nolanbuc

Rookie
Jun 23, 2010
Mississippi
Arsenal, Cowboys, Grizzlies, Cubs
Recent convert to the goodness that is Aussie footy, I hail from the Deep South of the USA. I'm a big American football fan (pro & college), a moderate fan of basketball, hockey, baseball, and usually only watch what I call soccer during the World Cup.

I pull for the Dallas Cowboys, Chicago Cubs, Memphis Grizzlies and the Ole Miss Rebels (University of Mississippi, my alma mater). I'm very involved in fantasy football and I've run a fantasy league since 2001.

I knew of Aussie football for years, but only watched a game last week on ESPN3.com and was blown away. The games starting in the wee hours of the morning here is a bit of a problem, but this sport definitely bears further watching from me!

For the record, (and this is meant as no disrespect to Bomber fans) I only picked Essendon as my team because I had to chose one and the first game I watched was the Essendon/Hawthorne game. I am too ignorant of the sport at this point to declare a favorite, thus my loyalty is up for bids. ;)

Well, that's probably more than you wanted to know. LOL I'm looking forward to learning more about the sport. Ask me anything you'd like if you care to, but forgive me a dumb question of two until I get my bearings. :cool:

Thanks for the welcome, BACCS. Thanks to ESPN3.com I'll be able to catch a game or two each week.

Good to hear mate.:thumbsu: Never been to your part of America, but I have been to the continent a few times and love it! If you are ever wondering about something, always feel free to visit here and post your query.

Thanks again, BACCS, for your hospitality. I don't seem to have posting privileges on the main boards yet, is that normal for a newbie?

You should be able to post? But I'm pretty sure after a week or 2 you can start making new threads, or you have to post 20 times, one of the two. And no worries, always good to have the wider world discovering and appreciating our great game.:thumbsu:

Ah, yes, I think you've pegged it. I can post in some areas, but can't make new threads because of the spam filters. Well, only one remedy for that, I gotta post more. :)

Recent convert to the goodness that is Aussie footy, I hail from the Deep South of the USA. I'm a big American football fan (pro & college), a moderate fan of basketball, hockey, baseball, and usually only watch what I call soccer during the World Cup.

I pull for the Dallas Cowboys, Chicago Cubs, Memphis Grizzlies and the Ole Miss Rebels (University of Mississippi, my alma mater). I'm very involved in fantasy football and I've run a fantasy league since 2001.

I knew of Aussie football for years, but only watched a game last week on ESPN3.com and was blown away. The games starting in the wee hours of the morning here is a bit of a problem, but this sport definitely bears further watching from me!

For the record, (and this is meant as no disrespect to Bomber fans) I only picked Essendon as my team because I had to chose one and the first game I watched was the Essendon/Hawthorne game. I am too ignorant of the sport at this point to declare a favorite, thus my loyalty is up for bids. ;)

Well, that's probably more than you wanted to know. LOL I'm looking forward to learning more about the sport. Ask me anything you'd like if you care to, but forgive me a dumb question of two until I get my bearings. :cool:
Please don't shoot us.

Thanks all for the warm welcomes. No disrepect to Essendon and I hated to seem like a fair weather fan (bit late for that now, isn't it?), but it seemed like every match I watched on espn3.com was a Hawks game and I quickly became a follower. Perhaps it's the snazzy jumpers, I can't say for certain.

I have become addicted to AFL, I wish we got more games here, but I will watch the rest of the playoffs and I will be anxiously awaiting the start of next season in the fall (spring here). Actually, even though I'm on the opposite side of the globe, my schedule is very close to you who live in Australia, since I work nights. The night matches there come on early in the AM here, towards the end of my shift.

In addition to being a sports nut, I'm a bit of a political junkie, and I've watched your recent elections from afar. Don't be shocked if I jump in on the politics board as well. :D

Hi y'all!