Has Eddie bitten off more than he can chew?

Bugz said:
If Eddie can survive the year, he will have the best new series' from USA coming his way in 2007. From the previews that I have seen.
What are some of these shows? I don't think Nine have many good new shows from the USA to premiere during the second half of this year. I remember the previews at the start of this year for Close to Home, Invasion and Rome. Close to Home is on now, but is doing a lot, Invasion has been cancelled in the US and Rome will probably come out in September.
Eddie isn't CEO material as many of you have stated previously. But he will probably be around for the whole year. If he is sacked at the end of this year, will he go back to hosting his shows in 2007?
Maybe that's why they haven't found a replacement for the Millionaire host because he'll come back next year.

Not this year. In 2007 the biggest new shows in the USA are said to be Nine's. Feel free to make a thread in Media and Entertainment if you want me to go into it further.

DG-Man said:
Silence from Pie fans is deafening. Has fatboy bit off more than he can chew??
Meh!

To actually relate this to footy somehow, it'd be like demanding an immediate turnaround in a club which has bottomed out. That is, it's impossible to do anything, other than slowly turn things around.

For example, moving Rose, Shaw and their cronies was step one for Collingwood's rebuilding (Today Show costs twice as much as Sunrise to make...carying some dead wood methinks!). You have to cop what you're stuck with (Jessica Rowe = Jason Wild). So ya have to draft and recruit well (programs/personallities), but unfortunately the nature of the recruiting process is there'll be hits and misses.

The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results (thanks Ben). Nine needs someone with impact who is ruthless. If at times he appears wreckless, then so be it. The positives will outweigh the negatives, you can bank on that!

The support for Jessica Rowe has the air of a football club president "supporting" a struggling coach. Given Eddie's other job ....

As for the troubles at Nine, a lot were there when Eddie took over. Both publicly and privately. He's still fairly new to the job, and I wouldn't be surprised if he's deliberately gone about getting all the nasties out of the way now, because if they were to surface when he'd been there a while he wouldn't be able to blame anyone else.

Whether taking over a corporation or a government the first rule is simple enough, get all the bad stuff you can out of the way while you can blame someone else and then if things stabilise you can take all the credit. Even if they're worse than when you took over, you can still claim they are better than they would be if the other mob had remained in charge because you stopped the downward spiral.

itsintheblood said:
All was going swimmingly for the great man before he decided to take on the most unwanted job in corporate australia. The man looks like he's aged 20 years recently and has piled on the kg's. Has he dived in too deep?
things dont seem to be going smoothly but time will tell. unlike some of you buffoons who are obviously experts in the area, i will say i dont have a clue. i dont know ed as intimately as some of you do, but from my vantage point i would say he has alot of work to do.
sometimes their is nothing wrong with sticking with what you are good at, but dont be too hard on people who are prepared too have a go. i am sure ed new that he was risking alot by taking the gig, but not everyone would rather the comfort of hiding behind their computer screen.
tis better to try, and fail, than never try at all.
tis better to die like a lion, than live like a lamb.
and in the words of the great profit peter garrett, it's better to die on your feet than to live on your knees.
good on you ed, i hope you succeed, and if you dont, the collingwood presidency will always be their for you. i bet all the chumps bagging you would love you in charge of their club.

afc9798 said:
As I posted in another thread, Eddie may have inherited some problems, but many are of his own making. He is trying to run 9 like he did The Footy Show and in business you can't just surround yourself with people you like and hope it works out. John Alexander at PBL has him by the balls and Eddie wasn't his preferred man for the job, but James Packer's intervention got Big Ed the job.

Eddie has no appropriate experience for the role and he seems to be finding it far too difficult because he has to serve so many masters, from PBL, the advertisers and stakeholders. His business accumen has been questionable with the amount he paid for the Beaconsfield gig, the ads. calling C7 "Ambulance Chasers", the sacking of respected staff who then gleefully ran to the media, the Footy Show World Cup debacle and his failure to secure any of the next season's best shows from the US. 7 would be loving this and I would assume that Alexander will soon call back the favour he did for Packer by hiring Eddie.

Eddie is a great media personality, but he is clearly not CEO material and his lack of substance and experience is beginning to show. Mates will only get you so far in business, the real test comes when you get promoted to your level of incompetence, which is clearly the case here. 9 is leaking profusely, ratings are haemorraging and stakeholders are impatient....won't be long now.
well said. as i said i am nnot sure about the comings and goings, but i give credence to your post because you make good points without a hint of mcguire bashing. i was really annoyed with the ambulance chasing add, as i saw when koschy did it and it wasnt like that at all. but i suspect it is a bit *** for tat, because the tv stations are slowly but surely crawling more and more into the gutter in the quest for ratings. the truth is usually the first casualty, and their is a never ending quest to take every comment and scene out of context, (naomi robson's show being the front runner in this area). i do think maybe 9 has become a bit complacent, but their opposition are still pretty ordinary aswell. it's either channel 10 and their simpson/american trash all day, or reality crap all night. channel 7 current affairs and personality tv are crap, but they have been signing some ripping shows which is making the difference. prison break, 24, des houswives, lost, las vegas, all great shows.
i just hope 7 and 10 can do something with the footy, cos no one does it better than 9.

andypie said:
in the words of the great profit peter garrett, it's better to die on your feet than to live on your knees.
And what a ****ing hypocrite he has turned out to be. Now seems to spend a fair chunk of his time with his tongue up the **** of various pollies.

As for Eddie, well, I really don't know much about how the media works. But, based on what I've read, it sounds like he's failing.

