Hawk Travel Thread

Where have you travelled?Western Europe, Poland, UK, USA-New York-LA overland, Mexico, Turkey, Egypt, Ireland, Singapore, Indonesia, Fiji, NZ, extensively in Aus.

What is your favourite place you have travelled to?
Egypt- incredible culture, history, sights, cheap, friendly people.

What is your least favourite place you have visited?
LA- doesn't do anything for me at all. Though if you are interested in the Hollywood/celebrity scene then you'd probably enjoy it.

Where will you travel to next?
Hawaii

What would be your ultimate dream holiday?
Landing in Chile, touring South and Central America and flying out of LA-the ultimate massive roadtrip!

Where have you travelled to in order to watch a Hawthorn game (can be preseason or practice)?
Hamilton and Morwell the furthest I've been for a pracy game. Been to Perth once (2008) to watch Hawthorn defeat WC. Have also seen games in Sydney and Brisbane. Last but not least, I try to get to atleast one game a year in Tassie.

am bit of a travel junkie (every cent i earn goes into my next trip), so have been lucky to travel and work in many places over the world. but my fav has def gotta be India. I keep on going back, and there's really never a dull moment, and crazy/weird stuff is always happening. I get to travel to India in sept for work (Andaman Islands of all places) - so should be great.
Also in Aug-Sept am heading to Germany for a wedding and ATP music festival in NY.
So some good times ahead.

Dream destination (which changes often) is prob Iran. Is supposed to be very nice.

Been back almost 2 weeks after 6 weeks in Greece (3rd trip there in 4 years).

Love the place - there's just something magical about a culture that ancient; even if they park just about anywhere they find a spare inch of ground! The food is great (& cheap!) & the weather at this time of year is just starting to heat up ... had been 40 degrees for 3 or 4 consecutive days before I left to come home.

The beaches are stunning, even fairly close to Athens, and the water is a shade of blue that I've never seen anywhere else.

I'm guessing it would be similar to other Mediterranean coastal destinations in that regard ...

Corfu is a beautiful island, and I've also travelled to Rhodes & Santorini. Am planning on going back at some stage in the future, so more Greek islands will be added to my list.

Have also travelled to Hawaii (pre 9/11) - that was a brilliant fortnight. Oahu, Maui & The Big Island (Hawaii). Well worth a visit.

Dream destination: anywhere away from home for 4 weeks or more.

Bit of a travel junkie like those above. Have done all the popular Euro/USA hotspots but my most enjoyable experience was working/living in the Sudan for a few months. The culture shock was fantastic, always good to help those in need and they're great people despite the rep some are giving them. Going over to the north of China later this year and planning a Iran/Syria/Jordan trip next year - (want to try and squeeze in Greece somewhere too as im yet to visit). Becomming strangely attracted to the middle east/arabic culture lately, interesting people.

I went to the Sudan some years back. Did the crazy fellows run down the street towards you waving a swords? (Trying to sell 'em not cleave your head off.) It was crazy and lawless when I was there, much like me at the time, but would like to go back. Did you get to the pyramids, or the rusting hulks of paddle steamers stranded midstream?

I lived in Cairo for awhile too. Loved it. Loved Egypt, just fantastic place. Jordan is as dull as, but Petra makes up for it. Syria sounds fantastic - getting a taxi from Amman is the way to do it apparently. Like you, I really like the middle eastern cultures. Jerusalem is amazing too.

What is your favourite place you have travelled to?
Mexico! The people are fantastic, the language is awesome, beaches are among the best in the world, drinks are cheap and the fooooooooooood! Oh so good. I'd love to see more of the place, though there are some areas that are still a no-go for tourists.

What is your least favourite place you have visited?
Los Angeles

Where will you travel to next?
Most likely London for work

What would be your ultimate dream holiday?
Still haven't been to New York - I'd love to go there!

I went to the Sudan some years back. Did the crazy fellows run down the street towards you waving a swords? (Trying to sell 'em not cleave your head off.) It was crazy and lawless when I was there, much like me at the time, but would like to go back.

Is your real name Hunter S Thompson? W...T.....F man! Fear & Loathing

I lived in NYC for 2 years no better than a weekend trip to Punta Cana - Domincan Repuplic.

My favourite destinations are:
- Norway (Bergen rules)
- Croatia
- Canada
- Thailand

Is your real name Hunter S Thompson? W...T.....F man! Fear & Loathing

It was a previous life - pre-kids, pre-responsibilities, just out of uni and with a hefty grant in my pocket, it was fun. No place like Cairo....

You would need to travel the world for many years to get a really good impression about different countries. I have travelled to some places and had a ball - other people not so. I guess one mans meat is another mans poison. If you have a good travelling companion it makes all the difference, I spent a few weeks in Munich years ago (under plenty of duress) and it was a disaster. Went back recently and it was just fantastic. I lean toward places where there is a bit of local culture on display, people are friendly, and there is plenty of architectural or scenic eye candy.

