Hogan worth

• Thread starter Thread starter mayne iac

Hogan would be the first KPF we’ve recruited since Pav that could play anywhere near the ability of Pav.

We recruited Pav nearly 20 years ago. We’ve been pretty poor since at getting a forward even half as good as him.

What would we pay to get 24 year old Pav back at the club?

What would you pay?

I reckon two top 10 picks is the worth of that hypothetical.

Of course, Hogan hasn’t have the career to date that Pav did at the same age, and probably won’t have the freakish longevity, but his ceiling could be higher. If you got five years of Pav at his peak and better, what would that look like?

I think our forward line starts to look pretty talented if Hogan is put in there.

The other thing is that if we had a high pick for Neale and recruited two elite midfielders with those picks, we could have a group of those two and Brayshaw and Cerra maturing at the same time. That sounds pretty formidable - but who are they kicking to?

I prefer the latter option, but I can see the sense in the former, especially if we want to improve in the short term.

Yep that is how I remember it too. Often on here we get confused about these things and an impression becomes a fact so I may be wrong! I am pretty sure GWS would have taken 2 firsts for McCarthy if we had offered them up!

Going on memory, in 2015 we were minor premier and our first round pick is 16.
We offered GWS for pick 16 and 2016 1st round pick, expecting it to be around 16 also (lol, ended up its pick 3) which is the points equivalent of around pick 5 for McCarthy.

It’s still a good offer, but GWS already had 3 first round picks that year (!!!, and all earlier than 16).
They already have all the picks they need, and they wanted to make a point on player retention, so they rejected our offer.

I reckon two top 10 picks is the worth of that hypothetical.

Of course, Hogan hasn’t have the career to date that Pav did at the same age, and probably won’t have the freakish longevity, but his ceiling could be higher. If you got five years of Pav at his peak and better, what would that look like?

I think our forward line starts to look pretty talented if Hogan is put in there.

The other thing is that if we had a high pick for Neale and recruited two elite midfielders with those picks, we could have a group of those two and Brayshaw and Cerra maturing at the same time. That sounds pretty formidable - but who are they kicking to?

I prefer the latter option, but I can see the sense in the former, especially if we want to improve in the short term.

Fair enough. I think our midfield will be hot garbage if (when) Fyfe gets injured again which is where my consternation comes from.

Who are they kicking to? vs who's kicking to them? is the classic conundrum at the forefront of most of this debate. I'm still not sure one way or the other but WC winning the flag this year lends credibility to you and others who think we should load up in the fwdline at the expense of bolstering mid stocks.

Will be bloody interesting. Steven May may be the wildcard in all of this.

Speaking from a third party perspective, 5 and 10 would be about the right value. He's worth more than Neale, key forwards of that talent are not easy to come by. I see this ending up as being Hogan and a late first or early second coming back for picks 5 and 6. Melbourne don't seem desperate.

Hogan would be the first KPF we’ve recruited since Pav that could play anywhere near the ability of Pav.

We recruited Pav nearly 20 years ago. We’ve been pretty poor since at getting a forward even half as good as him.

What would we pay to get 24 year old Pav back at the club?
I'm here to tell you Hogan is not in the same league as Pav

Speaking from a third party perspective, 5 and 10 would be about the right value. He's worth more than Neale, key forwards of that talent are not easy to come by. I see this ending up as being Hogan and a late first or early second coming back for picks 5 and 6. Melbourne don't seem desperate.
Probably helps if we know what you think Neale is worth? And Melbourne don't seem desperate to...? Keep him or trade him? Neither he nor Neale have requested a trade yet. Freo has come out and said we want to retain Neale, Melbourne hasn't.

Probably helps if we know what you think Neale is worth?

4 and 22.

And Melbourne don't seem desperate to...? Keep him or trade him?

Trade him.

Freo has come out and said we want to retain Neale, Melbourne hasn't.

None of that means anything at all. Of course Freo want to retain Neale, that says nothing about whether a deal will eventually happen. Have Melbourne even acknowledged the rumour?

Fair enough. I think our midfield will be hot garbage if (when) Fyfe gets injured again which is where my consternation comes from.

Who are they kicking to? vs who's kicking to them? is the classic conundrum at the forefront of most of this debate. I'm still not sure one way or the other but WC winning the flag this year lends credibility to you and others who think we should load up in the fwdline at the expense of bolstering mid stocks.

Will be bloody interesting. Steven May may be the wildcard in all of this.
Problem is that group of elite mids will take around five years to be at the level required, so the midfield will still be hot garbage, as will the forward line.

None of that means anything at all. Of course Freo want to retain Neale, that says nothing about whether a deal will eventually happen. Have Melbourne even acknowledged the rumour?
It was more to show that there is no difference with the Neale situation.

Melbourne's list manager (I think) came out a couple of days ago and said they couldn't afford May unless Hogan was traded. So I'd take that as acknowledgement... and debunks your assumption that they aren't even considering trading him.

I’d take JK at his best as a pure forward over Pav. There’s no doubt Hogan can reach those levels.

The biggest difference between Pav and Kennedy is Kennedy’s armchair ride by the umps every week. Make no mistake, Kennedy in Pavs boots is booed deaf by his own “supporters”.

