News High Performance revamp

• Thread starter Thread starter catempire

Could we just have whatever Port Adelaide is having?
I went to a food conference a few weeks ago and one of the doctors there said that Port (and the Aussie cricket team) and on a low carb/high fat diet(paleo). Only team in AFL that are on this form of diet apparently, maybe coincidence that they are also one of the fittest(or fittest) teams going around.

I reckon Tommy would struggle going Paleo!

Basically , we need to get fitter without getting injured. We need to maximze our performance to qualify for finals and then to be at peak in finals.

But ... I also question our approach re skill. Have these guys input had us kicking the ball less .
I think our skills were better at the start of the year , by the end we looked out of touch. More ball work required from my perspective , certainly our conversion indicated we need to practice this more.
Duncans interview after the north game sounded like he thought too many did not do enough in their own time on this front.
Wow! Stop the presses!!!

Ablett is also apparently on this diet.

I started on this about 6 weeks ago - http://www.marksdailyapple.com/the-book/the-primal-blueprint/ .Cut out grains and sugar with an 80/20 approach to it and have stripped body fat very quickly and gained a heap of strength.

Dropped about 9kg in that time and in the best shape I've been in since moving to Melbs 2 years ago (from the GC and was in the water surfing nearly every day beforehand). The noticeable differences for me though is I feel much more satiated, not craving food and not having that afternoon energy slump. Used to get really moody when I was hungry, can easily skip a meal now and not feel drained of energy because my body isn't relying on carbs as an energy source which needs constant feeding. Couldn't recommend it enough. Heaps of protein and natural fats supplemented with carbs from a lot of veg and some fruit.

Agree with the approach or not, it's still healthier than probably 90% of the population who regularly eat a lot of processed, fried, take-away and sugary crap food.

I started on this about 6 weeks ago - http://www.marksdailyapple.com/the-book/the-primal-blueprint/ .Cut out grains and sugar with an 80/20 approach to it and have stripped body fat very quickly and gained a heap of strength.

Dropped about 9kg in that time and in the best shape I've been in since moving to Melbs 2 years ago (from the GC and was in the water surfing nearly every day beforehand). The noticeable differences for me though is I feel much more satiated, not craving food and not having that afternoon energy slump. Used to get really moody when I was hungry, can easily skip a meal now and not feel drained of energy because my body isn't relying on carbs as an energy source which needs constant feeding. Couldn't recommend it enough. Heaps of protein and natural fats supplemented with carbs from a lot of veg and some fruit.

Agree with the approach or not, it's still healthier than probably 90% of the population who regularly eat a lot of processed, fried, take-away and sugary crap food.
Yeah I found it interesting that the whole grain/sugar thing vs fat thing started in the 60s as a massive advertising campaign and the sugar/grain companies won out. Supposedly meant that less fat would mean less heart disease and diabetes but in fact those diseases increased with a higher carb diet. Some guy(can't remember) wrote a book in the 70s about sugar called white poison or something but was pretty much ignored. Also found out that the sugar companies are also linked with the diabetic foundations!
We are now starting to understand that refined sugars are a lot like poison and certain fats are actually beneficial. I just draw the line at the full extreme versions of any type of diet. But that's just my view.

Ps. Well done on the weight loss/ fitness gains

And many at GC, especially Ablett.
But Peter Siddle is definitely not Paleo- his 12+ bananas a day and vegetarian diet s not what Dr Brukner ordered.
I went to the same conference 12m ago if it's the one at St.Kilda Town Hall.
This discussion has been brought up before- I'd tread warily if you're looking at LONG TERM.
What was the life expectancy of Paleos anyway?

But Peter Siddle is definitely not Paleo- his 12+ bananas a day and vegetarian diet s not what Dr Brukner ordered.
This discussion has been brought up before- I'd tread warily if you're looking at LONG TERM.
30 +/- 250-500 million years or so... ;)

I'd agree about the long term side of things. The jury's still out on the effects of these exclusive diets (i.e. where food groups are excluded if not totally then minimised)

Yeah I found it interesting that the whole grain/sugar thing vs fat thing started in the 60s as a massive advertising campaign and the sugar/grain companies won out. Supposedly meant that less fat would mean less heart disease and diabetes but in fact those diseases increased with a higher carb diet. Some guy(can't remember) wrote a book in the 70s about sugar called white poison or something but was pretty much ignored. Also found out that the sugar companies are also linked with the diabetic foundations!
We are now starting to understand that refined sugars are a lot like poison and certain fats are actually beneficial. I just draw the line at the full extreme versions of any type of diet. But that's just my view.

