nugget_12

Melbourne Storm
I have been watching a few games from the last 2 years that i have recored onto my PVR and forgot to erase and one thing i noticed was that Ray Hall and Darren Gaspar in the same side cause us to lose more games then win (stating the obvious i know).

Ray Hall has proven before that he can be a good backman (he's also proven he can be a bad one aswell) but with all due respect to Darren Gaspar he is finishing up and we need some-one to take over.

With hall at Full Back it allows thursty when he gets back to play a more attacking defender role ala leo barry....

The Question i wanted to ask every-ones opinion on is clearly Ray HAll will be around for a few more years, but could he literally take over from Darren Gaspar and hold down Full Back and stabilize our backline?

IMO i think it highly possible

Geez, I've always said Hall's a handy type to have on the list - can be a third tall defender against a big forward line, a fourth tall forward to stretch a shorter back line, and a standby mobile ruckman in a worst case scenario of losing everyone else over six foot four - but a permanent full back? I really don't think so.

Obviously you don't have last years game against StKilda on you PVR (what the hell is a PVR!?). A fairly slow, declining, brain dead Gehrig showed how far Ray would need to improve, although I concede we had no other tall defenders to help him out.

Still, I don't think Ray has the specific talents to take on a permanent full back role. Mind you, I reckon that Gas has still got a fair bit going for him - so what do I know?

Christ help us if Hall has to hold down full back. For all Gaspar's faults at least he can do a job there.
Hall is acceptbale as insurance for a third tall down back (I still reckon he plays his best footy - if you can call it that - further up the ground) if one goes down, but if he has to play any bigger role than that then we may as well pull down the strides and hand the Vasoline over.

IIRC he can't even get near buddy (6 goals on him!)

There is no reason why Gaspar can't get back to his early 2006 form which was close to his AA best for a few matches.

A firing Gaspar would be incredible, I think he will be better than Mal Michael this year.

Isnt that why we drafted Polak?

Because gaspar is overrated and Hall is just not AFL standard?

Because gaspar cares more about his curls than forwards kicking goals

Because when we were accused of giving up, gaspar was the first one to give up

Because Hall has about as much of a football brain as Andy goodwin but cant throw a decent punch to save himself

Isn't razor the best boxer at our club?

Hes a useless footballer though no way he could hold down full back or any other position than the loose defender.

Isnt that why we drafted Polak?

Because gaspar is overrated and Hall is just not AFL standard?

Because gaspar cares more about his curls than forwards kicking goals

Because when we were accused of giving up, gaspar was the first one to give up

amen brother

hall is crap but atleast gaspar sometimes makes other players look crap

both of them belong in the bin

With the new rule, Hall is going to really struggle this year not giving away free kicks....as if hasn't before this year!!! But more so.

Gaspar, as long as he can still keep up with the faster FFs, should be able to spoil well without infringing. But the legs must be slowing up surely.

Lets face it, Hall is not a finals side player..all arms and elbows, although does all the hard things you expect from these hard at it type of players...the stupid free kicks are frustrating though.

GAS...well he is nearly out of it..lets hope he can hold together and keep up for one more season.

hall will be better off now that he DOESNT have to play a key defensive post. gaspar fit at full back should make a huge difference to our side.

Hall doesn't have the pace off the mark for FB, Polak might struggle as well. Both are more CHB types. At least Hall is a trier.

As a club we simply couldn't replace Kellaway, Gaspar and Hall in one year. Kellaway last offseason. Gaspar at the end of this year. Hall can hang around as 30th best player for a year or two until we have a kid earning a game.

AFTER Pattison, Schulz, Polak, Moore, Thursfield, Hughes, McGuane or Reiwoldt shows they can hold down a position in the 22 - then we can think about getting rid of Gaspar and Hall. Until then they are the best we have.

Hall doesn't have the pace off the mark for FB, Polak might struggle as well. Both are more CHB types. At least Hall is a trier.

You'll be very surprised, Polak can run 20m in under 3s ;) Btw are you implying that Polly is NOT a trier? if so I point you to the fact that he has featured prominently in the NAB top 15 and for the last 2 weeks was the number 1 hardest working big man at our club. Richo sneaked in front of him at the last minute.

AFTER Pattison, Schulz, Polak, Moore, Thursfield, Hughes, McGuane or Reiwoldt shows they can hold down a position in the 22 - then we can think about getting rid of Gaspar and Hall. Until then they are the best we have.

Absolutely, it is too early to get rid of them yet whether we like it or not. They aren't champions but they can be "there" as a goal for youngsters to get past. Good points :thumbsu:

If Gaspar can play near his best for 3 games this season (which admittadly is doubtful), then he will have contributed more in a season than Hall has over his career.

Polak, Moore and Thursfield will eventually take over.

Although Thursfield hasn't had the best pre-season.

Polak, Moore and Thursfield will eventually take over.

Although Thursfield hasn't had the best pre-season.
LMAO at everyone hailing Thursfield as some sort of God that has come to save us. The kid has played, what, about six senior games???????? Moore, sorry MT2009, but i think he's a hack. Polak, big question marks. Mate, if these three end up being the nucleus of our defence in the next five years, I will hail you as some of God for predicting it.

Why has Thursty had a not so good pre - season?

He's been injured and is recovering, give him a break madtugger

yeh thats his point einstein

he has been recovering

ill spell it our for ya r-e-c-o-v-e-r-i-n-g

got it?

(what the hell is a PVR!?).

PVR stand for Personal Video Recorder.....It is a digital set top box with a hard drive which allows you to record tv shows etc......much like a DVD recorder in a digital set top box.

And thank-you to every-one who has replyed its more then i could have asked for!!!!! i appreciate every-ones opinions.

i think from now on though i will think twice about posting if my comment has anything to do with ray hall....

once again thanks to all.

i think from now on though i will think twice about posting if my comment has anything to do with ray hall....

once again thanks to all.
Dude, that's nothin. If want to illicite a massive response mention Frawley, Walls or Geischen. That'll fix it.

yeh thats his point einstein

he has been recovering

ill spell it our for ya r-e-c-o-v-e-r-i-n-g

got it?

:) Spot on, PLSC. R-e-c-o-v-e-r-i-n-g!!!

Don't get me wrong, I rate Thursfield pretty highly, but asking a heck of a lot of a guy who has played just six games over two seasons and has his two seasons at Tigerland on the serious injury list.
Serious question marks on his ability to r-e-c-o-v-e-r!!!!

how do you explain that one....respect for what..effort?

Respect for coming on to the ground after Brereton decked Czerkaski, headed straight for Brereton and decked him twice as hard.

You want more examples? No-one threw a punch at a Richmond player without the knowledge that Goodwin was going to dish it back to them twice as hard.

hall without the ball is a hack who gives away cheap frees
hall with the ball is a hack who gives away cheap frees (BALL) gets rund down by an old lady on pension day

can schultz play FB and polak CHB??