Help: where to watch AFL in Brisbane?

Excuse my intrusion Lions fans.

I assume a fair few of you live in Brissy, I've just moved here myself for work. Living in Kangaroo Point and don't have pay tv.

So where should I go to watch the footy in this fair city?

Great win on the weekend btw :D

The Chalk should have all the games on. Not far for you either.

Just up the rod from the GABBA.

Excuse my intrusion Lions fans.

I assume a fair few of you live in Brissy, I've just moved here myself for work. Living in Kangaroo Point and don't have pay tv.

So where should I go to watch the footy in this fair city?

Great win on the weekend btw :D

For Lions home games, there's a legendary place called the 'Gabba, you should come along, it's $17.50 or $25.50 well spent (depending if you are a student or adult). We don't get big crowds anymore so you should be able to just get the cheapest tickets and sneak into the second tier (best seats in the house).

For Suns home games there is Carrara Stadium (I refuse to call it Metricon), good stadium but the footy isn't as good.

For Lions and Suns away games and some other big games there is 7mate (Channel 73), you'll need to get a HD TV to recieve it. If you don't have one it should set you back $400 (or get a HD set top box, which should set you back about $50), but both options are a lot cheaper than getting Foxtel ($720 per year inc. sports package). No AFL normal season games are on normal Channel 7 here. 7mate has at least four live games per week.

Lions and Suns are always on 7Mate when they play, and whoever they play of course..

..sorry Everton, we seem to have posted pretty much the same thing at the same time..:)

Yep! I'll definitely be at the Bris v Melb game!

Checked out The Chalk - looks good. I had no idea that there would be four games per week on free to air though, that's brilliant.

Thanks for the responses guys :)

The Pineapple Hotel prides itself as an AFL venue. Been there plenty of times myself. Has a good area for AFL telecasts with commentary. Most pubs in Bris a) won't have the AFL unless asked b) won't have the commentary on.

Check out the Piney for watching AFL at a pub, it's near the Gabba right in Kangaroo Point.

The Pineapple Hotel prides itself as an AFL venue. Been there plenty of times myself. Has a good area for AFL telecasts with commentary. Most pubs in Bris a) won't have the AFL unless asked b) won't have the commentary on.

Check out the Piney for watching AFL at a pub, it's near the Gabba right in Kangaroo Point.

Sorry for the necro bump - this was the first Google search result for "afl pubs brisbane".

Will be in Brisbane for the long weekend and want to catch the Swans/Essendon game tomorrow afternoon. I remember going to the Pineapple before a Swans/Lions game at the GABBA a few years back - is it still a good bet?

Any others you can recommend?

Cheers lads.

Edit: I also vaguely remember a pub under a bridge somewhere that was pretty decent and had Lions/AFL posters everywhere...

Piney is the place to go for afl in Brisbane still. Will have commentary on and should be pretty busy pre lions game

Maybe the pig and whistle down the bottom of town near the river

Storey bridge hotel is the one you're thinking of. At kangaroo point. No idea about afl there personally

Sorry for the necro bump - this was the first Google search result for "afl pubs brisbane".

Will be in Brisbane for the long weekend and want to catch the Swans/Essendon game tomorrow afternoon. I remember going to the Pineapple before a Swans/Lions game at the GABBA a few years back - is it still a good bet?

Cheers lads.

Edit: I also vaguely remember a pub under a bridge somewhere that was pretty decent and had Lions/AFL posters everywhere...
I know you! You are the keyboard player in Sparks.:)

Cheers lads.

I reckon you could go to plenty of pubs and nicely ask the barman to change the channel to AFL and up the volume and they'd do it. There's not as much of an NRL pub-going group-atmosphere thing here like there is for AFL in Vic and elsewhere or for soccer in Europe. Places in Caxton St/close vicinity of Suncorp might be the exception. There are some pub things on for big, 'World Cup' type events in Brisbane but that's about it.

You are correct sir. Prepare for a bit of a wait though if you don't get there painfully early.

Cheers brother and thanks for the heads up will try and get there at a reasonable time, which shouldn't be too difficult considering the apartment building i'm staying is just a stones throw away.

Thanks for the replies. Staying a bit South West of the city with my wife's family so on Brizrider's advice I might ring around a few places in the area and see if they'll screen it with sound.

Otherwise will try and get to the Pineapple then - should have a great atmosphere with the Lions/Collingwood game to follow.

Good luck tonight against those filthy brutes.

I reckon you could go to plenty of pubs and nicely ask the barman to change the channel to AFL and up the volume and they'd do it. There's not as much of an NRL pub-going group-atmosphere thing here like there is for AFL in Vic and elsewhere or for soccer in Europe. Places in Caxton St/close vicinity of Suncorp might be the exception. There are some pub things on for big, 'World Cup' type events in Brisbane but that's about it.

Disagree, some of the more outer suburban pubs will have patrons complain if "Gayfl" crosses just one of their 12 screens. On at least 2 occasions I've had the pub turn the footy off after 10 minutes because of complaints. The closer to Chalk/Pineapple the better, much more enjoyable with a good atmosphere.

Probably true. I've never really been to outer suburb places but that's real NRL territory for sure.

A week early I know but i am coming up for my "cricket trip away" next weekend and will be frequenting the pineapple before the Richmond game! If anyone happens to do the same and wants a quiet one before heading to the GABBA feel free to send me a PM.

Hi everyone. I am new to the bigfooty forums.

Although I live in Canberra, I have been to Brisbane a few times to visit family and friends over the past 10 years.

While I have heard of the Pineapple Hotel near the Gabba, there are two other venues in the suburbs I can name that no one else has bothered to mention so far based on what I found from doing a google search.

1. On the Northside of Brisbane....

...head to the Aspley Hornets (Australian) Football Club to watch LIVE AFL matches with sound in the Sports Bar. Aspley are one of the top teams in QLD who compete against the AFL reserves teams from NSW (Swans, GWS Giants) and QLD (Lions, GC Suns) as well as other strong clubs from Brisbane, Gold Coast (Southport), Sydney (Sydney University), Canberra (Ainslie, Eastlake) and Darwin (N.T. Thunder) in the North East Australian Football League (NEAFL)

The address is 50 Graham Rd, Carseldine QLD 4034.

2. At the end of 2010, the Brisbane Lions AFL club opened a licensed club on the southside of Brissy called "Lions@Springwood". It is a massive club with 200 gaming machines, alfresco dining, cafe, TAB and sports bar with multiple screens, function rooms and much more. All AFL matches can be seen on their big screens (most of them with sound I assume) along with NRL games and other sport such as all UFC events on other screens. This licensed club was opened under the watch of former chairman Angus Johnston.

Their address is 2 Pannikin Street, Rochedale South QLD 4123.

Hope this info is helpful.

Help: where to watch AFL in Brisbane?

Write your reply...