Roast Grumpy Old Thread II - the grumpiness continues

I find once I find a place, I'm less likely to try anywhere else...

Also, having grown up on "European Coffee is the best" , have been shocked by just how much of it is terrible... (As in places in Europe that serve terrible coffee)
I had an espresso at a bushfire the other night.

Made by an old cow cocky from a different brigade with a portable espresso machine like this:

But 30 years older.

We heated the water over a hotspot on the edge of the fireground and then went down to a staging area where we'd all decided to wait so the kettle cooled enough and the temp was perfect for coffee. This old campaigner was probably racist but ... he was still happy to spend the night yarning and making coffee for some black hippy campaigner with dreadlocks up some ridge in the middle of nowhere.

I had an espresso at a bushfire the other night.

Made by an old cow cocky from a different brigade with a portable espresso machine like this:

But 30 years older.

We heated the water over a hotspot on the edge of the fireground and then went down to a staging area where we'd all decided to wait so the kettle cooled enough and the temp was perfect for coffee. This old campaigner was probably racist but ... he was still happy to spend the night yarning and making coffee for some black hippy campaigner with dreadlocks up some ridge in the middle of nowhere.
I note quality of the final coffee was not mentioned: stern look 👀

It was cheap, shit coffee but it still tasted great at midnight in the middle of nowhere.

I almost brought some and a Mocha Pot but didn't, wish i had now.

Inattention to the road and traffic it seems.
Impatience. Was ambling my way through Rye on friday, at the BP to be exact, watched a woman return to her car in the town end of the servo, the last bowser if you will, before a narrow garden and then the walls of business. A fella in his oversize ute has obviously finished his petrol purchase and keen to get to where he's going. So, instead of waiting a few seconds behind this woman, ups the curb, drives through the garden and out onto the main drag and off he goes. Sigh.

When the tag comes off your teabag. C'mon.
What's going on there?

I have returned to using QV lemon and ginger after trying the Twinings version (putting awareness of the history aside for one pack).

The tags on both brands seem to be securely attached - I am compelled to remove the tags which are placed into an envelope for recycling - and it requires a decent yank to remove the tags.

The QV lemon and ginger seems to be ok again. I had a pack that was not good. The tea bags had different tags to normal so they may have come from a different manufacturer. They are just a Coles brand so are generics with a fancy name.

In general I hardly drink real tea these days, and I only have one or two of the QVs a day.

What's going on there?

I have returned to using QV lemon and ginger after trying the Twinings version (putting awareness of the history aside for one pack).

The tags on both brands seem to be securely attached - I am compelled to remove the tags which are placed into an envelope for recycling - and it requires a decent yank to remove the tags.

The QV lemon and ginger seems to be ok again. I had a pack that was not good. The tea bags had different tags to normal so they may have come from a different manufacturer. They are just a Coles brand so are generics with a fancy name.

In general I hardly drink real tea these days, and I only have one or two of the QVs a day.
Oh I'm not that fancy, and contractually obligated to go to Yorkshire Tea :cool:

Inattention to the road and traffic it seems.

Gotta like those InstaBookFaceGram posts of what someone is having for dinner or wearing at the time!

1697934335189.png

Know what 5hits me? When you do drive through Maccas and you get one burger and they give you 132 napkins with it. Then you go through another time, order 3 burger meals and you get one napkin or none. Should be instant dismissal.

Impatience. Was ambling my way through Rye on friday, at the BP to be exact, watched a woman return to her car in the town end of the servo, the last bowser if you will, before a narrow garden and then the walls of business. A fella in his oversize ute has obviously finished his petrol purchase and keen to get to where he's going. So, instead of waiting a few seconds behind this woman, ups the curb, drives through the garden and out onto the main drag and off he goes. Sigh.

Absolutely

Yeh it was a 5 year old and unborn baby killed

Devastating

just dropped in to see my dad at the retirement village on way home from melbourne, , i can report that when it comes to being grumpy old buggers we all need to lift our game, comparatively we cant hold a candle to him. he has a unique gift of being able to redirect the conversation to being a whine fest from whatever jolly subject you segway to.

He'd only wanna know why we were burning a candle while riding a segway .... and where the hell is the remote?

most of the discussion revolves round his arthritis,

He whinges to the doc about the arthritis,

Then whinges when the doc suggests test because he already told the doc about the arthritis,

then whinges that he doesn't want to go to said tests,

then whinges that said doc aint doing anything for his discomfort,

wash rince repeat.

Roast Grumpy Old Thread II - the grumpiness continues