I think Neale is gone. Rosich is posturing by taking a hard line,’ we won’t take pick 4’. He wants a nil all draw with Hogan and Neale so we still have currency for draft picks and more trades like Lobb etc.
He’s taking the steam out of The Demons demand for two first round picks by implying that they won’t get more for Hogan than we get for Neale imo. So far I like his negotiation style.

The biggest difference between Pav and Kennedy is Kennedy’s armchair ride by the umps every week. Make no mistake, Kennedy in Pavs boots is booed deaf by his own “supporters”.

That really isn’t true. Just wears his opponent down more often than not

It was more to show that there is no difference with the Neale situation.

There are differences. Firstly, Hogan has not yet been reported to tell his club he wants to leave like Neale has. Secondly and more importantly, Hogan is a rarer commodity than Neale and will likely command a higher asking price in a trade. We'll see what happens, it'll be interesting on all sides.

and debunks your assumption that they aren't even considering trading him.

I made no such assumption, you've just made that up. All I said was, they're not giving off the impression of being desperate to sell Hogan and buy May.

Hogeypokes spent 4 hours hanging out at Freo HQ yesterday.

Lachie breezed in and out to check out one of those off the plan new high rises that they're squeezing on the last bit of land at Surfers so it's rare as hen's teeth and a great investment, and he's looking out for his future and diversifying his portfolio from just his $2mil house on the beach in South Freo, and he happened to bump into Fages wandering the strip in the shadows of the awesome GC skyscrapers, and they recognised each other, and said - hey you work in the AFL industry, and had a quick coffee at the Hard Rock Cafe, cos that's what you do when you're in Surfers, and Fages said why don't you come and play for Brissie, and Lach was all like, yeah, nah, getting married soon to a nice WA girl, and she's got this cool new hairdressers joint right in the posh part of Perth, and we just built this awesome expensive pad just around the corner from Fyfey and it's like 3 minutes walk to the beach but it's a cool offer bro (and he's thinking better be polite so he says), so yeah I'll have a bit of a think about it and get back to you after the wedding. You said coffee was on you, right? Cheers Fages, you seem like a cool bloke.

Then he looked at the fine print on the apartment contract, looked the dodgy real estate agent in the eye and said FU mate, went to his hotel, threw his stuff into his rolly suitcase (didn't even have a swim), and went straight to the airport (Brisbane, not Coolie, cos you can only get one shitty flight a day on Jetstar from Coolie and F-that for a joke), and THAT's why people think he went to Brissie to meet Fagan.

Yes he was in Brisbane to get a better flight back to Perth, and yes he did meet Fagan, as in "met him", like - oh hey g'day mate, aren't you that Fagan dude from the Lions? I'm Lachie Neale. And Fages was all like, yeah mate, I know who you are... Got time for a coffee? My shout. (And then you know how the rest of the story goes).

This is dead-set. Believe - or don't... at your peril. My sauce is impeccable.

I think Neale is gone. Rosich is posturing by taking a hard line,’ we won’t take pick 4’. He wants a nil all draw with Hogan and Neale so we still have currency for draft picks and more trades like Lobb etc.
He’s taking the steam out of The Demons demand for two first round picks by implying that they won’t get more for Hogan than we get for Neale imo. So far I like his negotiation style.

Is it the Three Springs talc that makes you so smooth and objective....think your spot on.

Hogeypokes spent 4 hours hanging out at Freo HQ yesterday.

Lachie breezed in and out to check out one of those off the plan new high rises that they're squeezing on the last bit of land at Surfers so it's rare as hen's teeth and a great investment, and he's looking out for his future and diversifying his portfolio from just his $2mil house on the beach in South Freo, and he happened to bump into Fages wandering the strip in the shadows of the awesome GC skyscrapers, and they recognised each other, and said - hey you work in the AFL industry, and had a quick coffee at the Hard Rock Cafe, cos that's what you do when you're in Surfers, and Fages said why don't you come and play for Brissie, and Lach was all like, yeah, nah, getting married soon to a nice WA girl, and she's got this cool new hairdressers joint right in the posh part of Perth, and we just built this awesome expensive pad just around the corner from Fyfey and it's like 3 minutes walk to the beach but it's a cool offer bro (and he's thinking better be polite so he says), so yeah I'll have a bit of a think about it and get back to you after the wedding. You said coffee was on you, right? Cheers Fages, you seem like a cool bloke.

Then he looked at the fine print on the apartment contract, looked the dodgy real estate agent in the eye and said FU mate, went to his hotel, threw his stuff into his rolly suitcase (didn't even have a swim), and went straight to the airport (Brisbane, not Coolie, cos you can only get one shitty flight a day on Jetstar from Coolie and F-that for a joke), and THAT's why people think he went to Brissie to meet Fagan.

Yes he was in Brisbane to get a better flight back to Perth, and yes he did meet Fagan, as in "met him", like - oh hey g'day mate, aren't you that Fagan dude from the Lions? I'm Lachie Neale. And Fages was all like, yeah mate, I know who you are... Got time for a coffee? My shout. (And then you know how the rest of the story goes).

This is dead-set. Believe - or don't... at your peril. My sauce is impeccable.
Post of the decade

If we bust this deal. If hogan is injured or is not the messiah. We are ******. No neale and no top pick for 2 years.

I think the fan base would have every right to be outraged if we handed over our first draft pick plus Neale and next years first for Hogan.

Neale plus our first next year for Hogan plus Melbourne’s first next year would work.