So i guess my #1 would be a close call between the Bavarian Alps, namely Konigsee, and the Loire Valley in France. I think the Loire valley for the people, history and architecture - Bavaria for the breathtaking Scenery. To add to the confusion the old city in Quebec is pseudo France... though its on the other side of the world, and the people we met there were fantastic, would be happy to spend more time there.

For something a little closer to home, the South Island of NZ is pretty spectacular, I love it over there. Queen Charlotte Sound, Arthurs Pass, the French settlement of Akaroa - all well worth a visit. Bay of Islands on the North Island is also worth the trip, as is Wellington, every time we have been there we have extended our stay.

Anybody who has spent time in the UK will understand why so many Brits migrate over here!

My least favourite (O/S) destination was Selinas in California, what a filthy little dustbowl. Took a wrong turn and landed in a run down suburb full of rather mean and threatening looking hombres wandering the streets, we were not stopping to ask for directions. From what i have heard New Orleans is far worse!

The dream holiday - a blank cheque and two years O/S should do, i will use my imagination.

This is the Monastry at Konigsee, only accessible via boat.

T_Konigsee%20%233%20%20290.JPG

Will have a look for some Amboise pics..

One place that it is dear to me is New Mexico - nothing better!! Absolutely Wild.

Secondly, a West Texas - lots of beer and friendly people

Thirdly - for relaxion and eye candy - Laguna Beach and La Jolla California!!

Also in Aug-Sept am heading to Germany for a wedding and ATP music festival in NY.

That's trippy - my s/son and most of his mates are also heading over to Germany for a wedding at the same time.

I reckon one of the places I enjoyed the most in my travels was Langkawi, about 100 kms to the west of the Malay/Thai border.

It was Mahatmir's own little slice of paradise/project and as such was tax free, which made it a great place to really have a holiday without spending too much time worrying about the cost.

Beautiful place.

I went to the Sudan some years back. Did the crazy fellows run down the street towards you waving a swords? (Trying to sell 'em not cleave your head off.) It was crazy and lawless when I was there, much like me at the time, but would like to go back. Did you get to the pyramids, or the rusting hulks of paddle steamers stranded midstream?

Yeah, I've actually been over a few times so managed to see everything their. The job I was doing was upgrading bakery equipment, (not sure if you can remember how many bakeries they have? :eek:) so was out with the locals working on the project and really got amongst it. Was very lucky in that regard and probably why I enjoyed it so much, quite a few places way out from Omderman had never seen a 'white' person in the flesh before. Those Pyramids are a phenominal place to visit, the naivity is a bit sad for them but great for a visitor with the access and what not. Im still in contact with a few over there and have them spreading the word on Majak Daw!:thumbsu:

I lived in Cairo for awhile too. Loved it. Loved Egypt, just fantastic place. Jordan is as dull as, but Petra makes up for it. Syria sounds fantastic - getting a taxi from Amman is the way to do it apparently. Like you, I really like the middle eastern cultures. Jerusalem is amazing too.

Also managed to spend time in Egypt when I was there, altough I spent more time in Alexandria than Cairo. Another great place, Cairo is amazing as you said, mind boggling, thoroughly enjoyed it and Alexandria just had appeal for some reason? Maybe just that little bit more laid back and being on the Mediterranean.

Petra is indeed the calling card, one I need to cross off my list, Iran looks amazing and Syria is just another one of those places that seems interesting to me, 'and while im there' you know. Would love to go to Jerusalem but fear I may not be allowed back into certain countries afterward. Im pretty sure the Sudan won't let me in if I've been there, and I still have alot of friends and contacts I'd like to go back and visit. May have to leave it to last in the list. Did you experience any problems or did you go there after Sudan? Also, seen a doco on Yemen the other day and it looked great. Don't know enough about it yet but maybe a future destination, I'll put it with the rest of the list im currently to busy and cant afford to go to. :)

That's trippy - my s/son and most of his mates are also heading over to Germany for a wedding at the same time.
yeah that is a bit freaky.
i can't remember the name of the town, but it's some small(ish) village south of Frankfurt. The plan is to get smashed and make an ass of myself. It's amazing what you can get away with on the other side of the world

Yeah, I've actually been over a few times so managed to see everything their. The job I was doing was upgrading bakery equipment, (not sure if you can remember how many bakeries they have? :eek:) so was out with the locals working on the project and really got amongst it. Was very lucky in that regard and probably why I enjoyed it so much, quite a few places way out from Omderman had never seen a 'white' person in the flesh before. Those Pyramids are a phenominal place to visit, the naivity is a bit sad for them but great for a visitor with the access and what not. Im still in contact with a few over there and have them spreading the word on Majak Daw!:thumbsu:

Also managed to spend time in Egypt when I was there, altough I spent more time in Alexandria than Cairo. Another great place, Cairo is amazing as you said, mind boggling, thoroughly enjoyed it and Alexandria just had appeal for some reason? Maybe just that little bit more laid back and being on the Mediterranean.
i was only there in transit last year, but holy crap, the sunrise in Khartoum blew my mind!
Was also in Egypt last year, and agreed, Cairo is a great city.

