Hawks fairly short.

• Thread starter Thread starter Ripper

Freo Big Fella said:
I agree, however they make up for it by being bloody quick and we looked incredibly slow last week, which worries me.

That thought struck me as well. We will be a lot quicker when we are not worried about playing on an Ice rink though.

Particularly in their foward line we have a huge height advantage and our defenders are fairly quick.

Yeah scary thought having too many talls when our smalls lack pace. Who's gonna catch them when they have the ball.

Imagine if these players all play:

Sandilands
Longmuir
Johnson
Pavlich
McPharlin
Dodd
M.Carr
Parker
Thornton

THey are all over 190cm. 9 players over 190cm. Not counting Haddrill who plays like a tall.

Comparing that to the Hawks.

Everitt
Hay
Croad
Franklin
Taylor
Thurgood
Boyle

7 players. 4 of which are named on the extended interchange bench. Only 3 named on the field compared with our 7 named on the field.

I hope CC has noticed. If we are too Everitt conscious we may end up losing this one. If CC's worrying about Everitt dropping forward. He shouldn't bother. He's only one man. We are going to lose the ruck contest regardless. The question is whether we can win over the rest of the ground.

My team:

B: Mundy Parker Thornton
HB: Dodd Polak Grover
C: Black J.Carr M.Carr
HF: Cook Pavlich Headland
F: Farmer McPharlin Medhurst
R: Longmuir Bell Hasleby

Int: Johnson Schammer Webster Scofield
No Haddrill - injury
No Sandilands - limited mobility.
Siegert unlucky. Possibly swap him with Webster.

I reckon that they will leave 211 and play JLo on Hay as he really has the wood on him (kicked a few big bags going back to the 2001 breakthrough game).

That leaves Jacobs at 189cm on Macpharlap (193cm) or MJ (195) if Macpharlap doesn't come up.

What if they take their chances and put Hodge on Longmuir. Sheedy took the chance and it paid dividends. Longmuir was buckets taller than the Essendon defender and managed 2 goals. Not a match winning return.

I've really gone off resting ruckman in the forward line. I was a big fan last year. But its just not paying off as well as it should.

rgauci said:
What if they take their chances and put Hodge on Longmuir. Sheedy took the chance and it paid dividends. Longmuir was buckets taller than the Essendon defender and managed 2 goals. Not a match winning return

I'll be dancing on the streets if they play Hodge on Longmuir. Means we won't have to worry about his deadly left foot as he'll betoo conscious of stopping his man.

In all seriousness though, if we at least break even in the ruck with Everitt and stop Williams, we should win quite comfortably. Crawford will most likely go head to head with Bell and Parker should will wear Williams like a glove.

rgauci said:
Yeah scary thought having too many talls when our smalls lack pace. Who's gonna catch them when they have the ball.

Imagine if these players all play:

Sandilands
Longmuir
Johnson
Pavlich
McPharlin
Dodd
M.Carr
Parker
Thornton

THey are all over 190cm. 9 players over 190cm. Not counting Haddrill who plays like a tall.

Comparing that to the Hawks.

Everitt
Hay
Croad
Franklin
Taylor
Thurgood
Boyle

7 players. 4 of which are named on the extended interchange bench. Only 3 named on the field compared with our 7 named on the field.

Yes, but of the players you have listed, none of them are particularly slow other than Sandilands and Longmuir. Despite being talls, Thornton, Parker, McPharlin and Pavlich are all extremely quick and mobile.

We did look slow last week, but you always look slow when your chasing. Smith and Jacobs are more likely to take the third tall than Hodge. An extra tall down back will make it harder for Williams, although we don't want to play a lose man because Hodge, Smith or Brown loose in their backline will kill us.

dominguez said:
We did look slow last week, but you always look slow when your chasing. Smith and Jacobs are more likely to take the third tall than Hodge. An extra tall down back will make it harder for Williams, although we don't want to play a lose man because Hodge, Smith or Brown loose in their backline will kill us.
Hodge has played on Nathan Thompson, Simmonds and McLaren at various stages this year. I think he gets a kick out of pushing ruckmen around and niggling them as he did that to all three of them.

If you don't allow us to play someone loose, expect Hodge and Smith to rotate between the midfield and the third tall in defence.

Osborne will play on Farmer
Brown will play on Medurst
Jacobs or Smith will take Longmuir
And Hodge will dominate :)

Could be a danger game, Hawthorn are very accountable and play hard at the ball and the man, could also be a big test for Jeffrey and his new image I reckon they will really put the pressure on him and Medhurst.

Yak man has a point. Hawks may not be the most skillful side in the comp, but they are playing a hard brand of footy, an area where your boys would have to lift in order to match them physically.

Just read the appalling article on dockerland.com

How hilarious!

Needs a correction to a text error (3rd para, 5th line) . .... now reads -

'Paul Hasleby has been going around telling everyone how much he loves being ?agged ......' :D

002_Dixon_B_Jacobs_D_150_100_games.JPG