Tommo

FREO
Lies Damn Lies & statistics!

Here is a comparison in some of our key stats from the end of last year & after Round 6 this year. The club says that they have addressed the midfield problem over the summer. These stats are averages per game, where they are aggregates I have noted that. The stats are available in PDF form from http://www.prowess-sports.com But they don't have a very good archive for decent comparisons. I will continue to update this post through out the year & see were we are improving.
General Stats
Kicks
2005 10th 193 (56% were short)
2006 2nd 219 (64% were short)

Hand ball
2005 8th 123 (39% of Disposal)
2006 4th 137 (38% of Disposal)

Marks
2005 5th 95 (13% were contested)
2006 1st 124 (8% were contested 2nd in contested marks behind WC!)

Ball Gets
2005 14th 101 (23 contested 13th) (78 uncontested 12th)
2006 15th 98 (22 contested 13th) (76 uncontested 12th)

Inside 50
2005 15th 47 (29% goal conversion)
2006 11th 50 (26% goal conversion)

Marks Inside 50
2005 11th 12
2006 5th 14

Scoring
Best Offense
2005 10th 2041 total (93 avg) (57% conversion)
2006 10th 539 total (90 avg) (52% conversion)

Best Conversion
2005 2nd 57% 304 goals / 534 shots
2006 9th 52% 78 goals / 150 shots

Coast to coast (scoring from kick-ins)
2005 16th 23 times with 12 goals
2006 14th 7 times with 4 goals

Scoring from Centre Bounce (Agg.)
2005 14th 60 times for 43 goals
2006 12th 16 times for 7 goals

Scoring from Ball Up (Agg.)
2005 16th 31 times for 15 goals
2006 10th 9 times for 5 goals

Scoring from Throw-ins (Agg.)
2005 9th 68 times for 40 goals
2006 4th 26 times for 14 goals

Engine Room
Hit outs
2005 8th 29 (39% won) (Best was WC with 36 & 45% won)
2006 10th 29 (39% won)

Centre Bounce Hit outs
2005 6th 12 (opponents avg. 10)
2006 6th 13 (opponents avg. 10)

Throw-in Hit Outs
2005 6th 11 (opponents avg. 11)
2006 4th 9 (opponents avg. 6)

Ball up hit outs
2005 4th 6 (opponents avg. 5)
2006 8th 8 (opponents avg. 8)

Clearances
2005 13th 30 (opponents avg. 34)
2006 15th 28 (opponents avg. 34)

CB Clearances
2005 16th 12 (opponents avg. 14)
2006 16th 11 (opponents avg. 14)

BU Clearances
2005 15 7 (opponents avg. 14)
2006 7th 7 (opponents avg. 12)

TI Clearances
2005 16th 11 (opponents avg. 14)
2006 11th 10 (opponents avg. 12)

On the front-line
Best Defense (Avg. Point Against)
2005 6th 93
2006 6th 87

Tackles
2005 9th 64 (47% effective ranked 16th)
2006 11th 66 (52% effective ranked 6th)

1%er's
2005 6th 42 (13 knock-ons/6 sheperds/20 spoils/4 Smothers)
2006 9th 38 (10 knock-ons/5 sheperds/19 spoils/4 Smothers)

Spoils
2005 3rd 20
2006 8th 19

Free Kicks
2005 12th -1.0 (19 for) (20 Against)
2006 13th -2.5 (19 for) (22 Against)

Handling Errors
9th 16
7th 17

a better comparison would be to show the stats for games until round 4 in 2005 instead of for the whole season. It is way too early to know if we have improved, but by the looks of things we haven't taken many steps forward in rectifying the inconsistency problem.

TP3_Freo said:
a better comparison would be to show the stats for games until round 4 in 2005 instead of for the whole season. It is way too early to know if we have improved, but by the looks of things we haven't taken many steps forward in rectifying the inconsistency problem.
Agreed.

well it looks like a definent improvement and we just need to get the engine room up and going with clearences.

looking at the opposition we have had to play so far, and the travel we've had to do, I'd say that 2006 so far is a solid improvement on last year.

we might lose the derby (getting to 3-3 which I'd hoped for pre-season) and after that we get a chance to string together some good wins and improve our overall stats

We are 3 / 2 in a supposed tough run of games, not to bad.

I feel that we are stuttering along, bit like a V8 running on only 5 cylinders. There is alot of room for improvement (play 100 minutes of footy, not 20 minutes) in skills and team work.

There are teams travelling worse than us at the moment, but we must keep the bar set high.

I think the squad has improved with players coming on and pushing for selection.

Still skeptical about what is happening on the field though. Having said that I am impressed that we have weathered what could have been a very damaging start to the season. Yes, I know those two statements conflict:confused: .

TP3_Freo said:

Well Said and seriously Freo will never be taken seriously until they can rectify their inconsistency isssue!

masai said:
We are 3 / 2 in a supposed tough run of games, not to bad.

I feel that we are stuttering along, bit like a V8 running on only 5 cylinders. There is alot of room for improvement (play 100 minutes of footy, not 20 minutes) in skills and team work.
There are teams travelling worse than us at the moment, but we must keep the bar set high.

That's the key to our season, I reckon. I've been a bit disappointed with our general play and skills so far. We can improve heaps!! So 3 and 2, yes I'd definitely take that at the moment. Watch out mid-season when we finally start getting it together.

Good sign is the players competing for spots, in form at WAFL level, have flow on effects to training and playing harder, may have something to do with Polly's newfound favour (ie. put in the hard yards get rewarded). Need to put it all together this week though.

Yep, 2 weeks ago I would have said no, but I have no doubt we're a far superior side to last year. While our skill level hasn't overly improved, it's the style of footy that won us the last 2 games that is clearly better. We're playing hard contested football, which is the sort of footy that wins finals. Whether we can sustain it every week is the challenge.