S.A Spurs, Liverpool
As some of you may know, I am a stand up comedian.

I had an idea for a bit about weird words that everyone knows, but noone uses.

So I was wondering whether people could help me brainstorm.

I'm thinking of words like

RIGMAROLE
IMBROGLIO
FURPHY
HIGGLEDY-PIGGLEDY
etc

You know, strange words like that.

Away you go, toot suite!

Flapdoodle
Jabberwocky
Balderdash
Tarradiddle
Fandangle
Persiflage
Claptrap
Shenanigans
Poppycock
Hogwash

Originally posted by Stevo
Flapdoodle
Jabberwocky
Balderdash
Tarradiddle
Fandangle
Persiflage
Claptrap
Shenanigans
Poppycock
Hogwash

I know a few of these, but not all of them. Could I please have definitions for:

FLAPDOODLE
TARRADIDDLE
PERSIFLAGE

Thanks!

Originally posted by Yianni
I had an idea for a bit about weird words that everyone knows, but noone uses...

FURPHY
I use the word Furphy fairly regularly.
SPC, Steven King, Adem Yze and the word Furphy are probably Shepparton's only contributions to Australian society.

Originally posted by Yianni
I know a few of these, but not all of them. Could I please have definitions for:

FLAPDOODLE
TARRADIDDLE
PERSIFLAGE

Thanks!

They're all synonymous. Basically, they all mean "nonsense".

It's all spliffteferous nonsense...

What you need is an ounce of homegrown, a busted TV, a hot flatmate who's in training to be a nun who always rejects your advances (the token sexual tension thing), a dog named Alfred who tells you off when you're bent and a dreadlocked mate who steals your dog's food and always invites the Mormons in...

Now all it needs is a name...

Originally posted by TheWackedYak
It's all spliffteferous nonsense...

What you need is an ounce of homegrown, a busted TV, a hot flatmate who's in training to be a nun who always rejects your advances (the token sexual tension thing), a dog named Alfred who tells you off when you're bent and a dreadlocked mate who steals your dog's food and always invites the Mormons in...

Now all it needs is a name...
Hey Dad?

excommunicated.

I use anathema.

That you would stoop to trawling Bigfooty for gags is anathema to me.

Don't be fooled people! He doesn't want the words! he just wants a bit about asking people weird questions on-line!

You're playing into his hands!

No, seriously, if you see Yianni's name on the bill at a comedy club, get in there and see him. He's my second favourite young Aussie comedian.

Re: excommunicated.

Originally posted by bluechampion
No, seriously, if you see Yianni's name on the bill at a comedy club, get in there and see him. He's my second favourite young Aussie comedian.

If your favourite is yourself, I'll forgive you.

If your favourite is Nathan Cavilieri, I'll kill you.

Who is your favourite anyway? Email me about the footy on Friday anyway...

I like ' FLIBBERTYGIBBETT' which means flighty - aloof, and was used in sound of music to descrie maria i think.
Only word with 2 double b's in it i believe.

Girt. :D As in the words to the National Anthem...although this has been done plenty of times in comedy routines.

Firmanumunumunum. Although this isn't a word, I like to think it is. It rolls off your tongue when you are drunk.

Floccinaucinihilipilification is an actual word that means something along the lines of estimating is worthless. True.

Pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicavolcanoconiosis is also an actual word that is a disease caused by the inhalation of fine silica dust. Don't you just love medical terminology. That would be good to work into a comedy routine!!!

Anyone remember the skit by Martin & Malloy?

With panametabucatylafinasupracetametaparabycarohipnabolafitanarapsudoquodaniquafed

With added rhynodiphnocoholmisaventahodines antal 50 with a new antiquasting siftafed formula with rybonasal histamine and paramecabol with give it away give it away now 5???

Ask for it by name :D

Got my head is filled with uesless sh*t...

Originally posted by Dogwatcher
ignominous - i love that word

Yianni - still keen on coming to SA?

Mate, always. I've been so bl00dy busy with work that I don't even have time to go and see my grandmother!

I've got a couple of weeks leave around the end of the year, maybe we could swing something around then?

Congratulations on the impending wedding mate!