Ps. Well done on the weight loss/ fitness gains
David Gillespie. Clever man. A lawyer.
But as you say, taking this to extremes and omitting fruits and ALL grains is harsh.
FWIW, the WHO and Dietitians around the world have analysed all these diets, and the Mediterranean diet is the best long term eating regime. Any diet that eliminates whole food groups will of course lead to weight loss, but that is not necessarily sustainable and tends to be antisocial.

I just think it's an interesting concept but yes I also agree that a healthy dose of scepticism is needed when something radical or something that challenges the conventional thinking pops up. But I also don't think it should be written off completely either. As I mentioned I also don't agree with a full paleo diet, like I don't agree with a full vegan diet. Something about taking it to extremes doesn't cut it for me but a balance is probably best. But I tend to lean towards the idea that fat doesn't make you fat, but that sugar, excess carbs and processed foods are more to blame. A true paleo wouldn't eat broccoli as it wasn't around in the Paleolithic period but we all know how good it is for us.
All I am saying is you need to look at all clubs and if one seems to have an advantage in any area(Ports fitness)you gotta ask why and how and what can we do to match them or get better. It may be diet, it may be the fitness guru the have or even the age of their list, or all of the above but I think most on here agree we looked unfit, weak and sometimes downright disinterested in most of our 2nd halves this year and something needs to change.

Various medico relatives vouch for the Med diet as the best way to get fit and stay fit, it's more to do with animal fats vs. plant oils and low GI energy vs. high GI energy. Add 30 mins of exercise a day and you shouldn't have to worry unless genetics have a say.

For professional athletes (and healthy young men as well) they'd have to bump the energy levels up a lot and also include enough protein so that muscle mass can be built or at least stay level. So a diet of lean meats, veggies and fruits, wholemeal grains and low fat animal products would technically be a sound way of staying in tip top shape, but like everything, you have to have moderation in moderation too!

I agree with the skepticism towards exclusionary diets, self-denial is not a healthy way to live. I tend to get most worried/disapproving when I hear of children being on vegan diets, I just don't see how that's healthy for growing bodies.

Ablett is also apparently on this diet.

I have been for years lot of new age science behind it (more for depression etc) and there are far more stricter variants as the general one neglects the main issues (fruits at first not recommended, nuts/seeds/quinoa etc potatoes definitely out of the equation and I doubt the players would be eliminating ALL starch/phylates and other biochemical crap explaining why they're specifically unacceptable on the diet. If anyones interested on the fats try bone broth/stock, ghee, unrefined coconut oil (tri-saturated fats), omega 3 from fish. And also saturated fats from beef, chicken lamb etc if you don't mind high cholesterol

Even things like sweet potatoes/starch that Gary will eat occasionally can be considered "cheating" (in this specific case if the villi aren't repaired along with gastrointestinal permeability (aka leaky gut) then eating starch or "disaccharides" will actually cause permeability of the gut wall stonewalling any regeneration as the villi is required to "cut" the dual chain sugar molecule into a single chain sugars/monosaccharides. Basically the whole concept of this diet is reasealing the gut and rebuilding the microbiome. The muscle/central nervous system.sensory benefits are all what come from reducing the oxidative stress, pathogens and autoimmunity and even other shit.

When this is all fixed all the shit stops leaking into your blood and destroying muscle, along with oxidative stress, the toxins bad bacteria generate ammonia, acetaldehyde, methanol, ethanol, prepionic acids. The zonulin in gluten allows all the shit to leak from your to your bloodstream to an extent undigested particles pass through and create autoimmune shit as well degenerating your whole central nervous system.

The diet isn't generally known as far as I'm aware to be used for athleticism and more for alternative medicine (mental/immune/new age illnesses and old age principle). I was on it for a year and did feel great physically, but my co-ordination, gait and balance were the main changes, muscle strength was far more "solid" being back on a bad diet my muscles currently ache and feel numb all over. Never got tired either ever no more toxins/microbial shit like candida/toxoplasmosis running me down stealing my energy every second of everyday. Everything just got thicker physically on the diet muscle and even bone wise it felt (far more durable), I didn't put on any muscle.. just became strong all over.. good diet lol