Other highlights for me in Egypt was camping in the White Desert NP, with its surreal rock formations that make you feel like you're in a Dali painting. Also Abu Simbel down south was pretty damn cool. And if anyone is planning on going, i'd recommend a feluca trip up the Nile. Nothing more relaxing than kicking back having a few beers (and other stuff) watching the world go by. A great antidote to Cairo's infamous traffic jams

I flew into Khartoum from Aswan on an Air Egypt charter flight. Man, that was hair-raising, it was a tiny Ailitalia plane piloted by an Egyptian fighter pilot. I've flown Aeroflot, been in small planes in the American Midwest during hurricane season and sundry other services operated by Eastern European countries and flying into dodgy places, but this flight took the cake.

I'd love to see those pyramids. But my memories of Khartoum are not exactly pleasant ones - it was an adventure but freakin' dangerous and seriously weird.

I only got to Alexandria very briefly, but yes, the European feel of the place is very appealing. Port Said is a shocker - the bullet holes from the Suez skirmish pock-mark everything. I would love to spend more time in Alexandria, Cairo too for that matter, but with kids and the like it would certainly change the way I travelled and lived. Did you ever get to the Hilton shee-sha bar? slip the bloke 10 pounds and you got the special tobacco who's aroma was disguised by apple blossom.... Ahhh the hours just melted away.

Incidentally, Max Roddenbeck's book, 'Cairo: the City Victorious' is a terrific read about Cairo's history. I also got into Mahfouz's novels while I was there.

Petra is indeed the calling card, one I need to cross off my list, Iran looks amazing and Syria is just another one of those places that seems interesting to me, 'and while im there' you know. Would love to go to Jerusalem but fear I may not be allowed back into certain countries afterward. Im pretty sure the Sudan won't let me in if I've been there, and I still have alot of friends and contacts I'd like to go back and visit. May have to leave it to last in the list. Did you experience any problems or did you go there after Sudan? Also, seen a doco on Yemen the other day and it looked great. Don't know enough about it yet but maybe a future destination, I'll put it with the rest of the list im currently to busy and cant afford to go to. :)

Petra is incredible. You travel across the Wadi, then around a corner there it is, just like in Tintin and the Red Sea Sharks. Magnificent. Jordan is dull though.

The trick is to get a loose-leaf visa for Israel, you get questioned and hassled by the Israeli customs about why, but it's sweet, then no problem with Arab countries. I found Israel scary.... guns and stuff. But the Old City is amazing. Tis mind-boggling to see the Wailing Wall and know the Dome of the Rock is next door - two wildly different religions, yet neighbours with a fragile peace.

My wife worked for a famous international film director for years and visited, or at least had friends who went to Yemen (amazing, exotic) and Iran (raved about it - sophisticated, 'smelt good', exotic).

Other highlights for me in Egypt was camping in the White Desert NP, with its surreal rock formations that make you feel like you're in a Dali painting. Also Abu Simbel down south was pretty damn cool. And if anyone is planning on going, i'd recommend a feluca trip up the Nile. Nothing more relaxing than kicking back having a few beers (and other stuff) watching the world go by. A great antidote to Cairo's infamous traffic jams

I hiked through the Sinai for 2 weeks, which was quite an experience. There's a temple that Hatshepsut built just near the Sinai, no one goes there, on a hill that was built when they were trading with Lebanon. That was amazing to visit. No crowds, or reconstruction.

The first time I saw Tut's death mask I gasped - that's freakin' amazing. The pyramids too. So many things that are incredible. The Cairo night food markets in Ramadan.... the list goes on.

Another amazing place is Zanzibar. But that's another post.

Hell yeah! Jambiani on the east coast is freakin paradise. Over christmas me and my girlfriend rented a huuge house for $50 a night right on the beach. Very fond memories of lazing about, snorkelling and eating lobster.
Stone Town is an interesting place too.

Hell yeah! Jambiani on the east coast is freakin paradise. Over christmas me and my girlfriend rented a huuge house for $50 a night right on the beach. Very fond memories of lazing about, snorkelling and eating lobster.
Stone Town is an interesting place too.

Stone Town is incredible. Check out the hotel Emmerson & Green - it's in an old sultan's palace. Amazing.

Was also in Egypt last year, and agreed, Cairo is a great city.

Salam alaykum Willie_Rioli! Spot on mate!! Egypt is just incredible! I had 2 weeks on a tour and then 2 weeks independent travel there! Would love to revisit one day!

Griff Rhys-Jones is doing a set of docos at the moment on Your ABC. Nice intro to some of the world's greatest cities.