ability to attract quality players, get the best from their players & communicate I'd have both Daniels & quarrel as good as I've seen AND their results don't lie.

Marcopolo,

I have never been involved at the same club as SJ! A number of players from my club rep QLD under him and where massive wraps. I think your Pagan Carey theory was a bit off also, as if this were the case they should have had two other flags between 1996 - 1999. Yabby should have won 7 flags at the Hawks etc etc. And yes you have exceptions to every rule but how many coaches are at any one club for more than 3 - 5 years. Given that your comp is not the AFL and this is the case for all other leagues, work opportunites would greatly effect his decision on moving from club to club. And there might be a trend of clubs dropping away after he leaves ( I dont knoww this!) but you can only judge him on his merits at the time, which is a pretty damn good record.