I have been for years lot of new age science behind it (more for depression etc) and there are far more stricter variants as the general one neglects the main issues (fruits at first not recommended, nuts/seeds/quinoa etc potatoes definitely out of the equation and I doubt the players would be eliminating ALL starch/phylates and other biochemical crap explaining why they're specifically unacceptable on the diet. If anyones interested on the fats try bone broth/stock, ghee, unrefined coconut oil (tri-saturated fats), omega 3 from fish. And also saturated fats from beef, chicken lamb etc if you don't mind high cholesterol

Even things like sweet potatoes/starch that Gary will eat occasionally can be considered "cheating" (in this specific case if the villi aren't repaired along with gastrointestinal permeability (aka leaky gut) then eating starch or "disaccharides" will actually cause permeability of the gut wall stonewalling any regeneration as the villi is required to "cut" the dual chain sugar molecule into a single chain sugars/monosaccharides. Basically the whole concept of this diet is reasealing the gut and rebuilding the microbiome. The muscle/central nervous system.sensory benefits are all what come from reducing the oxidative stress, pathogens and autoimmunity and even other shit.

When this is all fixed all the shit stops leaking into your blood and destroying muscle, along with oxidative stress, the toxins bad bacteria generate ammonia, acetaldehyde, methanol, ethanol, prepionic acids. The zonulin in gluten allows all the shit to leak from your to your bloodstream to an extent undigested particles pass through and create autoimmune shit as well degenerating your whole central nervous system.

The diet isn't generally known as far as I'm aware to be used for athleticism and more for alternative medicine (mental/immune/new age illnesses and old age principle). I was on it for a year and did feel great physically, but my co-ordination, gait and balance were the main changes, muscle strength was far more "solid" being back on a bad diet my muscles currently ache and feel numb all over. Never got tired either ever no more toxins/microbial shit like candida/toxoplasmosis running me down stealing my energy every second of everyday. Everything just got thicker physically on the diet muscle and even bone wise it felt (far more durable), I didn't put on any muscle.. just became strong all over.. good diet lol

Nahh. bullshit. If it's dead and tastes good I will eat it.

There is no one perfect metric for training and high performance clearly. Its horses for courses. Some need to go hard each week to be kept up and not burn out and others need to get up, then rest and maintain.

Thing is its a continual work in progress. And its not just physical anymore - as much mental as well.

Good thing footy departments have big budgets now.

Go Catters

Just lol if anyone thinks footy players are on paleo diets, or any other low carb diet. Have you seen their physiques? Most of them would be lucky to be under 12-15% bf. You can't train for strength and endurance on a low carb diet, paleo is a lifestyle diet. At best it could be used as part of competition preparation for bodybuilders. No professional athlete is on a strict paleo diet and if they are they are underperforming or simply lying about being on it for publicity purposes.

Footballers train and play far too hard to be on a paleo diet, they would be under 10% year round and look like amateur bodybuilders if they were. They would also be weak as anything. You need mega carbs to sustain the types of training loads and physicality demanded of an elite footballer. By all means paleo is a legit diet but whoever claims to be a nutrition expert and recommends it for footballers needs to have their credentials checked.

Port aren't on a paleo diet, they are running on Burgess' EPL 'fitness expertise', which means they can eat whatever they want. And Ablett's physique, strength and endurance do not point to a paleo diet. Then again, given his genetic heritage I'd believe it if he was an exception to the normal laws of nutrition.

For those reporting benefits on paleo including strength gains, you were probably missing essential micronutrients and fats before going on it, which could have been causing all kinds of health problems for you, including hormonal imbalances (the average diet has far too many carbs, not enough fat and isn't balanced in terms of micronutrients/lacking in them generally), so paleo is just giving you the right balance back.

If you had a proper diet to start with and were doing serious training that didn't involve a goal of serious weight loss (a lot of people go on paleo especially to lose weight) your macronutrients would need to involve a lot more carbs than a strict paleo diet recommends if you wanted to progress in terms of strength or hypertrophy. But footballers aren't on the average diet to start with so they don't have the same problems as the rest of the population. I would bet the average professional footballer could put away more carbs in one sitting than the average person consumes in an entire day and still feel healthier and look better than them. An elite training regime and elite genetics are not marginal factors in evaluating a nutrition plan.

When there is scientific evidence of "dairy products, grains, legumes, processed oils" being harmful when consumed in moderation, hi-ho, hi-ho, it's paleo I'll go.

Until then, nom-nom.

When there is scientific evidence of "dairy products, grains, legumes, processed oils" being harmful when consumed in moderation, hi-ho, hi-ho, it's paleo I'll go.

Until then, nom-nom.

Americanisms are clearly the wave of the future, but I draw the line at replacing the perfectly nuanced yum-yum.