Hell I read that artcile and:

1. So Eddie is getting rid of a dud hire in Rowe? What is the problem with that? The only problem is that she is married to Overton who they rate. Chisloms fault, simple rule in business always obey the nepotism policy ie do not let souses, family work at the same place, cos it creates problems.

2. He moved a bloke on that he did not think was right, that bloke has decided to air his dirty linen. He wants to make sure his job at 7 works or he will never work in the industry agarin. When you take the big bucks and jobs you are expected to retain confidentiality in public (at least).

3. 9 is crumbling? yeah 7 has done well to produce Lost and Depserate Housewifes. Fact is they were lucky that their supplier made those shows, in the same way 9 has been lucky in the past.

The real problem is James Packer is not really interested in TV, does not want to spend on it and just wants to keep it going. His real interest is gaming expansion into the Asian markets.

I think Eddie has made some mistakes re fronting shows, after all you can't be everyone's mate when you take the top job and it creates a bad feel when the boss is seen to be taking plum roles. He will still have acheived more in his life than any loser on this site.

itsintheblood said:
All was going swimmingly for the great man before he decided to take on the most unwanted job in corporate australia. The man looks like he's aged 20 years recently and has piled on the kg's. Has he dived in too deep?

No i think he is just worried about playing Richmond ;)

jlc

andypie said:
no your mistaking him with greg miller.
Greg Miller produces premierships. He is the Messiah.

St Jude and St Eddie only help ease the pain and suffering of perpetual losers, like the Collingwoods of this world

:p

Jumpin' Jimmy said:
Greg Miller produces premierships. He is the Messiah.

St Jude and St Eddie only help ease the pain and suffering of perpetual losers, like the Collingwoods of this world

:p
if collingwood are perpetual losers, would that make richmond habitual losers.
maybe greg miller has bitten off more than he can chew.

You can't compare Miller to Eddie. Eddie does his job for the Pies for nothing other than love of the club, Miller is highly paid and it a well known merc.

LongBomb said:

Interesting read LongBomb. I never thought I'd say this, but Eddie is starting to embaress himself. I wonder if he realises he's out of his depth and will quit before it's too late, or whether he'll get the boot.

Maybe it's good that nine didn't get the footy, if the man in charge doesn't know what he's doing.

andypie said:
if collingwood are perpetual losers, would that make richmond habitual losers
No-one can match Collingwoods ability to lose grand-finals. Call it perennial, perpetual or whatever. They suffer from a form of premature evacuation which makes them bail out prior to the winning post. It is often referred to as the "Colliwobbles" a debilitating disease which occurs only in September. The Magpies have been affected so badly by this biological weakness they have been unable to reach a GF climax in September since 1958.

jeff300990.gif

What happened in 1990 was only an aberration. The GF was postponed until October hence allowing the Pies an unfair advantage. The AFL in its infinite wisdom has amended the rules to prevent this rort from ever occurring again :p

Howard Littlejohn said:
Whether taking over a corporation or a government the first rule is simple enough, get all the bad stuff you can out of the way while you can blame someone else and then if things stabilise you can take all the credit. Even if they're worse than when you took over, you can still claim they are better than they would be if the other mob had remained in charge because you stopped the downward spiral.

That's certainly the modus operandi when there's a change of government and in company takeover/reconstructions. Execs in McGuire's position generally lose their jobs because of office politics rather than performance. A CEO should oversee execs who take responsibility for programming, public relations and staffing. McGuire's probably been too interventionist and public for his own good but it's far too early to judge his performance.

Why is that facutaly incorrect is it? Presidents are not paid IITB. So who is the idiot? Miller was ona consultants wage before going full time. he would be on 300k plus. Eddie donates his time.

I think its very true that Eddie hasn't done a good job so far, the real test of Leadership, isn't how you deal with the good times, but the bad times, and the aftermath, Eddie has shown a poor level of Professionalism regarding the Today Show, and his respond to the Media attention has shown that he is not leading, but reacting, I also think he has shown a lack of experience, for its one thing to run a TV Show, its another to run a Business of Channel 9's size.

His first year at the Pies was tough also but he got on top of it. Not sure whether he will go as well in this job, lot more to it.

Fact is the Today show has gone from being a ratings leader to a dud, getting destroyed by Sunrise and has made some very poor decisions re casting. All of these decsions were made before Eddie took over, he is the one who has to try and clean up the mess. Rowe and Steffanovic are bloody awful, something has to be done, yet he gets bagged for doing it. Hardly his fault that what went on behind closed doors has been made public.

peppy la pew said:
"The network boss has declined to comment on reports that he was so unhappy with Rowe's performance that he wanted to "bone" (sack) her. "

Now let me get this right, Edwardo wanted to "Bone" her, or did he want to get in the sack with her ? it's too confusing.
Poor old Ed, his ship is sinking and the skipper is playing polo.
It could not of happend to a more deserving bloke.
And why is he "deserving". Tall poppy syndrome?!!! It makes you feel better! Just a guy having a go, as he always does, doing his job. Probably always do better than you.

morgoth said:
His first year at the Pies was tough also but he got on top of it. Not sure whether he will go as well in this job, lot more to it.

Fact is the Today show has gone from being a ratings leader to a dud, getting destroyed by Sunrise and has made some very poor decisions re casting. All of these decsions were made before Eddie took over, he is the one who has to try and clean up the mess. Rowe and Steffanovic are bloody awful, something has to be done, yet he gets bagged for doing it. Hardly his fault that what went on behind closed doors has been made public.
Yep, I can go with that although the difference in morning news shows may be more to do with the format than the personalities. Jessica Rowe seems actually very popular so it there must be another reason. "Sunrise" is way less formal and more entertaining to watch.

Has Eddie bitten off more than he can chew?