Ricmel

Premium Platinum
OK, I know 99.9% of non - Saints supporters love to hate Stephen Milne. But has anyone seen a bigger dog act than Grant Thomas, his former coach coming out on the eve of Milne's 200th and saying he wanted to sack him 4 years ago?

Love him or hate him, at least let him celebrate his 200th.

Grant Thomas should be very ashamed.

OK, I know 99.9% of non - Saints supporters love to hate Stephen Milne. But has anyone seen a bigger dog act than Grant Thomas, his former coach coming out on the eve of Milne's 200th and saying he wanted to sack him 4 years ago?

Love him or hate him, at least let him celebrate his 200th.

Grant Thomas should be very ashamed.

Hardly surprising given i think we all know Thomas is spud of the highest calibre.

The best word to describe him is a simple "dumb". Pathetic bloke, pathetic coach, pathetic media commentator. Does anyone know of anything that he isn't terrible at?

Well done to Steven Milne, congrats on 200 hard fought games, i just hope you don't have a cracker this weekend :p

Everything Grant Thomas said is true. Milne is a ghost when it comes to big games. They would have got a fair bit for him 4 years ago, impossible to say but i personally would say that trading him would have been a smart move in the end.

:confused: Can't see a problem with that...he did want to sack him.
The only problem is that he can't admit it would have been a mistake to do so.

Mate, it's not the point. Why say it when asked to comment about his 200th?

You may think a bloke is a prick but you don't get up at his wedding and say so.

Everything Grant Thomas said is true. Milne is a ghost when it comes to big games. They would have got a fair bit for him 4 years ago, impossible to say but i personally would say that trading him would have been a smart move in the end.

you have to get to the big games first... what happens after that is anyones guess... he more than helped to get us there.

Grant Thomas is paid to make comments.

Deal with it!!!!

No he was not. He was simply interviewed as a past coach of Milne. It was an interview, not an article.

"Grant, would you like to congratulate Milne on his 200th?"

"No, he is a good mate of mine but if I had my way he would never have made it to 200."

Very classy.

Honest, yet ill timed, about what you'd expect from a combination of GT and the Herald Sun.

No he was not. He was simply interviewed as a past coach of Milne. It was an interview, not an article.

"Grant, would you like to congratulate Milne on his 200th?"

"No, he is a good mate of mine but if I had my way he would never have made it to 200."

Very classy.
if he said that then I totally agree with you.

I hate Milne just like most other footy supporters, but i hate Grant Thomas even more.

Taking pot-shots at his former players and just about anyone else in the AFL is pretty pathetic. And he does it all cause he's desperate to remain relevant in the AFL world. It's not really working though.

The problem for Grant Thomas is not in what he says, it is the way he says it.

Thomas is a glorified Bogan Hoon.

Thomas re stated this last month when asked the question.
It is his considered view, and one that the facts tend to confirm.

Nice to see you're still trolling main boards with rubbish :thumbsu:

Everyone knows he was going to sack him so no surprises there. I really hate when people whinge when someone actually voices an opinion. We always get people towing the company line in football and people complain about that and then when someone actually has an opinion, shock horror they are told they should shut up. (Cue in Aker). Everyone is entitled to an opinion, it is neither right or wrong it is just an opinion.

Mate, I am not questioning whether Thomas was actually going to sack him or not.

I am questioning a bloke, who when asked about a player he used to coach, a player who is a mate, when asked about their milestone game....a bloke who instead of saying "well played, this is your time in the sun".....chooses to say "I would have sacked him 4 years ago".

If you think that is appropriate then your life values lie somewhere alongside Thomases.

you have to get to the big games first... what happens after that is anyones guess... he more than helped to get us there.

I guess the 2009 finals series wasn't big enough;)

I actually like it when people speak their minds, you don't have to agree with him, but at least he's speaking his mind..

He may have been making an attempt to highlight how far he's gone in 4 years... eg. I was going to sack him, and now he's one of the best small forwards in the game .

No issues with Cornflakes speaking his mind, if only to confirm he is actually a knob. But if Milney is truely a mate, no need to drag up old history and say you wanted to get rid of him 4 years ago - just say congratulations and hope you play a good game.

There's a time to be critical and time to blow smoke up someones ass (particuarly for a mate) - commenting on a mates 200th game tends to go the latter IMO.

Mate, I am not questioning whether Thomas was actually going to sack him or not.

I am questioning a bloke, who when asked about a player he used to coach, a player who is a mate, when asked about their milestone game....a bloke who instead of saying "well played, this is your time in the sun".....chooses to say "I would have sacked him 4 years ago".

If you think that is appropriate then your life values lie somewhere alongside Thomases.
He actually said he was going to sack him a long time ago as well so thats old news. Thomas said he would rather be honest than piss down his back, nothing wrong with that. BUt maybe they arent quite as good mates as he makes out, because you are right a mate probably wouldnt say that before his 200th.

Thomas has no mates among the St Kilda playing group outside of Riewoldt and even that relationship isn't what it used to be.

Ordinary effort from one of the more ordinary blokes gracing the earth.

So much for never saying anything to undermine the the club nor its individuals.

Don't mind the bloke having an opinion, but every time he talks, he bags the club or the coach or one of the players.

Face it Grant, Milney isn't your mate. Never was never will be.

And you will always be remembered as some one who couldn't get the easiest of jobs done.