simpson6

I strongly believe Grigg, Pfeiffer, Bower, and Russell will benefit from this win yesterday, these guys have been constantly been under the pump over the last few years, (and for Pfeiffer although only got here, was a risk to take across) they have finally SHOWN SOMETHING!

These guys have always looked "lost" and have had no confidence in their abilities, basically because they have never been exposed to a winning culture, and to come out infront of 77,000 people and being able to win the match and to contribute!, this will be a big step forward in these guys development, and their confidence levels will be sky high, cannot wait to see the next few weeks what it may bring..

Fevola has set the example now for these guys, theres no excuses for Carlton anymore..

GO THE BLUES!!

I really think Pfeiffer will be a gem of a player in the years to come..

Thoughts?

I think the whole team will benefit from the win. I do agree Pfeiffer looks the type that could be a long term prospect especially after being a first round draft pick for the Crows. He is a good mover and seems to have good balance as well.

Bower was impressive and is growing in confidence each game he plays and whilst I was a bit anxious with him standing Travis Cloke he took teh honours in that one. I have my heart in my mouth everytime he takes a bounce or tries to get around an opponent. Like Jammo tehy coudl be long term players down back for this club.

Grigg I like his role as a defending forward on Heath Shaw, it was great for him to finsih with a goal. Only downside was that on one occassion he got run down from behind ( a bit hard but that happened twice to him list year against the Dees). I hope he holds his spot and continues getting game time, he was a goalkicking HFF in the TAC cup so let hope he can snag a few more.

Darren Pfeiffer is an absolute champion - hard at it, knows where to run but his kicking at times is below par.

You can see why he was a 1st round pick (#15 in 2005).

Thanks again Adelaide :)

what about jordan russell. He really does struggle. Is there a future for him at carlton?
He is a likely look and size about him.

I like the look of Grigg I hope they give him more game time the next few weeks. Seems to know where to run to and also how to cover the space between him and his opposition. But yeah I think the whole bunch of young kids will benefit from this. Also loved Judds leadership in the last quarter he was everywhere.

Agree that these players will benefit. Here are some positives and negatives I observed on the weekend.

Russell - he really lets himself down with kicks like the one straight over the head of Gibbs from 11 meters away in the 3rd quarter. These are the kind of basic errors he needs to eradicate from his game. Apart from that, his intensity was good and he was involved in a few good passages of play and looked more like the kind of player we expect him to be.

Pfeiffer - A few skill errors, but I really like this guys attack on the ball. He reminds me of Wiggins but with a more complete game. Deserves his spot in the side.

Bower - provided important run out of defence and wasn't caught once with the ball which is unusaul. Did extremely well on a bigger bodied opponent and was a key component of our extremely effective rebounding style of play. Skills and decision making looked good.

Grigg - got plently of it and did a reasonable job on Shaw. His kicking really really let him down on several occassion (I was taking particular notice of this). Plenty of helicopters and floaters and a real lack of penetration in many of them took a bit of shine off what was otherwise a good game. If he can work on his field kicking and decision making, we'll have a pretty good player on our hands.

Grigg to me still looks like he is struggling with the pace of the game. Everytime he gets it, he seems to be really rushed with his disposal. Although, I don't think him playing on Shaw as a defensive forward really suited the type of player that he is.

He looks alot more at home across half back, or in the midfield. Still, give him some time, and i reckon he'll be much better in the second half of the year.

Grigg to me still looks like he is struggling with the pace of the game. Everytime he gets it, he seems to be really rushed with his disposal. Although, I don't think him playing on Shaw as a defensive forward really suited the type of player that he is.

He looks alot more at home across half back, or in the midfield. Still, give him some time, and i reckon he'll be much better in the second half of the year.

True HBF, but how much of a change is that from the loose and unaccountable 18yo we watched int he champs??;) Won't hurt Grigga to continue to work on the defensive side of things for a while.

:thumbsu::)

True HBF, but how much of a change is that from the loose and unaccountable 18yo we watched int he champs??;) Won't hurt Grigga to continue to work on the defensive side of things for a while.

:thumbsu::)

Agree with that, but giving him a job on Shaw was always going to be very hard for him. Once he has picked up the pace of AFL footy, then I reckon we might have found another guy who can go through the midfield, and can also do a job for us across half back.

IM still dirty that Darren Pfeiffer got delisted by us . he prob needed a change . good luck 2 him. playin the crows in 2 weeks might show us what we gave away :thumbsu:

You're not alone there mate. I've read on BF that quite a few Crows posters are dirty that Pfieffer got delisted. Brings some much needed toughness and grunt to our team that we have been lacking recently.

lol ... you're joking right ?

Not at all. It's a common misconception on this board that Bower has average decision making, when in truth his decision making and ability to hit a target under pressure is one of his strengths, in my opinion. Fair enough, too, considering that late last year he was well below par, but he has improved leaps and bounds in this aspect. His disposal efficiency was 100% in round 1, 90% yesterday.

In fact, I was sitting with friends who also had no faith in Bower when he had the ball in his hands - every time he got the ball, I said it'd end up a teammates hand - it did every time that I can recall, except a pass to Fev that was chopped off and a shank out of defence (which might have ended up with a Carlton player anyway). O